Whitestone Dome Screen Protector Problems..

Charlie_Zhan

I've came to a conclusion that UV glass just dont work for s10, no matter what you choose. Some may have fingerprint working but at an expense of a lower quality glue which doesnt provide the optimum shatter protection of its equivalent counterpart.

Whitestone has provided slightly more volume of glue which somehow affected the thickness of the gap between glass and screen. To circumvent this, its recommended to push out the excessive glue by pressing on the glass before curing. However due to the fact that loca shrinks about 1-2% of its surface area, it causes bubble when it shrinks.

Whereas a tpu protector is more cost effective, easier to apply and is totally compatible with fingerprint scanner. I have chosen the latter..
if you press or push on the tgsp before curing it. it will just cause bubbles to form and most likely need to remove the Loca and use another tube. you say you've came to a conclusion that UV glass just don't work for S10.. based on? personal experience trying all the different levels of Loca viscosity and type of tgsp?

Sent from Samsung SM-G965F using GAGT

cstanhwz

I've came to a conclusion that UV glass just dont work for s10, no matter what you choose. Some may have fingerprint working but at an expense of a lower quality glue which doesnt provide the optimum shatter protection of its equivalent counterpart.

Whitestone has provided slightly more volume of glue which somehow affected the thickness of the gap between glass and screen. To circumvent this, its recommended to push out the excessive glue by pressing on the glass before curing. However due to the fact that loca shrinks about 1-2% of its surface area, it causes bubble when it shrinks.

Whereas a tpu protector is more cost effective, easier to apply and is totally compatible with fingerprint scanner. I have chosen the latter..

if you press or push on the tgsp before curing it. it will just cause bubbles to form and most likely need to remove the Loca and use another tube. you say you've came to a conclusion that UV glass just don't work for S10.. based on? personal experience trying all the different levels of Loca viscosity and type of tgsp?

Got one bro posted this video previously (sorry forgot who and lazy to go back find).

Maybe can give this method a try for WSD when curing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_wT8uLly0s

renfred89

of cos personal experience lor. tried 2 dome glasses with different application techniques, but still not satisfied with the fingerprint scanner despite squeezing out excess glue.

actually i meant to squeeze out the glue only after the whole glass has spread with glue, not before that..

Charlie_Zhan

of cos personal experience lor. tried 2 dome glasses with different application techniques, but still not satisfied with the fingerprint scanner despite squeezing out excess glue.

actually i meant to squeeze out the glue only after the whole glass has spread with glue, not before that..
like many others.. I used to think that whitestone dome is like the G.O.A.T. and nothing else out there can beat it..

maybe hope will have someone here who would order from that shop selling in taobao I linked earlier and come back provide his/her feedback on the fp accuracy. :)

wwh5210

no idea.. but I only trust one Tiong seller on taobao for his UV sp.. because he will constantly improve and reformulate the Loca that he includes for his kit.. from the smell alone you will know it's not the same because the one from his shop is very faint when compared to those use by others.

https://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?id=558970564785&spm=a2141.7631565.item_rank_list_19189228858.558970564785

for those interested this is his tb shop.. look at the reviews and judge by yourself.. and of cos do your own due diligence..

he only sells offers UV tgsp for a handful of phones models, other products in his store are mediocre and you can definitely find other better ones. if you do decide to make a purchase but already have the big UV lamp that came with WSD (he provides the same big one), just chat with the seller before or right after you have made your order and let them know. they should still be able to offer you an additional set of tgsp + loca glue in lieu of the UV lamp.

*edit - the price for his stuff is by no means cheap for a TB or AliExpress seller.. but he sell in sets of 2/3/4, so the cost per set is still way way wayyyy cheaper than WSD.. but then again if you just want UV Loca sp at rock bottom prices, then this is not for you, please move on..

Interested in getting one to try. Is this the same shop? https://world.taobao.com/item/558970564785.htm

Cyberboy128

Removed my TGP (non Whitestone). The feeling is its a phone like never before.

Decided on this move as I guess there will never be a screen protector regardless of type and brand that will be like having a nude screen.

Touch wood, if anything really happens to the screen, it might still be cheaper than the money I spend on the various SP or TGPs.

renfred89

Removed my TGP (non Whitestone). The feeling is its a phone like never before.

Decided on this move as I guess there will never be a screen protector regardless of type and brand that will be like having a nude screen.

Touch wood, if anything really happens to the screen, it might still be cheaper than the money I spend on the various SP or TGPs.

whereas for p30 pro, they got their own tempered glass that certified to work with the fingerprint scanner leh. how come we have to hunt high and low for a compatible one, and still must depend on luck.

i settled for a tpu one and moved on. HAH

Cyberboy128

whereas for p30 pro, they got their own tempered glass that certified to work with the fingerprint scanner leh. how come we have to hunt high and low for a compatible one, and still must depend on luck.

i settled for a tpu one and moved on. HAH

It's different technology used. As in for the fingerprint scanner used.

RocketAbyss

S10 is the only phone with ultrasonic fingerprint reader, the rest use optical.

Difference is that optical just lights up your fingerprint and takes a picture of it to authenticate. For ultrasonic, no picture is taken, but some ultrasonic(as the name goes) vibrations happen that allow the sensor to detect our fingerprints, which means any gap or inconsistency with the tempered glass making contacting with the actual screen will affect the way it captures our fingerprint.

renfred89

Ya la.. but the conflict here is that optical sensor uses light that will definitely be refracted when through any medium apart from air, so it works with a glass I'm surprised.

Also, ultrasonic should work better with loca glasses because the medium transmit sound waves better than tpu or pet types, but also didnt work. Surprisingly tpu ones are working well, probably due to the the width and that tpu can be compressed.

S10 is the only phone with ultrasonic fingerprint reader, the rest use optical.

Difference is that optical just lights up your fingerprint and takes a picture of it to authenticate. For ultrasonic, no picture is taken, but some ultrasonic(as the name goes) vibrations happen that allow the sensor to detect our fingerprints, which means any gap or inconsistency with the tempered glass making contacting with the actual screen will affect the way it captures our fingerprint.

cheryl81

I find the screen protector thay come with the s10 plus actually not bad.

ya just that we butt itchy want go change to tempered glass. so LL liao.
wakaka...
im kinda glad that my zeelot has been working fine.

wwh5210

ya just that we butt itchy want go change to tempered glass. so LL liao.
wakaka...
im kinda glad that my zeelot has been working fine.
What's ur review on zeelot? Does the fingerprint working well? My current taobao one is a bit cui on their LOCA glue.

cheryl81

What's ur review on zeelot? Does the fingerprint working well? My current taobao one is a bit cui on their LOCA glue.

tbh i have installed zeelot twice. 1st was installed at CWP, it only work once in a while. 2nd was at casefactorie. but this one can unlock almost everytime. even after install already can unlock.

but ofc not like the original sp, just tab. need light tab n hold abit.

maybe there is some tactic/skill needed to install the sp to make the fp work.

wwh5210

tbh i have installed zeelot twice. 1st was installed at CWP, it only work once in a while. 2nd was at casefactorie. but this one can unlock almost everytime. even after install already can unlock.

but ofc not like the original sp, just tab. need light tab n hold abit.

maybe there is some tactic/skill needed to install the sp to make the fp work.
Which means there are many factors affecting the ultrasonic sensor. Then film type should be the best for now lol.

Maaasa

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32948587259.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.2ff84c4daGd3us

had 100% success rate for finger print so far. no idea if it was due mine screw up during the application resulting in 100% rate. :s13:

glue reduced when the packaging flew on it. phone dropped due the glue spilling all over and caused the phone to slip and crack the tempered glass before using uv light. shifted the tempered glass up and down to remove the bubbles before using uv light. :s22:

ordering another one to try again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.