• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Mecisteus

Actually why are there many EDMW so concerned about minimum wage?

Most of you are already earning more than the cleaners.

pohw0008

Sorry my mum 70 years old.. don't know English.. not good with smart phone.. only can answer call see photos eg.. if press wrongly don't know how to fixed.. phone bill can up to $100 cause data was accidentally used outside.. teach many times.. cannot learn effectively.. :o

Fantastic idea !

But does the elderly cleaner know english well enough to attend course ... or the lecturer can converse well in Hokkien & Teochew ?

NTB2DO

your own citing from 4th paragraph:

"While Switzerland has no official minimum wage,a majority of the voluntary collective bargaining agreements contain clauses on minimum compensation"

it's kinda like PWM lah, government mandated but not legislated into the law for all industries.

eg; gov can reject cleaning business license if you pay cleaners too low.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/cleaning-sector

https://transferwise.com/gb/blog/minimum-wage-guide-switzerland

Which means PWM is really not much different from minimum wages, except that it's not comprehensive enough to cover ALL low wage workers, leading to 100k (4.3%) local workers earning lower-than-min wages.

And WP's proposal is addressing the inadequacy.

Which is why I cannot fathom why setting a minimum wage to ensure the remaining 4.3% were also taken care of would be such a big deal, like supposedly resulting in significant prices increases such that consumers have to pay more, etc.

SGMale

entire saf include navy airforce lah. each cohort of sinkies 40k, half of them male, 2yrs also 40k.

so can breakdown how u get 200k NSF? considered unemployed?

Wiki said 72k active leh. Before NS got 7 month jobless to wait for enlist. After NS, they go jobless again for 4 years uni. At least 200k jobless between 17 to 26 years old.

Misuta

Which is why I cannot fathom why setting a minimum wage to ensure the remaining 4.3% were also taken care of would be such a big deal, like supposedly resulting in significant prices increases such that consumers have to pay more, etc.

it hurts the least productive workers (say bottom 1%) while benefiting the more productive workers producing just above the min wage. our bottom 20% is already seeing a 40% real income growth.

focus1974

Actually why are there many EDMW so concerned about minimum wage?

Most of you are already earning more than the cleaners.

Billionaire Warren Buffett on helping the poor: ‘A rich family does not leave people behind’
Published Wed, Sep 5 201810:06 AM EDTUpdated Wed, Sep 5 201810:06 AM EDT

But people who fall by the wayside, through no fault of their own, as the goose lays more golden eggs, should still get a chance to participate in that prosperity. And that is where government comes in.”

The greatness of a man is not whether he has more, but whether he has giveb more to those who have lesser

Misuta

Wiki said 72k active leh. Before NS got 7 month jobless to wait for enlist. After NS, they go jobless again for 4 years uni. At least 200k jobless between 17 to 26 years old.

you sibei talk cock. might as well your australia have an unemployment rate of 20% if u count in those studying in uni? :s13:

NTB2DO

it hurts the least productive workers.

Firstly, does the 4.3% consist of most -if not all- of the least productive workers?

Secondly, does least productive workers not also presence in the industries covered by PWM?

ponpokku

Pruss 1 again,

What if minimum wage is implemented to all? Cost of living will go higher right? to implement or not both must have overall policy to balance it out ar but then i not expert so i just say say only.

so what if it ish implement to all? u think the other 90% earning more than $1300 will resign their current jobs and go back cheong the $1300 jobs? :s22:

lol.

Tony.Manero

The jobs jobs jobs thing i sense is quite delusional hence lose another grc. Mostly locals dont want to take up the jobs provided there.

It more like sell bbt, cisco guard, ambassadors, swabbers, temperature takers, macdonald job.
They want you to be grateful when they find you a Swabber job to replace the director position you just lost hor :vijayadmin:

spinning_quirK

Just donate more to charities.
Why not both?

Some are grateful to charities, some want to be able to stand on their own 2 feet and don't want to use charities as crutch. No right no wrong, but the idea is to cover most bases. Is this a bad thing to you?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.