Vietnam

butterbarter

By "bike", do you mean motorcycle or bicycle? If bicycle, I would not suggest it because Vietnamese traffic is crazy and you will be the smallest of the small vehicles on the road. Just take a shuttle bus or private transport to bring you there. Your hotel can arrange for you. You can then rent a bicycle in Hoi An to cycle around. Hoi An town center is easy to cycle and has very light traffic since it's a tourist town.

If you take private transport to Hoi An, you may be asked if you want to stop by My Son (for additional charge, of course), which has some temple ruins. Most of the ruins aren't really in good shape, and if you've seen Angkor Wat, Ayuthaya, Borobudur, Pramabanan, etc, you'll find My Son underwhelming. Google it to see if it's worth your while, but to me, it wasn't.

You can fly into Da Nang, then go to Hoi An, then to Hue, and then fly off from Hue airport directly to save yourself the trip back to Da Nang. You can of course also do this in reverse.

One more thing: between Da Nang and Hue, you have a choice of bus/car or train. The train ticket is about S$5. This is just a regular commuter train filled with locals with no air-conditioning and pretty shabby seats. When I was in Danang, I got the hotel to book and buy my Danang->Hue train ticket and I picked it up from the hotel reception.

From Hoi An, I took a minivan to Da Nang train station where I caught my train. I guess that made the trip a bit more interesting than simply taking a bus from Hoi An to Hue, especially if you've never taken a train in a 3rd world country before. In retrospect, taking a bus directly would have been faster, more convenient and more comfortable. Which choice to make again depends on your priority and amount of time you have.

This is excellent.

Do you recommend going to Hue first or Hoi An if I were to land on Danang? What about the night spot there? I see that Hoi An is actually quite near to danang, so I could actually rent a bike and ride over right?

I will note of the attractions there at each place, but decide where to when I'm there.

idrinkecoke

I booked Palace Hotel Saigon, don't know good or not. Location looks good to me. 7-11 common in HCMC?

BlackCube

By "bike", do you mean motorcycle or bicycle? If bicycle, I would not suggest it because Vietnamese traffic is crazy and you will be the smallest of the small vehicles on the road. Just take a shuttle bus or private transport to bring you there. Your hotel can arrange for you. You can then rent a bicycle in Hoi An to cycle around. Hoi An town center is easy to cycle and has very light traffic since it's a tourist town.

If you take private transport to Hoi An, you may be asked if you want to stop by My Son (for additional charge, of course), which has some temple ruins. Most of the ruins aren't really in good shape, and if you've seen Angkor Wat, Ayuthaya, Borobudur, Pramabanan, etc, you'll find My Son underwhelming. Google it to see if it's worth your while, but to me, it wasn't.

You can fly into Da Nang, then go to Hoi An, then to Hue, and then fly off from Hue airport directly to save yourself the trip back to Da Nang. You can of course also do this in reverse.
I have checked the ticket to danang, it's damn expensive for a direct flight. Wtf. Even domestic one also not cheap.

May end up going to Hanoi instead. Or hcm > dalat etc. Any place nearby hcm worth going? I been to vung tao and mui ne.

Sent from Underwater using GAGT

butterbarter

Try budget airlines to HCMC, and then VietJet from HCMC to Danang. You can book directly from Vietjet's website.

Hanoi is of course more expensive, as it is much further. Vietnam is a very long narrow country, and Hanoi is at it's northern end.

If non direct cheapest I saw to danang was about 300. Travel time about 7-8hr. Direct is sq but through 3rd party. I found through flightscanner.

Never check for hue.

Go hanoi also expensive sia. 300 and non direct some more.

BlackCube

Try budget airlines to HCMC, and then VietJet from HCMC to Danang. You can book directly from Vietjet's website.

Hanoi is of course more expensive, as it is much further. Vietnam is a very long narrow country, and Hanoi is at it's northern end.

Yeah I know that.

I tried the vietjet and vietair liao, both around 150-200 round trip.
It's fine.

So any recommend for HCM up? Dalat? Anywhere else?

BlackCube

Just saw Nha Trang seem worthy to visit. Also saw train service to Nha Trang, that has overnight train and not that expensive.

Anyone travelled by bike from Nha Trang to Dalat?

audiovideo

Yeah I know that.

I tried the vietjet and vietair liao, both around 150-200 round trip.
It's fine.

So any recommend for HCM up? Dalat? Anywhere else?

danang by jetstar pacific round trip ard $$100

nha trang ok ba.. can do mud bath :s13:

butterbarter

You are going to cancel a trip because of $50 extra for the ticket? That doesn't seem very practical. You have to consider the distance you are flying. Most places that are far will cost more. So unless you plan to never fly more than 2 hours from Sg, you'll have to just pay that extra for the ticket.

Put it another way: is it worth settling for 2nd choice just to save a few bucks? Only you can answer that.

Didn't check on jetstar Pacific. 100 seem OK leh.

I just check leh. Also about 150 160. Where got 100.

BlackCube

You are going to cancel a trip because of $50 extra for the ticket? That doesn't seem very practical. You have to consider the distance you are flying. Most places that are far will cost more. So unless you plan to never fly more than 2 hours from Sg, you'll have to just pay that extra for the ticket.

Put it another way: is it worth settling for 2nd choice just to save a few bucks? Only you can answer that.
It's not about money saving but rather the time spent waiting I guess. It's not like I going for weeks.

The time travel to wait transit fly takes up quite a portion of the time that could be better use.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.