• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

jgyy1990

If they make ft minimum wages equals 20 dollar an hour ah. Sure no employer wana hire ft liao.

widman01

personally i feel minimum wage is too simplistic. it just ends there. minimum wage doesnt solve problems. i do believe that progressive wage is better because it combines minimum wage PLUS helping them move up a ladder. minimum wage = okay you are at $1K good luck now survive. progressive wage is - you are at $1K, now you should go for training so you can move upwards and get more $ when you have higher productivity. i dont see anything wrong with it per se.

walao... personally think.

150+ countries already implement min wages, no bad effect. u which era one??

latest is hong kong 2011 i think.

brylimme

walao... personally think.

150+ countries already implement min wages, no bad effect. u which era one??

latest is hong kong 2011 i think.

actually there are articles all over the internet about why HK's minimum wage has made things worse. have a read, i like to have both sides of the story.

as i said, im not against minimum wage. but i find it too simplistic. so does implementing a minimum wage solve all our problems? i doubt it. i prefer a wage system that helps by setting a minimum per sector, then increasing the wages gradually with productivity gains and training. only this can we have sustainable wage increases and not a overly simplistic one-size fits all solution.

question to ponder - if you really believe in minimum wage - then what should Singapore's minimum wage be and how would you determine it? what happens when the figure you had in mind is too low or too high for employers to pay?

Kusanagi

employees would leave if they find that they are underpaid, but lets not forget that in singapore's current situation, there are more than enough labor to take over the place of the employee who resigned.

is this efficient?

look at HP, the new CEO was given 1 simple directive, make the company profitable. what he did was shut down RnD to reduce cost, sure the company was profitable.. for that year. but in the long run, how would a tech company survive without RnD?

in singapore's case, we always have people saying "oh, it would hurt our economy etc"

but are what we are doing natural? is natural selection such an awful thing?

perfect example would be post GFC, the QE1-3 right now sure has boosted the economy, however everyone is still in uncertainty because nobody know where the bad apples are.

if i were to give a hypothesis, it would be such that singapore right now thrives only on cheap labor with no care for productivity, something that will hurt us in the long run

One Month Notice

today also got report that the wage supplement scheme for increment . 73% of the sme will not pass the savings to employee

Before HK implement min wage, also many pp kpkp. now implement for so many months liao, did businesses go bust? did their economy cui because of min wage? No what! This is Whining-corporate style! :mad:

not to mention hk nowadays is cheaper than sg.

jgyy1990

employees would leave if they find that they are underpaid, but lets not forget that in singapore's current situation, there are more than enough labor to take over the place of the employee who resigned.

is this efficient?

look at HP, the new CEO was given 1 simple directive, make the company profitable. what he did was shut down RnD to reduce cost, sure the company was profitable.. for that year. but in the long run, how would a tech company survive without RnD?

in singapore's case, we always have people saying "oh, it would hurt our economy etc"

but are what we are doing natural? is natural selection such an awful thing?

perfect example would be post GFC, the QE1-3 right now sure has boosted the economy, however everyone is still in uncertainty because nobody know where the bad apples are.

if i were to give a hypothesis, it would be such that singapore right now thrives only on cheap labor with no care for productivity, something that will hurt us in the long run

This is simply called downsizing and i hate such employers.

daryl76

start from governing bodies la.. simi sai work now oso outsource

den open tender.. go for the cheapest price to get the job
end up win the tender but have to keep cost low to remain profitable.. of cos pay peanuts get cheap labour lo.. why cannot do themselves? why must outsource? ** government

brylimme

But sinkees must be more productive ma.

Gahmen has always stated productivity must increase.

agree. you cant blame businesses for thinking they way they do. i would too. that said, i am willing to give more to workers if there is productivity increase.

ProWelfare

agree. you cant blame businesses for thinking they way they do. i would too. that said, i am willing to give more to workers if there is productivity increase.

Justify productivity increase boss?

Working 8-5 have to be extended to 7-9 job? To justify the pay increase?

Or getting a machine to replace a 2 men job so that 1 man operating the machine can get the average of the 2-men job's pay?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.