Which MBA?

fishfillet

Hi shadow82,

thanks for your response. Which MBA program are you enrolled in? Students in private institutions don't enjoy the same privileges as people who are studying in local universities - for example, you won't be eligible for a deferment if you're taking a course in SIM, whereas students in NUS, NTU, SMU, SUTD, qualify for deferment during the full length of their studies.

This applies to undergraduate studies, not sure if its the same for post graduate education.

hi Fishfillet,
i applied for deferment,asked the sch to provide student letter & supporting document, drafted up a persuasive plea to defer. All i got in return was a STANDARD template saying it was rejected. PUI lor. c aredi also tulan,u can obviously c the CO juz put his name there n send out. Not sincere at all.

Been rather busy doing assignment these few weeks,didn't haf chance to tink abt my next move. I can appeal but then with no new supporting documents, i tink no pt lah. Anyone gt other suggestions? Find MP?

Btw, suprised tat u actuali remembered. haha. thanks bro.

Kyoji83

gld998

For Bradford MBA at RDI, you needs to study in Hong Kong & meet the attendance requirement before they allow you to go for the exams.

Unless your friend are living in Hong Kong, why not study in MDIS since both are D/L MBA from Bradford?

Thanks... I will ask my fren to go MDIS...

shadow82

Hi shadow82,

thanks for your response. Which MBA program are you enrolled in? Students in private institutions don't enjoy the same privileges as people who are studying in local universities - for example, you won't be eligible for a deferment if you're taking a course in SIM, whereas students in NUS, NTU, SMU, SUTD, qualify for deferment during the full length of their studies.

This applies to undergraduate studies, not sure if its the same for post graduate education.
I am enrolled in Strathclyde MBA. Perhaps due to the fact that is part time studies+post grad studies,it doesn't fall under the deferment cat ba.

Ya, last time when I was in NTU, they auto-include me inside the Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) program. But then they always call up during holidays during sch holidays so not an issue.However, my reservist call up date clashes with my intensive workshop date so got issue ba. Tats y wanna defer lor. But I am too tired to do any follow up actions for deferment nw. Busy rushing assignment nw. damn xiong. haha. tink I am too old for this ****. haha.

Carnage

hi Fishfillet,
i applied for deferment,asked the sch to provide student letter & supporting document, drafted up a persuasive plea to defer. All i got in return was a STANDARD template saying it was rejected. PUI lor. c aredi also tulan,u can obviously c the CO juz put his name there n send out. Not sincere at all.

Been rather busy doing assignment these few weeks,didn't haf chance to tink abt my next move. I can appeal but then with no new supporting documents, i tink no pt lah. Anyone gt other suggestions? Find MP?

Btw, suprised tat u actuali remembered. haha. thanks bro.

Strange.

I managed to defer before. I graduated from SIM.

shadow82

Strange.

I managed to defer before. I graduated from SIM.
izzit? 1st attempt at deferment got thru le? MP involvement was not neccessary?

Perhaps it is cos my unit is fighting ATEC Stage 2 this ICT and the CO is only concerned abt the ATEC results instead of the well being of his junior commanders. What happened to the 7 core values-Care for Soldier? Or things have changed from the time I ORDed? anw, this is a realistic world so pple dun reali care abt the small fry 1 ba. Just my luck :(

kasahwt

anybody or their peers had experience with University of Birmingham MBA program offered by SIM? I'm thinking of applying for it sometime next year.

What are the general student population like? and how's robust and challenging is the program? I'm in my mid 20s with approximately 5 years of experience, with 1.5yrs in a supervisory role at my previous job.

Thanks in advance :)

I completed mine there this year. Not sure exactly what your question is asking. The students there mostly in their 30s with some in their 40s...many with more then 5 years of working experience. The module-based course is in intensive blocks of about 10 days covering weekdays evening and 2 weekends. Perhaps similar to many of the part-time MBA here in Singapore. There are of course, modules that are more challenging compared to others. Thus, in some modules you will feel relatively well-paced while some is more intensive and challenging. Beyond the modules, you will have to complete your assignments and study for exams.

Like many that have noted in this forum. You have to be prepared to balance your work, family and study time when doing a part-time MBA. Overall, it was a good experience for me. There are many MBA information session from different universities, go there and find which you are more comfortable with.

fishfillet

Hi Shadow, it's this one right - Strathclyde MBA | YMCA. There might be a possibility that it's because the program's from an international institution - students in SIM are usually not allowed to defer also - and the thing is, the first few army reservists are planned around the local university schedule - for example, reservists during NUS NTU school break.

I'm pretty sure if your MBA program was from NTU, NUS, Chicago Booth, INSEAD, Manchester Business School, they would reconsider your appeal - it's kind of elitist but that's how Sg is.

I might be considering a doing a part time program in the near future, which other universities have you considered before deciding on Strathclyde? List of Part Time MBA in Singapore

I am enrolled in Strathclyde MBA. Perhaps due to the fact that is part time studies+post grad studies,it doesn't fall under the deferment cat ba.

Ya, last time when I was in NTU, they auto-include me inside the Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) program. But then they always call up during holidays during sch holidays so not an issue.However, my reservist call up date clashes with my intensive workshop date so got issue ba. Tats y wanna defer lor. But I am too tired to do any follow up actions for deferment nw. Busy rushing assignment nw. damn xiong. haha. tink I am too old for this ****. haha.

shadow82

Hi Shadow, it's this one right - Strathclyde MBA | YMCA. There might be a possibility that it's because the program's from an international institution - students in SIM are usually not allowed to defer also - and the thing is, the first few army reservists are planned around the local university schedule - for example, reservists during NUS NTU school break.

I'm pretty sure if your MBA program was from NTU, NUS, Chicago Booth, INSEAD, Manchester Business School, they would reconsider your appeal - it's kind of elitist but that's how Sg is.

I might be considering a doing a part time program in the near future, which other universities have you considered before deciding on Strathclyde? List of Part Time MBA in Singapore
Hi, sori for the late reply. busy with assignment. anw, I dun tink whether I taking at other schs wil make a big difference ba. if part time then they wun consider areadi le. it depends on hw much ur units want u ba. my unit juz wants to make sure the manpower is there lah. otherwise recon status immediately drop le before go outfield.

Anw, u considering to tk part time MBA ar? hmm. better tink twice,its reali a HUGE commitment. u read thru al the correspondance in this thread,u should knw it is going to b DAMN xiong le. u muz determine why u wanna do it. I ask myself this q everi time I am doing assignment juz to keep me going. haha.

anw, with regards to choosing which MBA, I don't want to tk GMAT (so bye bye to local uni like NTU,NUS,SMU); want MBA with gd FT rakings; want gd accreditation; want a general MBA (finance oriented mba i dun reali like) ;reasonable schedule & workload etc lor.

In the end I choose Strathclyde lor cos its triple accreditated (only manchester,lancaster & strathclyde in spore i tink);reasonable schedule and strategic focus of MBA. it's 2012 rankings is lousy lah (out of top 100) but i did ask why and they assured us that they are taking the necessary corrective actions to address this so ok ba. anw, strathclyde n the rest of the MBAs (manchester,birmingham,nottingham etc) is considered tier B de lah so it doesnt reali matter wat u tk. those INSEAD tat type de then its reali tier A but it seems out of reach to normal folks like me lah. Strathclyde location is gd as well+ admin support is great. but if u want a easy MBA n juz want the cert then pls dun tk this, you probably will suffer. there r easier alternatives out there. haha. find out more lah b4 u decide. weight ur options bro. gd luck!

Disclamier: Above is purely my own opnion, no offense to the other bros taking other MBAs out there. :)

PostCountWarrior[+1]

City University of New York. Don't miss this especially if you are in the Finance Industry where Wall Street in New York is God.

pcw +1

fishfillet

Hi shadow82, thanks for taking the time to reply. I understand that it's going to be a huge commitment, both time, money and energy. Have you found the answer to question as to why you really want an MBA?

You make a good point about its triple accreditation, it'll be good to bring it up in your resume and explain to any of your future prospective employers why this is significant. I've considered INSEAD, and like you said, this school is really out of reach for most people, I don't see how any low to middle income citizen would be able to enroll in such a program without scholarships. I don't think I want to go for an easy MBA, imo, no one should do that, it beats the purpose of getting education and certification in the first place.

Thanks again for sharing your experience, do post updates on how you're coping with post grad studies and reservist, I'm sure many of us here would like to be prepared for such situations in future as well

Hi, sori for the late reply. busy with assignment. anw, I dun tink whether I taking at other schs wil make a big difference ba. if part time then they wun consider areadi le. it depends on hw much ur units want u ba. my unit juz wants to make sure the manpower is there lah. otherwise recon status immediately drop le before go outfield.

Anw, u considering to tk part time MBA ar? hmm. better tink twice,its reali a HUGE commitment. u read thru al the correspondance in this thread,u should knw it is going to b DAMN xiong le. u muz determine why u wanna do it. I ask myself this q everi time I am doing assignment juz to keep me going. haha.

anw, with regards to choosing which MBA, I don't want to tk GMAT (so bye bye to local uni like NTU,NUS,SMU); want MBA with gd FT rakings; want gd accreditation; want a general MBA (finance oriented mba i dun reali like) ;reasonable schedule & workload etc lor.

In the end I choose Strathclyde lor cos its triple accreditated (only manchester,lancaster & strathclyde in spore i tink);reasonable schedule and strategic focus of MBA. it's 2012 rankings is lousy lah (out of top 100) but i did ask why and they assured us that they are taking the necessary corrective actions to address this so ok ba. anw, strathclyde n the rest of the MBAs (manchester,birmingham,nottingham etc) is considered tier B de lah so it doesnt reali matter wat u tk. those INSEAD tat type de then its reali tier A but it seems out of reach to normal folks like me lah. Strathclyde location is gd as well+ admin support is great. but if u want a easy MBA n juz want the cert then pls dun tk this, you probably will suffer. there r easier alternatives out there. haha. find out more lah b4 u decide. weight ur options bro. gd luck!

Disclamier: Above is purely my own opnion, no offense to the other bros taking other MBAs out there. :)

dareaper

Hi shadow82, thanks for taking the time to reply. I understand that it's going to be a huge commitment, both time, money and energy. Have you found the answer to question as to why you really want an MBA?

You make a good point about its triple accreditation, it'll be good to bring it up in your resume and explain to any of your future prospective employers why this is significant. I've considered INSEAD, and like you said, this school is really out of reach for most people, I don't see how any low to middle income citizen would be able to enroll in such a program without scholarships. I don't think I want to go for an easy MBA, imo, no one should do that, it beats the purpose of getting education and certification in the first place.

Thanks again for sharing your experience, do post updates on how you're coping with post grad studies and reservist, I'm sure many of us here would like to be prepared for such situations in future as well

You can actually take study loans from companies such as https://www.prodigyfinance.com/ for your studies if you are able to get into Insead (or other top MBA schools). The interest rate is not cheap (~6%), but comparing the median annual income for Insead (~140k) versus NUS (~85k) MBA graduates, I think the additional cost may be worth it.

fishfillet

@dareaper, thanks for your sharing :) you've provided MBA advice in other threads as well, may I ask if you're a student or graduate from a program? If so, how did you finance your studies?

You can actually take study loans from companies such as https://www.prodigyfinance.com/ for your studies if you are able to get into Insead (or other top MBA schools). The interest rate is not cheap (~6%), but comparing the median annual income for Insead (~140k) versus NUS (~85k) MBA graduates, I think the additional cost may be worth it.

fishfillet

I thought CUNY looked familiar, it's one of the EMBA programs offered at Aventis. These guys have invested heavily in SEO to capture prospective student leads under the guise of an online MBA guide - http://www.mbasingapore.asia/ - some part of their site is still in lorem ipsum -.-

2 shady institutions..

Li9SF.png

PostCountWarrior[+1]

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.