Why WP did badly this time?

mamaloki

All blame this blame that.

But one particular reason that really struck me is....

LTK and SL admit they are "old" in the last really.

Although they wanted to push younger people up, this I think backfire.

They are the star of WP. Yet they admit they old liao. This shake confident of ppl in wp and then vote for pap.

And.... all those above 50 mentioned by SL all got drop in votes. (except LTK) CSM, SL and PEH all got drop in the number of votes....

Anyone agree?:s22:

arcturuz

no need to speculate la

no one will ever know what the silent majority were thinking

rbtr8r

too much SG50 goodies...

PAP was very targeted

PG benefits
Civil service $500 and bonuses

those 2 enough to make them vote already

chocobelle

daft sinkies are kiasu, kiasi, f0rgetful & luv t0 be screwed by pappies av day :(

greenbubble

Politically naive women.

When LKY kicked the bucket, many female corlicks went to queue up for 6 hours or more. The male corlicks all can't be bothered. These females will surely vote for PAP becoz it is LKY legacy.

ahkrong

All blame this blame that.

But one particular reason that really struck me is....

LTK and SL admit they are "old" in the last really.

Although they wanted to push younger people up, this I think backfire.

They are the star of WP. Yet they admit they old liao. This shake confident of ppl in wp and then vote for pap.

And.... all those above 50 mentioned by SL all got drop in votes. (except LTK) CSM, SL and PEH all got drop in the number of votes....

Anyone agree?:s22:

not really a reason though. ppl get old, have to find replacement. replacements hard to come by as well cos ruling party play dirty politics, those capable may not want to join, those want to join may not be capable enough. even if there are newbies intro as new candidates, they won't have the opportunity to really learn as MPs as pinky got the power to wield the drawing pen, suka suka draw boundaries, re-assign and shift the MPs around the GRCs and wala, these newbies no chance to fight.

main reasons would be sympathy votes due to lky, sg50, pg package, 50 yrs of track record, scared of ahpetc may happen again, pinky reshuffling the mahjong tiles by shifting MPs all over the place, etc.:s22:

tkk97

Island wide huge White wash, there are still Six WP standing there.
Is not easy bro.

Mancunian2

main reasons would be sympathy votes due to lky, sg50, pg package, 50 yrs of track record, scared of ahpetc may happen again, pinky reshuffling the mahjong tiles by shifting MPs all over the place, etc.:s22:

if such superficial measures can work,
it shows that sinkies are daft, that's all

tkk97

too much SG50 goodies...

PAP was very targeted

PG benefits
Civil service $500 and bonuses

those 2 enough to make them vote already

A huge party machinery loaded with cash, policies making process, and close ranks with its Civil Servants. As simple as that.

Is always an up hill tasks for opp to gain further inroad.

bttorn

You sure bo, I watched all of their rallies and don't even remember them saying that. Maybe they saying themselves are old are insignificant to what I look for when I vote.

mamaloki

You sure bo, I watched all of their rallies and don't even remember them saying that. Maybe they saying themselves are old are insignificant to what I look for when I vote.

got la. SL say one. I think second last rally.

Chiong

Politically naive women.

When LKY kicked the bucket, many female corlicks went to queue up for 6 hours or more. The male corlicks all can't be bothered. These females will surely vote for PAP becoz it is LKY legacy.

they are naive alright...but many sinkies, male or female all went to queue.

not only women, you can bet there are plenty of men that voted for a logo and a dead man.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.