Warhammer 40,000 Modelling Thread

Spindoc

Thanks for the nice comments everyone!!!!

Just finished Dawn of War II, inspired to finish my nids..

DOW2003.jpg

They were originally painted in Hive Fleet Levithan colours...but i stripped the paint off the metal ones and painted over the plastic Carnifex...

So here is part of my Hive Fleet Behemoth

Here's what i have

Close Combat Carnifex
Carnifex1.jpg

Carnifex2.jpg

Heavy guns Carnifex
Sniperfex1.jpg

Zooanthropes
Zooanthrope.jpg

Finally....Lictor (or they call Mantis Stalker)...

I did a jungle version for him since he is more a display piece (than playing piece becauses rules sucks for him at the moment)

And here he is

LictorFinal4.jpg

LictorFinal1.jpg

LictorFinal3.jpg

seow_lang

I love the Lictor more than the rest of your Tyranid army! Its the most outstanding one! Especially the jungle surrounding it.

Well done!

xinng7

Hey Spindoc, you really are a good painter. Can paint a whole army with such good consistency.

I like your lictor, very good camo scheme.

And the CC Carnifex looks fierce too!

Any chance you will do an Imperial Guard with Baneblades and stuff?

Shadowrazor

RE: Newb

Hi guys, I'm thinking of starting a tyranid army, I was wondering, are there any alternatives to any of the materials besides the ones from games workshop? Like the paints or whatever. Glue, primer and stuff? Maybe even terrain? Any advice would help :D

xinng7

Miniatures - the most authentic minis you can get is of cos from GW, since its a copyright from them. Forgeworld has some nice looking and large Tyranids if you have a huge budget.

Paints - I find GW and Vallejo paints as the best to work with. Vallejo is cheaper and has a much wider range.

Glue - Tamiya liquid cement or any brand of super glue will do.

Depending on your budget, Ebay or Bartertown is a good place for bargains. But got to be patient as the good deals comes and goes.

Maelstrom games is the one of the best online site to get. They offer 10-15% off with FREE worldwide delivery (orders more than GBP 10). With the weakening GBP, i find them the best place to get minis or materials at the moment. Delivery is usually within 2 weeks. Visit their online store, you can practically get everything you need there at a good price.

Or you can go to Paragrim Infinite at Orchard if you really want your stuff fast.

Spindoc

Any chance you will do an Imperial Guard with Baneblades and stuff?

Your imperial guard is quite impressive!! I am tempted by the fact the new book and stuff are going to be released soon.

Actually i am awaiting my friend's baneblade. Going to do a "Fortress of Arrogance"

Also ordered a Forgeworld Avatar for my Eldar army!

Anyway like what xinng7 says...

If u get from online stores, they offer discounts because there is low overhead costs like shop space, rental, staff etc. So they tend to be cheaper. HOWEVER,..always check the shipping price.

Some online shops charge ridiculous shipping prices!

Of course if you don't want to wait, there are 3 locations u can get warhammer stuff in singapore.

PI at Midpoint Orchard, Comics Mart at Serene Centre and Raffles City.

For paints, i recommend the GW paints as i find Tamiya paints too shiny.

Also for super glue, you can use Selley's (for metal) and Tamiya plastic glue.

xinng7

Yeah. The new IG is interesting. New storm troopers, new command squads (these are real cool!) and the new plastic Valkyrie!

''Fortress of Arrogance'' sounds familiar, is that Yarrick's baneblade at the 2nd or 3rd Armageddon War?

The FW Eldar is real cool. Much more sinister and evil looking.

If I will to get a FW model, I will get the Imperial Navy Marauder Bomber, looks like a WW2 bomber but its damn pricey!

Oh.. Tamiya paints are not really recommend for miniature painting. I tried one color before and it doesnt run well at all. I heard modellers also dun use Tamiya paints for Tamiya models.

seow_lang

I'm seriously considering getting the new Storm Troopers though. I already got the Kasrkin and I really love the look and feel of them. Humans who are the elite of the Imperial Guard with their Hellguns and other special weapons.

Shadowrazor

Wow, thanks guys! I'm thinking of ordering from maelstrom games. Anyway, yea I've heard of vallejo paints, been doing some research. They're not available in sg though are they?

seow_lang

Wow, thanks guys! I'm thinking of ordering from maelstrom games. Anyway, yea I've heard of vallejo paints, been doing some research. They're not available in sg though are they?
They are! You can get them from PI at Orchard.

xinng7

Beside PI at Orchard, there's another shop at Pennisula Shopping center. Cant remember if its the one beside Funan or the one opposite.

There's a hobby shop on the 2nd or 3rd floor. They have a good range of Vallejo, from Model Color to Game Color. I think its $5 per paint. I think PI is $6.

Maelstrom has the whole range of Vallejo paints. And is the cheapest I can source from worldwide, their Game Color range is at GBP1.26 (less than SG$3) per color.

But i perfer some of the color likes Ultramarine and Blood Red to be from GW. Vallejo Ultramarine and Blood Red has a different hue which I dun like.

Show us your Tyranids when u are done!

Shadowrazor

Well I just went to check out PI today, sad to say their prices are somewhat, expensive compared to maelstrom games i guess? It'll still be a while before my stuff from maelstrom arrives so in the meantime I'll be scouring forums and stuff haha. I've yet to get some basics like primer and the clippers for removing the models from the sprues and stuff, looking around for those things now, although I still believe they'll be the cheapest when purchased online. Oh well, thats importing for you.

Spindoc

''Fortress of Arrogance'' sounds familiar, is that Yarrick's baneblade at the 2nd or 3rd Armageddon War?

Yup that is Commissar Yarrick's personal Baneblade that was lost in the Armageddon wars to the Orks and then subsequently recovered and repaired!

Well Shadowrazor, nice to see u getting started on the Tyranids!!

I personally get most of my stuff from PI and Comics Mart as i like to support the local game shops.

To me its a cycle..the local shops will not do well without support and when the local shops close, they cannot promote the hobby or bring in the stuff which equals less new players and worse off for the hobby in the long run. But I also understand that this is a hobby with quite large start-up cost so money matters are also important.

Anyway not to derail this modelling thread...

I present my latest.....Fire Dragons

Firedragon1.jpg

Firedragon2.jpg

FDExarch1.jpg

And just a bit of promotion: PI is holding a games convention

SPORE 2009

Venue: Singapore Polytechnic Building T5, Dover Road Campus

30th and 31st of May

Time: 10am to 8pm (Saturday) & 10am to 6pm (Sunday)

http://spore-con.com/

There will be Warhammer fantasy and 40k stuff so if u all are free, come down to take a look!

halocast

wooo... maybe i go sia...

saturday.. hopefully got weekend out!

seow_lang

Nicely painted Fire Dragons, Spindoc!

Sigh...really need some motivation to paint my Space Marines leh...:(

Spindoc

Sigh...really need some motivation to paint my Space Marines leh...

Isnt the current awesome Marines rules good enough motivation for you! :D

I love the marines and but yet at the same time hate the overpopularity of marines.

If u need more inspiration...read the fluff on Marneus Calgar again hahaha. There is a huge arguement on the net between the Space Marine fanboys and the space marine haters over this!

Doing up some Dark Reapers now...i got tons of projects on hand..including an out-of-production 1st edition space marine dreadnought , a Baneblade and my own Forgeworld Avatar :s13:

Hey Shadowrazor, most people i know uses GW basecoat (black) which is quite good.

The other brand people use is this brand called RJ acrylic spray. It costs S10 per can compared to $25 for the GW, which is why it is popular. But i have switched back to GW because the coat is too "oily" and paint doesnt stick well on it.

If u intend to try the new stuff, i suggest u get a test model to do first.

My own opinion is that in miniature painting, there are some essential items like a good brush and a good basecoat and a good final varnish that you shouldnt try to skimp on.

The other important stuff would be a good super glue and a pin vise.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.