What linux distro are you using?

squarepipe

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
1,220
Reaction score
0
A few years ago I removed windows for ubuntu from my laptop and never looked back. I tried linux mint recently and now feel the itch to try something new. Any suggestions?
 

FatalityV

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
24,899
Reaction score
0
Using debian.

For me my path went

LM -> Arch -> Fedora -> Ubuntu -> Debian
 

dryteletubby

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
2,307
Reaction score
0
Current on my distro hopping (mostly de hopping) laptop I am running deepin. Used to run ubuntu , Linux mint,Debian , antergos, KDE neon , pop!_os

On my virtualization server I run proxmox with Ubuntu server and Debian.
 
Last edited:

dumboi2

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
296
Reaction score
0
Minimalist distros, Alpine for docker/VMs, OpenWrt for routers, Arch for everything else
 

zuoom

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Messages
29,883
Reaction score
45
Does it matter which distro to use?
 

zeebrugge

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
245
Reaction score
14
Debian 9 64 bit

A few years ago I removed windows for ubuntu from my laptop and never looked back. I tried linux mint recently and now feel the itch to try something new. Any suggestions?

Ubuntu is Debian. Linux Mint is Debian. I was quite surprised when the Debian founder Ian Murdock died of strange circumstances three years ago and stopped using Debian, but ever since Chester Bennington of Linkin Park also died in similar fashion, I am back using Debian since version nine because I made my mother and aunt pledge my corpse to be as a cadaver to Medical, Treatment Education and Research Act of the Singapore Constitution. I rather save lives than die of drug addiction, I rather have my body opened up machiam open source at a surgical table than have my own body hung from a noose. Say no to drugs, be open, truly open.
 

KardBoard

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
808
Reaction score
0
Hi. Any arch user? Is the task of compiling e program to suit each need daunting? Hope to try. TIA
 

FatalityV

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
24,899
Reaction score
0
Hi. Any arch user? Is the task of compiling e program to suit each need daunting? Hope to try. TIA

Arch is really not that difficult to use as a day to day user, might be diff for you depending on your need.

I didn't need to compile a program to suit my needs

I used it for about half a year or so.
 

OutBreak

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
May 25, 2002
Messages
18,699
Reaction score
274
I have moved to KDE-neon since Linux Mint drop KDE support. Plasma 5 is great, so far so good! :D
 

||||||||||

Great Supremacy Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
59,551
Reaction score
113
how you all move from one distro to one distro? you have to do the settings all over from scratch?

i'm using linux mint now..
 

SimpliCity2k

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
21,098
Reaction score
117
how you all move from one distro to one distro? you have to do the settings all over from scratch?

i'm using linux mint now..



for apps-specific like browsers & thunderbird mail profiles, settings & addons

copy e.g. chromium/firefox/opera fr their [hidden] folders within Home or Home/.config folder
 

SimpliCity2k

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
21,098
Reaction score
117
I have moved to KDE-neon since Linux Mint drop KDE support. Plasma 5 is great, so far so good! :D



since this is a 'which distro' thread

so currently i also using KDE-neon & Bodhi as mains
 

DarthGW

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
19,322
Reaction score
12
using manjaro 18 xfce.
previously was on linux mint 19 but i felt using ubuntu 18.04 very fast outdated...at least manjaro is cutting edge
 

OutBreak

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
May 25, 2002
Messages
18,699
Reaction score
274
how you all move from one distro to one distro? you have to do the settings all over from scratch?

i'm using linux mint now..

One root parition and one home partition. You only need to format the root partition to try/move to another distro. :D
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top