Vietnam

kaldorii

hi all, i am planning to go to hcmc sometime soon, going there to 'recce' the area :D
what kind of tours would be best to understand their lifestyles and systems over there?
Am I able to arrange for home stay down in the village and/or city?

truth is, i have pretty much given up on singapore, and looking for a place to migrate to for early retirement rather than slogging my whole life here for a pigeon hole.
JB tops my list for now as it is near and can juggle between work in sg and home in JB, but the danger and crime is a big turn off.
How is the security in vietnam compared to JB? Better?

i also understand if a man marries a viet lady, he will be granted PR, how true is that?
I would rather spend $300 on flight every few weeks than to spend $3000 monthly for the next 30years for a stupid pigeon hole. But tradeoff is less time for family :(

Sorry getting a bit out of topic here :s13::s13: but i see that there is quite a few viet veteran over here, might as well :D

On a side note, how much does it cost to build/buy a decent house over there? Those 2-3 storey bunglow type.. with swimming pool those kind?:s22::s22:

excalibur324

Thank you!! :o

I also hope got sufficient sleeper seats left for us to book..
How much was your guide? Did you do a homestay?
Guide plus trek i paid13usd. Grp one though.. this might not be e lowest price..
Homestay prepare for some rice wine assault! Haha

xiaozhi86

hi all, i am planning to go to hcmc sometime soon, going there to 'recce' the area :D
what kind of tours would be best to understand their lifestyles and systems over there?
Am I able to arrange for home stay down in the village and/or city?

truth is, i have pretty much given up on singapore, and looking for a place to migrate to for early retirement rather than slogging my whole life here for a pigeon hole.
JB tops my list for now as it is near and can juggle between work in sg and home in JB, but the danger and crime is a big turn off.
How is the security in vietnam compared to JB? Better?

i also understand if a man marries a viet lady, he will be granted PR, how true is that?
I would rather spend $300 on flight every few weeks than to spend $3000 monthly for the next 30years for a stupid pigeon hole. But tradeoff is less time for family :(

Sorry getting a bit out of topic here :s13::s13: but i see that there is quite a few viet veteran over here, might as well :D

On a side note, how much does it cost to build/buy a decent house over there? Those 2-3 storey bunglow type.. with swimming pool those kind?:s22::s22:

lol.. married viet lady got instant PR? i not sure and never heard about that. hcmc is much more city life like in singapore but of course, also have cheap n good food around. crime i would say is have and is those motor bike that snatch your bag.. like always reported in our newspaper on malaysia bike snatch woman handbag. their house is quite small although is 2-3 storey.. something like a 1/2 of a semi-d. your house value depend on which district you stay. more ulu is cheaper and 1 house cost around 800 million - 1 billion dong if i not wrong in hcmc for those ulu place.

kaldorii

lol.. married viet lady got instant PR? i not sure and never heard about that. hcmc is much more city life like in singapore but of course, also have cheap n good food around. crime i would say is have and is those motor bike that snatch your bag.. like always reported in our newspaper on malaysia bike snatch woman handbag. their house is quite small although is 2-3 storey.. something like a 1/2 of a semi-d. your house value depend on which district you stay. more ulu is cheaper and 1 house cost around 800 million - 1 billion dong if i not wrong in hcmc for those ulu place.

not instant PR la.. but you will be eligible for PR application if u marry viet.
i want to know how tricky it is.

regarding the house, i'm looking at those where u can buy a piece of land and build it, dont like those semi detached type... dont like to share 'borders' if u know what i mean. like bunglow this type la, with a little privacy, not too crowded also, so preferably 30mins drive from town.
its my retirement plan :)

but if what you say 1b dong... thats very cheap, 60+k sgd? if build those swimming pool kind need how much ah

xiaozhi86

not instant PR la.. but you will be eligible for PR application if u marry viet.
i want to know how tricky it is.

regarding the house, i'm looking at those where u can buy a piece of land and build it, dont like those semi detached type... dont like to share 'borders' if u know what i mean. like bunglow this type la, with a little privacy, not too crowded also, so preferably 30mins drive from town.
its my retirement plan :)

but if what you say 1b dong... thats very cheap, 60+k sgd? if build those swimming pool kind need how much ah

that must be outside of hcm liao ba i guess. inside hcm should be very ex because their house from what i see, is not big to begin with.

kaldorii

back to topic...

I'm planning to go hcmc for probably 5-6days. Is it possible to arrange for homestay outside of the city? Is speaking viet a must?

My plan is something like 3-4days in hotel to get used to it first, and last few days in homestay.

would appreciate any advise.

q w e r t ii

hey guys

am planning a trip to vietnam close to year end

may i know where should i go if i am the nightlife kind of person? (clubbing, drinking, etc)

iminalost

hi. any1 took halong bay cruise indochina or dragon pearl b4? i saw on variety show for indochina, they have a kayaking session to Luon Cave.but not sure whether dragon pearl has. indochina very expensive..220 per pax for 1 night. while dragon pearl is 180..is it better to visit titov island or luon cave?thanks for advice!

excalibur324

hi. any1 took halong bay cruise indochina or dragon pearl b4? i saw on variety show for indochina, they have a kayaking session to Luon Cave.but not sure whether dragon pearl has. indochina very expensive..220 per pax for 1 night. while dragon pearl is 180..is it better to visit titov island or luon cave?thanks for advice!
where u got the quotation from?

dont think its that ex.. dont tio chop carrot

beanstalk6

I think the Halong Bay cruise is overpriced. I do not remember it was so expensive. Do you want to check another forum or guidebook to get a better idea? It is easy to sign up in Ho Chi Minh City itself. I signed up at Phan Ngu Lao for a next day departure. Perhaps the deal you checked is a luxury option that usually panders to Westerners. For the matter, if it advertises online, it possibly is.
All junks carry a kayak so passengers can indulge in some kayaking at some point, though a guided visit to the cave probably costs extra.

SlotsMad

hey guys

am planning a trip to vietnam close to year end

may i know where should i go if i am the nightlife kind of person? (clubbing, drinking, etc)

Either visit the link if you are going to HCM

Ho Chi Minh City Nightlife

or go to any joint where there's VG in Singapore...look for one who is from the place in Vietnam you are intending to visit and who you can communicate with and get her contact number and tell her your intended date of visit..

There's nothing like having a local to bring you around :D

iminalost

where u got the quotation from?

dont think its that ex.. dont tio chop carrot

i c from direct booking web de >.< all that range T.T
I think the Halong Bay cruise is overpriced. I do not remember it was so expensive. Do you want to check another forum or guidebook to get a better idea? It is easy to sign up in Ho Chi Minh City itself. I signed up at Phan Ngu Lao for a next day departure. Perhaps the deal you checked is a luxury option that usually panders to Westerners. For the matter, if it advertises online, it possibly is.
All junks carry a kayak so passengers can indulge in some kayaking at some point, though a guided visit to the cave probably costs extra.

yea indochina is luxury de. i went to c those recommended ones most are luxury typed :(( read up some reviews those who signed up the cheap junk boat gt lousy stuff or sign up with their local tour agency then boarded a junk boat different from pictures shown. luxury too expensive. maybe gt those around 150per pax 1 oso can?thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.