who retire with just 1mil?

N4E.SI

LOL Bro, where got 30k? Dun anyhow blow me up until so big lah... I will paiseh one. 😂 😂 😂

When I was retrenched and thus retired at 40, I had about S$300k worth of my ex-company's stocks, which I DCA-ed for over 8 years. My cost basis is probably less than $50k when I acquired the stocks, committing at least 10% every month.

With the rest of my savings and dividends (I think it was about S$800+ monthly after 30% tax), I figured I could survive lean for a while. I contemplated selling some stocks and diversifying, since the price was stagnating... In the end, I left it untouched.

My wife was also still working. I was thinking of taking of merely taking a break year or two. One thing lead to another...

7 years later, the stock is now worth almost S$7m.

U work in NVIDIA right :ROFLMAO:

Visor9999

heaven must be smiling on you :)

yeah take some profit upgrade your lifestyle like better healthier food. :(

He have 7m at least, that’s a life time supply of 1st class plane tickets, not just healthier food for him

Bad kids

I think he retired with less than that. Was something like $30k
He was laid off at age 40 then put all his money into stock of the company that laid him off.
The stock went 200x.
Let say he made 6 mil from 30K... actually hor this monies is all from the others who lose monies...

Meaning... there are 5,970,000 from the contributors, or probably 197 persons who lose 30K each... Just money game...

N4E.SI

Why $1M cannot

My uncle retired with just $200k savings + retrenchment benefits like 20+ yrs ago

He stayed with my grandma so rent-free. Lunch time usually he eats kopitiam nearby dun need take bus. Dinner my grandma cook

He never take holidays, buy any expensive stuff one. Still surviving after not working for 20+ yrs now

Hello_Kitty

even if i have $1mil, i also cannot guarantee i will use finish before i die. I may have sudden death

Hello_Kitty

Why $1M cannot

My uncle retired with just $200k savings + retrenchment benefits like 20+ yrs ago

He stayed with my grandma so rent-free. Lunch time usually he eats kopitiam nearby dun need take bus. Dinner my grandma cook

He never take holidays, buy any expensive stuff one. Still surviving after not working for 20+ yrs now
young people nowaday very materialistic, must have $10mil to retire as they still want to maintain their current standard of living such as car, overseas vacation, atas restaurant, expensive hobbies, etc.

Bumperbee88

I really envy you bro. You are a legend!
You and @Bumperbee88 are my heroes in EDMW.
Let not compare. I have learnt an important painful lesson, when I first landed in Schweiz decade ago. Never talk to the Swiss about money and paychecks. Didn't understand why they all frowned at me and walked away. Later one of my old time Swiss colleague explained to me. That is their culture. They don't like to talk about money.

But when you talk to them about life and family, they love it. Same goes to my immdiate family . They don't talk about money when we gather.

Bumperbee88

young people nowaday very materialistic, must have $10mil to retire as they still want to maintain their current standard of living such as car, overseas vacation, atas restaurant, expensive hobbies, etc.
That's the problem with Asian and Westerners. They like to show off and tell the whole world.

nasfieldjohn

LOL Bro, where got 30k? Dun anyhow blow me up until so big lah... I will paiseh one. 😂 😂 😂

When I was retrenched and thus retired at 40, I had about S$300k worth of my ex-company's stocks, which I DCA-ed for over 8 years. My cost basis is probably less than $50k when I acquired the stocks, committing at least 10% every month.

With the rest of my savings and dividends (I think it was about S$800+ monthly after 30% tax), I figured I could survive lean for a while. I contemplated selling some stocks and diversifying, since the price was stagnating... In the end, I left it untouched.

My wife was also still working. I was thinking of taking of merely taking a break year or two. One thing lead to another...

7 years later, the stock is now worth almost S$7m.
richman spotted

hachi

Why $1M cannot

Can be done... Many rather slog thinking they need a lot... Once they have alot, they don't have the health and time to enjoy.

Dividends Warrior

Still slogging with my $1m 😅

My 1H2025 Portfolio Update

609c50a1c94a84ae850f6ab0e357a39df8907f1a.png

hachi

Let not compare. I have learnt an important painful lesson, when I first landed in Schweiz decade ago. Never talk to the Siwss about money and paychecks. Didn't understand why they all frowned at me and walked away. Later one of my old time Swiss colleague explained to me. That is their culture. They don't like to talk about money.

But when you talk to them about life and family, they love it. Same goes to my immdiate family . They don't talk about money when we gather.
Same family we don't talk about money... Actually those with those with household incomes between 12-20k per month. Not much different in life style.

Bumperbee88

Same family we don't talk about money... Actually those with those with household incomes between 12-20k per month. Not much different in life style.
Nope, They are much better the me, hor. One live in GCB, loh. One live in penthouse hor. Where they live, you roughly knows what they have.

dereth

Why $1M cannot

Having done something like that in 2018, I'd say it's somewhat doable as long as you don't have any major liabilities. I had less than $200k in cash, but do hold $300k in my portfolio.

It helped that my portfolio generated about $800 in dividends per month. My BTO was paid up, and I don't have a car.

Until today, I still take buses and MRTs whenever I go out.
I cook my meals and sometimes order delivery. Otherwise, it's the kopitiam downstairs.
My most expensive purchase in the last 7 years was $3000 to replace a TV.
I have not traveled since my last trip to Thailand in 2018, unless you count JB by bus.
I've only recently upgraded my wardrobe to Uniqlo after a combination of Teeturtle and random Taobao tees.

My lifestyle remains the same in 2018 as it is now in 2025.

The best decision I have made in recent years was to just leave my portfolio alone instead of diversifying.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.