Which MBA?

dareaper

@dareaper, thanks for your sharing :) you've provided MBA advice in other threads as well, may I ask if you're a student or graduate from a program? If so, how did you finance your studies?

nope, not a student nor a graduate yet. was just interested to take a mba to further my career (especially since my company will pay up to 56k for a part-time masters taken in singapore), so i went to take the gmat and did a lot of research into the various mba options offered in singapore. i guess i spent quite a bit of time determining the worth of a mba based on my individual requirement, and eventually decided that spending 100k on an insead full-time mba (company won't sponsor) would allow me to achieve my goals versus spending just 4k (after sponsorship) on a part-time nus mba (assuming admission is not an issue). just thought that i can share the conclusion of my research :)

fishfillet

nope, not a student nor a graduate yet. was just interested to take a mba to further my career (especially since my company will pay up to 56k for a part-time masters taken in singapore), so i went to take the gmat and did a lot of research into the various mba options offered in singapore. i guess i spent quite a bit of time determining the worth of a mba based on my individual requirement, and eventually decided that spending 100k on an insead full-time mba (company won't sponsor) would allow me to achieve my goals versus spending just 4k (after sponsorship) on a part-time nus mba (assuming admission is not an issue). just thought that i can share the conclusion of my research :)

INSEAD is under Spring MDS scheme, why won't they sponsor you? SPRING - MDS Calendar

dareaper

INSEAD is under Spring MDS scheme, why won't they sponsor you? SPRING - MDS Calendar

My company will only sponsor for a part time masters, not full time. Since Insead does not have part time MBA, my company will not sponsor it. My company is not eligible for the spring MDS scheme also, since it's an American MNC.

maisatomai

Can I ask a noob question.

Strathclyde/CUNY/others MBA vs NUS/NTU/SMU MBA. Which one would you choose holding other constant?

orangeroad80

Can I ask a noob question.

Strathclyde/CUNY/others MBA vs NUS/NTU/SMU MBA. Which one would you choose holding other constant?

I used to try to siam GMAT and want to convince myself that schools like Manchester, Hull, Strathclyde are good or even better than Insead or local uni. That's because I do not want to take GMAT. But I concluded that I should choose one program which has an official university campus and facilities for learning and interaction with the rest of classmates and one which use GMAT + Quality and no of working experience + Quality of first Degree + Interview selection as a criteria for admission. This will help to ensure that your classmates are of certain quality and standards. In Singapore, Insead and Chicago Business schools (EMBA) are the only "private schools" I would consider. Below is some feedback I gathered around, the preference from some HRs/employers (banks, MNCs and govt) and my fellow MBA classmates.

If you can afford to quit current job and take full-time MBA: In order of preference
1. Insead Singapore Campus, otherwise
2. NUS / SMU / NTU
GSB is EMBA, so not listed abv.

For Part-time, in order of preference
1. SMU, especially if you are working in CBD/near town or intending to switch career to banking.
2. NUS
3. NTU
because Insead do not have part-time.

I am listing the above sch names, not because I was a student from one of the abv schools, it's what i gathered from alumni/students and feedback from HRs. This is their impression of MBA programmes in singapore.

gld998

I used to try to siam GMAT and want to convince myself that schools like Manchester, Hull, Strathclyde are good or even better than Insead or local uni. That's because I do not want to take GMAT. But I concluded that I should choose one program which has an official university campus and facilities for learning and interaction with the rest of classmates and one which use GMAT + Quality and no of working experience + Quality of first Degree + Interview selection as a criteria for admission. This will help to ensure that your classmates are of certain quality and standards. In Singapore, Insead and Chicago Business schools (EMBA) are the only "private schools" I would consider. Below is some feedback I gathered around, the preference from some HRs/employers (banks, MNCs and govt) and my fellow MBA classmates.

If you can afford to quit current job and take full-time MBA: In order of preference
2. NUS / SMU / NTU

1. SMU, especially if you are working in CBD/near town or intending to switch career to banking.
2. NUS
3. NTU

I am listing the above sch names, not because I was a student from one of the abv schools, it's what i gathered from alumni/students and feedback from HRs. This is their impression of MBA programs in Singapore.

SO what you are saying that all other MBA programs grads with others schools besides you mentioned above can go and die la.....:eek:

I know some INSEAD or Chicago grads who are my vendors (IBM,Citi,KPMG, Ernest & Young etc) and they are not doing so great either... I do admit some are doing great but not all la.. Percentage is higher to succeed but is only part of puzzle ...

If you really wanna impress then long time should be a president scholar la... not last minute then wanna take INSEAD / Chicago and hope for the best. Talk is free

PostCountWarrior[+1]

2. NUS / SMU / NTU

2. NUS
3. NTU

I am listing the above sch names, not because I was a student from one of the abv schools, it's what i gathered from alumni/students and feedback from HRs. This is their impression of MBA programmes in singapore.
sch aside, i really think that age is a major factor in employment.

for those who are planning to change careers, pls go n take a full time one and change asap. for those who want to continue in their current job. go part time.

pcw +1

shadow82

My company will only sponsor for a part time masters, not full time. Since Insead does not have part time MBA, my company will not sponsor it. My company is not eligible for the spring MDS scheme also, since it's an American MNC.
Hi dareaper,

Frm the info u provided, i m pretty sure we are working for the same american MNC. (ie covered under the ESP). Not sure which repair shop/business unit u belong to but it doesn't matter lah. So in the end, u didn't go for any of the tier B MBAs lah cos u only interested in INSEAD? haha, too bad no full time rite? or else u dun mind top up the diff exceeding 56k rite? So u totally dun wanna tk MBA at all ar? wasted leh.

dareaper

Hi dareaper,

Frm the info u provided, i m pretty sure we are working for the same american MNC. (ie covered under the ESP). Not sure which repair shop/business unit u belong to but it doesn't matter lah. So in the end, u didn't go for any of the tier B MBAs lah cos u only interested in INSEAD? haha, too bad no full time rite? or else u dun mind top up the diff exceeding 56k rite? So u totally dun wanna tk MBA at all ar? wasted leh.

Haha yep, ESP! Maybe I will try for an Insead MBA 3 years later, so for now, I am planning to take another part time masters (see link below) if I can get in, so not really wasted lah.

Management Science and Engineering MS Degree | Stanford University Online

dareaper

imagine the interviewer's face when u tell him its an online one.

pcw +1

It's just that the learning mode is distance learning instead of in the class room. Admissions are still through normal Stanford admissions process, and you can switch it to full time in class for any semester if you want to fly over to CA and if you can afford to take 3 months off work. The modules are taken at the same time with the full time students at Stanford, and projects, homework and exam papers are marked by the same profs/TA, scores are also moderated together with the scores of the full time students. To me the only shortfall would be the networking opportunities with other students.

gld998

reflect on this..... wake up... a piece of paper is nth if there not experience to back it up.... especially on those who have no MANAGEMENT experience. Please be clear on what is management experience. Being a subordinate without any underlings is not experience....

Singaporean qualifications don

firebrand83

i have a general question for MBA laojiaos here
In order to maximise my ROI from the MBA, what are the broad signs in one's career that we must possess?
I.e. groomed to take senior post is an obvious e.g.
I am afraid of committing for one to realise that it wouldn't pay off as intended :o

Kyoji83

The employment requirement in order to move up to higher position in your current or/and prospective organization or to become a lecturer in private school.

Apart from that a MBA in Sg mostly is a waste of time & false hope for ROI market by Uni & Pte Sch.

i have a general question for MBA laojiaos here
In order to maximise my ROI from the MBA, what are the broad signs in one's career that we must possess?
I.e. groomed to take senior post is an obvious e.g.
I am afraid of committing for one to realise that it wouldn't pay off as intended :o

firebrand83

The employment requirement in order to move up to higher position in your current or/and prospective organization or to become a lecturer in private school.

Apart from that a MBA in Sg mostly is a waste of time & false hope for ROI market by Uni & Pte Sch.

then im fugged riao
sigh no hope

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.