Which one will you pick? TV or Projector

86technie

Sincere opinion - just get the biggest TV you can reasonably afford.

Projectors are too finicky - the lamps got life limit one, the lumens not bright enough to use in a lit room, must find a good spot to mount the projector, must find a good spot to put the screen or if projecting onto a wall must make sure the wall surface is matt and ideally white etc.
I agree TS should consider TV.
Projector wise depends on many factors especially room.
If room is well lit with sunlight than the picture will be dim so it is recommended to install in a really dark room.

Lamp wise does have lifespan as well as depend on your usage. If 24/7 or long usage the lamp will wear out.

There are Casio LED projector as well as Laser projector like Sony which does not use lamp.
The Casio will be cheaper but picture isn't very good.

Sony laser projector are expensive and not recommended for small rooms like HDB flats.
TV will be better choice for homes unless office, classrooms and auditorium etc.

Yueming

as TS mentioned want to watch movies

no matter TV or projector

I think the minimal requirements is

native 4K resolution
ability to output dolby atmos

tankgunner

Mentor
Usually $200+

A brand new bulb can mostly last around 5000hrs, enought for over 1500 movies. Even if you watch 2 movies everyday, thats over 2yrs....
but do remember the brightness of the bulb will get dimmer over time.
it won't last 5000 hrs one. by 1000 hrs most likely it has lost 30% of the original brightness liao.

Clearnfc

1080P vs UHD.

that's a big difference

then you need to know what lamp they using.

laser > LED > normal lamp

Regarding resolution, not quite. No doubt 4K content on 4K projector will look sharper. However, its not that big. 2K upscale to 4K provides similar effects... At a nominal distance of ~3-4m, its quite hard to tell a 2K upscaled or real 4K content. Thats perhaps also why many bluray movies are 2K upscaled.

Lamp wise, it depends on what you are using it for and how often.

https://www.projectorpoint.co.uk/news/lamp-vs-laser-projectors-which-is-right-for-you
Take note that LED till today are still mainly assocaited with low cost projectors. Its not really popular for mainstream projectors yet. As for laser, yes, they are good and they last a long time.

Btw, projector is more than the light source they use. More important is the display technology. Eg. LCD vs DLP vs 3 Laser etc.. A high end lamp projector is stillw ay better than any cheap led/laser projector.

Laneige

My iPad screen spoil I also thinking of getting a projector first
Any recommendation for a gd one
Can see HD quality on a bigger screen than tv or not

Clearnfc

it won't last 5000 hrs one. by 1000 hrs most likely it has lost 30% of the original brightness liao.

Yes, the lamp will start to get dimmer over time. But, one thing to note is that brand new lamps are usually too bright for normal viewing in a dark room. So, you will need to mostly use eco mode. Then as it gets dimmer, you go to normal.

Clearnfc

as TS mentioned want to watch movies

no matter TV or projector

I think the minimal requirements is

native 4K resolution
ability to output dolby atmos

output dolby atmos can be done over ARC but thats only if the user connects input through the TV instead of through the AV receiver.

RetroActive

my current bulb is abt 7000 hrs alry at eco mode and still seem quite ok thou it start to prompt me to replace bulb liao...

Yueming

Regarding resolution, not quite. No doubt 4K content on 4K projector will look sharper. However, its not that big. 2K upscale to 4K provides similar effects... At a nominal distance of ~3-4m, its quite hard to tell a 2K upscaled or real 4K content. Thats perhaps also why many bluray movies are 2K upscaled.

Lamp wise, it depends on what you are using it for and how often.

https://www.projectorpoint.co.uk/news/lamp-vs-laser-projectors-which-is-right-for-you
Take note that LED till today are still mainly assocaited with low cost projectors. Its not really popular for mainstream projectors yet. As for laser, yes, they are good and they last a long time.

Btw, projector is more than the light source they use. More important is the display technology. Eg. LCD vs DLP vs 3 Laser etc.. A high end lamp projector is stillw ay better than any cheap led/laser projector.

once you go UHD/4K you won't go back.

:o :o :o :o :o

you can get lamp projector if you can tahan the changing of the lamps ^^

The_King

i guess i should based on choice on my usage. if i use my monitor more then other then i get projector.

The_King

So liked I go movie theatre always feel their resolution not enough is similar?
their room at treated, like the wall dont reflect much light,their projector are high end.

mine at most 1.5k. no fight at all

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.