bangkok hotel size 90% hotels size r the one they advertised lol

koala2004

no leh, their lowest tier is 20m2
as many pple would have known tat hcm hotel size not true one lol
if u have been to hcm many times
since lavender hotel is 20m2, in fact their real room size shld be 14m2 lol
the size of hotel81, 4m*3.5m lol ... tats very small with a toilet lol

You mean Lavender Hotel (3.5 star)? No leh, its twin superior is 25sqm and we didn't realise it's actually big after our subsequent encounter with other 3 star hotels. But I would say Lavender is slightly more expensive than others. Maybe due to 1/2 star more. I paid only sgd32/nite for deluxe in Bloom Hotel but the room & bathroom damn small, but good for couple without kid though. Blue Diamond will be somewhere bet Lavender and Bloom. All the hotels very near BT mkt, only 3-5min walk, very convenient.

dede1217

You mean Lavender Hotel (3.5 star)? No leh, its twin superior is 25sqm and we didn't realise it's actually big after our subsequent encounter with other 3 star hotels. But I would say Lavender is slightly more expensive than others. Maybe due to 1/2 star more. I paid only sgd32/nite for deluxe in Bloom Hotel but the room & bathroom damn small, but good for couple without kid though. Blue Diamond will be somewhere bet Lavender and Bloom. All the hotels very near BT mkt, only 3-5min walk, very convenient.

haha using agoda as benchmark mah ...
lavender hotel based on my travel date is :
standard room 56sgd per nite for two with breakfast
delxe 26m2 72sgd per nite for two with breakfast ...

blue diamond and lavender which one u would prefer ?
was thinking of
Choice 1: Lan Lan 2
Choice 2: Blue Diamond
Choice 3: Lavender / Le Duy

Alpaca

haha using agoda as benchmark mah ...
lavender hotel based on my travel date is :
standard room 56sgd per nite for two with breakfast
delxe 26m2 72sgd per nite for two with breakfast ...

blue diamond and lavender which one u would prefer ?
was thinking of
Choice 1: Lan Lan 2
Choice 2: Blue Diamond
Choice 3: Lavender / Le Duy

stayed in blue diamond last week :)

the unique point about them:
massage service available on level 1 (200k for leg+ shoulder, 250k full body), 1x -15% coupon available

free afternoon tea (4pm-6pm) around 6 items available- cakes, muffin , fruits

their hotel restaurant was alway crowded during lunchtime, dunno jhj or not

koala2004

stayed in blue diamond last week :)

the unique point about them:
massage service available on level 1 (200k for leg+ shoulder, 250k full body), 1x -15% coupon available

free afternoon tea (4pm-6pm) around 6 items available- cakes, muffin , fruits

their hotel restaurant was alway crowded during lunchtime, dunno jhj or not

Ya, one thing I enjoyed is their free afternoon tea. Nice gesture!

They implemented it first time when we were there in Mar 15. We were told and pretty surprised.

Thoma5

Normally would go hcm about 4 days max
cox is boring there lol
there r oni few malls perhaps less than 6 in district 1
vincom , parkson, co-op supermarket, saigon square where ppl put northface

cab from airport to ben thanh market is abt 35min, abt 12 to 15sgd one way
vinasun and mai linh is the cab to take
the rest such as saigon tourists, vina, all not by meter lol ...

there r many land tours there, can go to cu cu tunnel :)

Frm airport to ben thanh market,i use grab taxi only $7 sgd nia...

Thoma5

Is grabtaxi good to use in HCM? Did you try Uber?

yes very good,more tork gong than our singapore 1...they will always call you up to make sure you are in their cab(private car) 1.it's like you got a caring girlfriend...:D
uber no...I only try once nia at airport cause that time too many funny cab liao and we don't want kana scam and we got limited dong nia so we use grab taxi...the rest i just flag nia cause using apps very troublesome but singapore different liao...want cab no cab 1...kns...

Prof Goh

I'm going there for about 3D3N (flying back on the last day at noon), are there any recommended/suggested places to go for a day trip or so?

Currently looking at Mekong Delta.

beanstalk6

I'm going there for about 3D3N (flying back on the last day at noon), are there any recommended/suggested places to go for a day trip or so?

Mekong Delta is a good excursion to take. All you have is 3D3N. Spend the rest of your time in HCM City if this is your first time.

Alpaca

arrival (evening): water puppet / dinner cruise /bitexco financial tower/ ben thanh market (night)
1D: Mekong
2D: Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels
3D: War Remnants Museum/ Presidential Palace/ Notre Dame Cathedral and General Post Office
Home sweet Home :o

Thoma5

how you do that? download app then go outside use app? private car got meter charge you meh?

Yeah...Buy sim card lor.Apps already got but you need to re-register cause vn and sg account is different.Same as sg.

smeagoly

I have a Hanoi food list compiled by a Vietnamese local and i tried most of it on the list. Darn awesome. Whatsapps me 8571 1733 or PM me is fine.

Came back from Hanoi last Saturday, was a very enjoyable trip. Second time there and the weather in January is excellent. About 20+ degrees in the day, very comfortable.

The list of food places recommended by finale1 were great! had a good time eating the local food, and best of all, ultra cheap! One 6" sandwich or a bowl of beef pho was like S$1.60. Just keep eating!

We took a day tour to Halong Bay, booked the tour at one of the local tour agencies on the first evening we were there, and the tour bus picked us up at our hotel on the second morning. The price came up to about S$58 per person, includes 2 way transfer (bus each way takes about 3-3.5hours), lunch, kayak/boat ride, and visit to the halongbay cave. The weather can be erratic, on the day of my trip it was a bit misty, so wasn't as good as my first visit there. The bus is also the smaller, 20+ seater kind, for people with long legs you might want to bear with it. I would recommend staying 1 night there for slightly more (2D1N tours are about 100/pax, you sleep on the boat), so it does not feel like you wasted 6 hours of a day just to get to Halongbay and back.

The 3 nights at Intercontinental were excellent as I last tried, impeccable customer service, large nice room, toilet and bed. Only pity was that we spent most of our time at Old Quarter and didn't make better use of the gym, pool or chill at the bar. I would also highly recommend a meal at my favourite Italian restaurant, Milan, on the second floor of the hotel. 2 main course of pasta, 1 12" pizza, 2 soft drinks for S$50. It is really very good Italian food at very reasonable Singapore-level prices.

Already looking forward to going back, maybe sometime this year end to visit Sapa :D

finale1

Came back from Hanoi last Saturday, was a very enjoyable trip. Second time there and the weather in January is excellent. About 20+ degrees in the day, very comfortable.

The list of food places recommended by finale1 were great! had a good time eating the local food, and best of all, ultra cheap! One 6" sandwich or a bowl of beef pho was like S$1.60. Just keep eating!

We took a day tour to Halong Bay, booked the tour at one of the local tour agencies on the first evening we were there, and the tour bus picked us up at our hotel on the second morning. The price came up to about S$58 per person, includes 2 way transfer (bus each way takes about 3-3.5hours), lunch, kayak/boat ride, and visit to the halongbay cave. The weather can be erratic, on the day of my trip it was a bit misty, so wasn't as good as my first visit there. The bus is also the smaller, 20+ seater kind, for people with long legs you might want to bear with it. I would recommend staying 1 night there for slightly more (2D1N tours are about 100/pax, you sleep on the boat), so it does not feel like you wasted 6 hours of a day just to get to Halongbay and back.

The 3 nights at Intercontinental were excellent as I last tried, impeccable customer service, large nice room, toilet and bed. Only pity was that we spent most of our time at Old Quarter and didn't make better use of the gym, pool or chill at the bar. I would also highly recommend a meal at my favourite Italian restaurant, Milan, on the second floor of the hotel. 2 main course of pasta, 1 12" pizza, 2 soft drinks for S$50. It is really very good Italian food at very reasonable Singapore-level prices.

Already looking forward to going back, maybe sometime this year end to visit Sapa :D

Glad u love it. I wanna go Hanoi again one day =)

WadsUpDoc

Mekong delta one day, cuchi+ city tour one day. One more day can relax relax go shopping/eating/walkwalk. Tour can go with the sinh tourist, reliable and cheap. Around sgd$10+ each tour. But disadvantage is bigger group.

WadsUpDoc

I have a prepaid SIM card that last untill 13th Feb, mostly 3G only but can receive calls and send some SMS, with around 3GB remaining. Anyone interested can collect from me for free at my convenience. Just request that you exchange my remaining dongs (about 400k) to SGD at a good rate for you. PM me if interested:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.