Sent from Rem Best Grill using GAGT
Did jamus talked about the 82yo? I went to his fb, bo leh... online citizen pattern again??
Dishwasher to cleaner need skills? Need upgrade?
I am more concerned about her plight after her son died serving NS.
SG owes her.
Good points!Minimum wage does not work. In capitalist world, we are like in pyramid scheme.
The pyramid always have 1% top richest, 10% high net income, etc.
No matter what you adjust, the pyramid won't change.
Assuming we are at the bottom 20%. With minimum wage, suddenly our salary all increase a lot by (100%). Everyone happy right?
But company will end up having resource problem, because nobody is willing to work with old-salary. So company must charge the services by 100% to their customers. The customers are those companies who are selling things too. Because the supplier increase by 100%, they will also have to increase 100% (or more).
Since everyone increase by 100%, suddenly everything become expensive by 100%. Your increment of 100% suddenly has no effect at all, when everything increased by 100%.
That's why when we feel our salary is getting higher, we don't feel anything different and still goes back to the same place. You have 100% increase, but the rich also getting richer by 100% (or more). You are still at the bottom 20%.
Another thing that people also tend to forget, is that company is hiring people based on budget. They set budget let's say 9k to hire for 1 year. So based on budget 9k, how many employees can work?
Company manage to hire cleaner, 4 x $2k=$8k. So now company has $1k left. Company can actually hire another person who is willing to work for 1K. If cannot find, Company use that $1k for other purpose.
A person takes up the offer of $1k salary. Is it bad?
This 1k-salary person will have job, because there's no minimum salary.
If gov say, minimum salary is $2k, that person will not have any opportunity at all to work, because simply company cannot hire him.
Regarding the older generation situation, and people-who-left-behind, the minimum wage will actually work against them.
What gov and society can do is to come out with social-mechanism to assist all these people. Rich gov like Singapore surely can afford it, and if gov can breakdown how much has been spent to unprivileged people, i hope the public can support it because it uses public tax payer money.
I understand we have so many social-organisation, but not sure why the help never goes to the people who needs it. Perhaps someone can provide explanation what really happened on the ground. Why person like ahma in the article, never approach social organisation, but then can kpkb to Worker's party. Are they scared? afraid? or feeling helpless? ineffective?
I also got back injury permanent for life because of NS training but was not allow to downgrade during my NS time... Only during reservist then I go see doctor to downgrade...
Now I have to live with permanent PID for life...
But govt paid nothing to me...
There are many nsmen like me too...
So what can sinkies do???
Did jamus talked about the 82yo? I went to his fb, bo leh... online citizen pattern again??
I am also wondering why the ahma wasn't covered by workfare? Is it because what she did was considered an odd job?
Minimum wage does not work. In capitalist world, we are like in pyramid scheme.
The pyramid always have 1% top richest, 10% high net income, etc.
No matter what you adjust, the pyramid won't change.
Assuming we are at the bottom 20%. With minimum wage, suddenly our salary all increase a lot by (100%). Everyone happy right?
But company will end up having resource problem, because nobody is willing to work with old-salary. So company must charge the services by 100% to their customers. The customers are those companies who are selling things too. Because the supplier increase by 100%, they will also have to increase 100% (or more).
Since everyone increase by 100%, suddenly everything become expensive by 100%. Your increment of 100% suddenly has no effect at all, when everything increased by 100%.
That's why when we feel our salary is getting higher, we don't feel anything different and still goes back to the same place. You have 100% increase, but the rich also getting richer by 100% (or more). You are still at the bottom 20%.
Another thing that people also tend to forget, is that company is hiring people based on budget. They set budget let's say 9k to hire for 1 year. So based on budget 9k, how many employees can work?
Company manage to hire cleaner, 4 x $2k=$8k. So now company has $1k left. Company can actually hire another person who is willing to work for 1K. If cannot find, Company use that $1k for other purpose.
A person takes up the offer of $1k salary. Is it bad?
This 1k-salary person will have job, because there's no minimum salary.
If gov say, minimum salary is $2k, that person will not have any opportunity at all to work, because simply company cannot hire him.
Regarding the older generation situation, and people-who-left-behind, the minimum wage will actually work against them.
What gov and society can do is to come out with social-mechanism to assist all these people. Rich gov like Singapore surely can afford it, and if gov can breakdown how much has been spent to unprivileged people, i hope the public can support it because it uses public tax payer money.
I understand we have so many social-organisation, but not sure why the help never goes to the people who needs it. Perhaps someone can provide explanation what really happened on the ground. Why person like ahma in the article, never approach social organisation, but then can kpkb to Worker's party. Are they scared? afraid? or feeling helpless? ineffective?