 Watch Series 6

Snoweagle

After I updated mine last night, it said my watch os is the latest liao.

Now I just checked, it said got 7.0.2 ...

Apple software updates are usually out after 1am local time. Now 7.0.2 is out, just update lor as it won’t take too long to update also.

Now I’m at a course outside so cannot install the update, but already doiwnloaded the update. Go home later put my watch to charger then install. :D

Snoweagle

Actually I also notice a bug with 7.0.1 with the chronograph pro watch face. When you change the colour on your watch and at the same time open up the watch app on phone and go to the chronograph pro, toggling the colour will also change accordingly on the watch app on phone.

I was wondering how come I selected watermelon colour but after a while always changed back to white and I found that on the phone side, the white and watermelon colour are both interchanged. :s22::s22:

gt_5454

after testing for a day. It’s indeed noticeably better. Even just sleep tracking alone it drain a lot lesser

Are you using series 6? May I ask which app do you use to track your run?

By the way is anyone using the Nike+ version?
Seems like a decent deal with extra watch face and Nike straps. For running seems to be the better choice but I know it’s all marketing as usual

PornStar

Walau, same lah, i also tested many forerunners, vivohr, Fenix 5 & 6, 3 polars, 3 Fitbits .., etc but you certainly beat me bcos I have never tested the bra chest strap ... only have footpod and running dynamics pod.

For me AW is not good for running but very happy for you if find AW is the best for you as you found what you wanted ...

I have been using a FR945 (with HRM-Tri/HRM-Pro/ RD Pod) and Series 4 AW simultaneously this year and have clocked more than 3000km so far.

My conclusion is that the AW OHR capture is almost as accurate as Garmin's HRM Chest Strap readings (+/- 1-2BPM). The AW OHR is even better than Garmin's OHR which tends to get spikes in my opinion.

The AW suffices for basic running metrics.

Garmin is good for Running Dynamics (Cadence, Stride Length, Vertical Oscillation etc.)

AW is more generous in terms of it's GPS tracking (mario-karting also) and the distance accumulated compared to Garmin, about 1.25-1.5% consistently more on average.

Even the Garmin VO2Max and corresponding timing estimates are a tad too generous for real use.

At the end of the day, its not the watch that makes the runner.

I use the devices for road running, not trails.

:s12::s12::s12:

alvino

At the end of the day, its not the watch that makes the runner.
:s12::s12::s12:
exactly! nicely said. btw cadence is avail in stock workout app as current cadence or average cadence as metric to show. just no graph for reviews. Runkeeper app on watch tracks that and allow review in analysis section.

Also series 6 dont mariokart anymore apparently reviewed by dcrainmaker.

Are you using series 6? May I ask which app do you use to track your run?
used to use sportstracker, runkeeper, garmin, strava(personal fav is RK and strava). after many years of running, got lazy staring at metrics which one should be able to tell without looking especially after a while you will master techniques to save fuel or style to be efficient or technique for fast runs. i ended up going simple and use default workout app. Once my running stablised from exploring longer stride length and cadence i only stare at distance, time and my pace to keep in form and performance.

I do find peer pressure works. Meaning of which app your friends are using sway may sway you into that platform.

i went thru 2 nike version i think s2 and s3, really see if you want spend on extra strap or not, i do find the nike strap are a bit loud if you wanna keep it simple and classy for other use(YMMV). after s3 i went back to stainless steel(s4) and titanium(s5). dont think i even miss it at all

PornStar

I prefer Garmin to AW mostly because I can tailor each workout according to my exact needs via Garmin Connect.

Maffetone Method, Interval training, Fartlek, Hill Repeats etc.

Each type of training need tailored over various distances and HR/Pace intensities and recovery intervals/repeats.

I find this most useful.

Other than that, once seasoned, a lot of the Garmin metrics just look like an impressive wall of data which is great to look at but not necessary to be a decent runner as a lot can't be changed nor compared due to the different constitution of our physical built and gait cycle.

Maybe it's also the age that i'm at where i have stopped measurbating over a watch, getting into the actual stuff that matters on running. You know yourself best when you listen to your body and know the feel of your HR during the course of the run.

i'm 43.

;)

ryan_khoo

I have been using a FR945 (with HRM-Tri/HRM-Pro/ RD Pod) and Series 4 AW simultaneously this year and have clocked more than 3000km so far.

My conclusion is that the AW OHR capture is almost as accurate as Garmin's HRM Chest Strap readings (+/- 1-2BPM). The AW OHR is even better than Garmin's OHR which tends to get spikes in my opinion.
do you still wear this “bra” strap now after the latest watches all can measure heart rate oredi ?

At the end of the day, its not the watch that makes the runner
Haha of course lah, watch doesn’t give the stamina to run 😂😂 watch only help you to see what data you want to see, everyone’s preference is different. If same then everyone will be wearing the same watch 😂😂😂

ryan_khoo

Runkeeper app on watch tracks that and allow review in analysis section.
How come my runkeeper apps on the watch, after clicking it, I receive the rotating icon and it rotates non stop wan, meaning hang ...

PornStar

do you still wear this “bra” strap now after the latest watches all can measure heart rate oredi ?

Yes. Strap definitely more consistent compared to OHR overall. You don't get the spikes or poor readings due to the OHR sensor and/or the way it sits on your wrist during the run.

My OHR on my FR945 used to work pretty ok for a short period. I used it in tandem with my RD Pod. But for some reason my HR readings started to spike erratically during my easy runs sporadically when i definitely knew that my HR was still stable. It really got quite irritating after awhile esp when it starts going into LT territory for awhile which results in the skew of other data associated with the HR readings such as Training Status.

ryan_khoo

Yes. Strap definitely more consistent compared to OHR overall. You don't get the spikes or poor readings due to the OHR sensor and/or the way it sits on your wrist during the run.
No wonder I still see people still using the strap to run bcos I thought it would really be very uncomfortable to run with it ...

alvino

How come my runkeeper apps on the watch, after clicking it, I receive the rotating icon and it rotates non stop wan, meaning hang ...
good chance you need to set up and give permission on the iphone app first. i think its trying to talk to iphone app to initiate the connection

ryan_khoo

good chance you need to set up and give permission on the iphone app first. i think its trying to talk to iphone app to initiate the connection
I think i did because after every run i completed, the run is registered in the runkeeper app on my iPhone duplicating what’s on strava and Garmin ...

I suspect the runkeeper app on the iPhone took the info from the Apple’s Heart app and display it on the runkeeper app.

But funny thing is the runkeeper app on the AW itself, when i start on the AW, the rotating icon keeps rotating leh ...

Any ideas ?

Thanks

Attila

i walk in apple store jewel without appointment. walk out with blue 44mm gps with braided solo loop and a unhappy wallet

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.