Who regret doing tonsillectomy?

Whirling_Dervish

I am planned for one but I scared of complications and long lasting effects after. Heard voice change. Throat more dry and pain.

so who done tonsillectomy liao got any regrets and advice?

I honestly think that this should be a conversation between your otolaryngologist and yourself; he or she would be able to eloquently present the risks and benefits of surgery.

Lchlch

I am planned for one but I scared of complications and long lasting effects after. Heard voice change. Throat more dry and pain.

What surgery is that?
Nvr heard of.

tidiii

i dun think dentist will even suggest this to anyone unless its swollen or inflamed constantly

jjoseph

Just remove. Been through that. Painful for the first 1 to 2 weeks during recovery, after that will get better. During that time, can only eat porridge and soft food, weight dropped from 65kg to 59kg and felt much more healthier.

Tonsils offer protection against respiratory illness like flu only during childhood. When you're an adult, it's useless.

AshleyRiot

I done my tonsillectomy like some years ago cos it was causing my headache and couldnt sleep or eat well

even the docs cannot tell me why I suddenly got it. :spin:

No, I dont have any prior history of Tonsillitis during my childhood nor suffered any swollen tonsils before that.

The ENT gave me 2 options, either they scrap some of the tonsil to go lab and test and then decide what step next or do tonsillectomy in a few days time. I chose the latter cos it has caused me discomfort.

It was a day surgery and it was HELL after the antibitoics wore off. The recovery period was a bitch but no side effects or anything after that.

Unicornetto

Sorry, can't help further as western medicine is not my focus, I more on chinese medicine. We don't have a term for immune system in tcm, so I can't diagnose your issue.

Based on my understanding of your condition, I see you are 先天不足、后天虚弱体质, so other ppl take operation no problem, but you may have implication, you need to think twice.
What the Chinese words mean? Ya I tend to have complications with every surgeries. Like life very sway

Unicornetto

I honestly think that this should be a conversation between your otolaryngologist and yourself; he or she would be able to eloquently present the risks and benefits of surgery.
I see subsidised so I only saw this MO in clinic. I didn’t get to see the consultant. He is the one go other room consult and relay message. He just ask me to do the op and said minimal effects post op. But he not familiar with my auto immune condition and can’t answer much of my qns

Unicornetto

I done my tonsillectomy like some years ago cos it was causing my headache and couldnt sleep or eat well

even the docs cannot tell me why I suddenly got it. :spin:

No, I dont have any prior history of Tonsillitis during my childhood nor suffered any swollen tonsils before that.

The ENT gave me 2 options, either they scrap some of the tonsil to go lab and test and then decide what step next or do tonsillectomy in a few days time. I chose the latter cos it has caused me discomfort.

It was a day surgery and it was HELL after the antibitoics wore off. The recovery period was a bitch but no side effects or anything after that.
Thanks for sharing. How long was the recovery period for you? About 2 weeks ?

It can cause headache ? Wah I been having frequent headaches . I didn’t know it’s connected . I also have ear and neck pain

CW40

Sorry, can't help further as western medicine is not my focus, I more on chinese medicine. We don't have a term for immune system in tcm, so I can't diagnose your issue.

Based on my understanding of your condition, I see you are 先天不足、后天虚弱体质, so other ppl take operation no problem, but you may have implication, you need to think twice.

Hi based on TCM what can be done to improve immune system? From young I have very weak immune. Almost every month will fall sick - catch cold, upp respiratory track infection, sore throat, fever etc.

No matter what I do - exercise, take supplements, probiotics - nothing seemed to help. I think immune system is something embedded in one's DNA, not easy to make changes

Unicornetto

Keep eating antibiotics is not good for body, cos the bacteria will gain resistance. Your body next time have to use stronger antibiotics for other medical reasons to cope and that comes with much more side effects.

Every surgery is a gamble tbh. No matter how small or big the op is. Hope your surgery goes through smoothly.
Ya Lor . Agree with you. Thank you

yokine3a

What the Chinese words mean? Ya I tend to have complications with every surgeries. Like life very sway
I can write a uni thesis to explain those chinese words leh 😆
To keep it short, it means you do not have a fit body sice young and you are still weak in adulthood.

yokine3a

Hi based on TCM what can be done to improve immune system? From young I have very weak immune. Almost every month will fall sick - catch cold, upp respiratory track infection, sore throat, fever etc.

No matter what I do - exercise, take supplements, probiotics - nothing seemed to help. I think immune system is something embedded in one's DNA, not easy to make changes
I give you a mild formula, try 玉屏风, can buy powder or tablet or liquid, depends which is easier for you. Buy a small bottle, try it for a month, then let me know if it helps or not.

Probiotics is meant for your digestive system, it can't do much to your respiratory system issues.

Shinning_Wolf

Uses this to brush your tonsils.
pdp_cleaning_sponge_1_1.jpg

Ashton

My tonsillitis not so jialat, the doctor say I will get 1 round of fever every year or so.

He let me decide, then I read somewhere that removing tonsils will affect singing voice, so I jitao skip. :s13:

Unicornetto

I can write a uni thesis to explain those chinese words leh 😆
To keep it short, it means you do not have a fit body sice young and you are still weak in adulthood.
Thanks. I cannot read Chinese . My Chinese F9.

yup fully agree with you. Thanks for your kind advice

tyk23

I done mine many years ago. I faced the same situation as you, tonsils kept re-infected after recovery. No side effects after surgery, i am healthy and fit. The only thing u have to worry is the post ops recovery. After removal u will have 2 big ulcers inside ur throat, Just need to tahan 2 weeks, after that all are good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.