Vinyl Flooring

johnong316

the actual vinyl used inclusive of wastage for
3bto - 490sf
4bto - 720sf
5bto - 930sf

different vendor played their game differently. Some charge you low psf but blow up the area. Some quote high but charge the area plus 5% wastage.

Bottom line look at the whole quantum sum and not check quote base on psf.

johnong316

base on personal opinion the marble vinyl look good on photo. But the actual floor cant bring out the feel of the marble. Its matt and dull. Doesnt gives the classy look of the real marble.

JCwLee

Thanks for the useful info... Good to know the 2 companies will coordinate between themselves..

Btw, how much did your screeding cost for your reno?
I have done whole house cement screeding & 2 shower kerb around $2k plus+. you may get a free quote from the staff. They have now promotion for vinyl maybe got a better price.

Alphas

Tiles are definitely more scratch resistant than vinyl which is PVC. If you are concern of scratches, just get tiles.

PopMusic

Hi, is it not advisable or recommend to use vinyl flooring on bathroom (and especially on shower area)?

calkel20

the actual vinyl used inclusive of wastage for
3bto - 490sf
4bto - 720sf
5bto - 930sf
different vendor played their game differently. Some charge you low psf but blow up the area. Some quote high but charge the area plus 5% wastage.

Bottom line look at the whole quantum sum and not check quote base on psf.

And make sure they send what they promise.
And do keep the excess.
Every few houses, they do, the next house is free liao.
LoL!

starlight318

anyone have Vinyl Flooring for more then 12yr? any feedback? thanks

I want to know too, is it as marketed can last 10-20years? Planning to get vinyl to save money but not sure if I should spend more on tiles that will last longer.

The_King

I want to know too, is it as marketed can last 10-20years? Planning to get vinyl to save money but not sure if I should spend more on tiles that will last longer.

i also wanted to get vinyl to save money and better looking floor (cause can choose) but tiles is time-tested and cost a bit more, and if there no data on the web, then i go with the time-tested.

i also have office chair (with roller), i wonder how much will it affect in the long term

mata_hippo

1 of the IDs i approached told me they dun usually include the 10% wastage sqft black & white in the quotation one, but the price is inclusive of the wastage, zhun bo? i thought usually shld be specific, either u say inclusive of 10% wastage or you jus up the sqft to include wastage?

so currently, the black & white in my quotation for the vinyl sqft is 710 sqft, if add 10% becomes 781 sqft, this is for a 4 rm resale and for the living room + 3 rooms

floorxpert
- total of $5190
- about 6.7/sqft if count based on 781 sqft
- about 7.3/sqft if count based on 710 sqft

for another cheaper brand, floor atelier (duno if any of you heard of it),
- total of $4800
- about 6.76/sqft if count based on 710 sqft
- about 6.15/sqft if count based on 781 sqft

any other feedback/comments? thanks

starlight318

Decided to get tiles instead of vinyl. Talked to one of the major vinyl company and felt that the sales person was kind of avoiding my question about water seepage.

For peace of mind, I will spend more on tiles. Don't want to deal with bad smell n mould/mildew underneath the vinyl flooring a few years down the road and end up having to re-do the flooring.

Many things can happen to cause water seepage, aircon leaking, pipe burst or heavy rain when u forget to close the windows (which I have the habit of..) and no one is at home to wipe away the water immediately.

I have allergies n asthma too, so mould /mildew would be bad.

jnashville

Vinyl flooring can install at dry area but cannot install at wet area (shower area) for toilet

who say one.

"The trait that makes SPC flooring stand out is that it is 100 per cent waterproof.
100 per cent waterproof means that SPC flooring can withstand soaking, and is suitable for bathrooms and kitchens."

https://www.asiaone.com/lifestyle/how-choose-your-material-spc-flooring

please read up.

alot of people nowadays just re-quoting what others are saying but no experience/research of their own. They never use before and just repeat what others are saying in forums, or maybe their ID says it. Do a simple google search.

I installed on both my toilets too.

Perfectly fine and waterproof.

toilet.jpg

cluelessrice

Decided to get tiles instead of vinyl. Talked to one of the major vinyl company and felt that the sales person was kind of avoiding my question about water seepage.

For peace of mind, I will spend more on tiles. Don't want to deal with bad smell n mould/mildew underneath the vinyl flooring a few years down the road and end up having to re-do the flooring.

Many things can happen to cause water seepage, aircon leaking, pipe burst or heavy rain when u forget to close the windows (which I have the habit of..) and no one is at home to wipe away the water immediately.

I have allergies n asthma too, so mould /mildew would be bad.
yes sound true. I am also having issues in deciding between tiles or vinyl. Vinyl is in the trend, but I am concern on the water seepage.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.