One of the issues with allowing the market to run its course is that it will be vulnerable to market failure. One such scenario will be where firms underpay their workers, especially the low skilled.
In economics, if firms underpay workers, it contributes to allocative inefficiency and deadweight loss. The reverse whereby workers are overpaid also holds true.
Our current situation is such that low skilled workers are severely underpaid, so much that they have difficulty coping with surviving on such meagre salary. By implementing a minimum wage, it ensures that the low skilled workers are not being exploited, and that the market is Pareto efficient.
will a minimum wage lead to unemployment though? because employers now cannot afford to pay. i don't want my favourite hawker to close down if he cant hire anyone to help him.
then everything should be subject to free market forces as well
for example, employment passes should be subject to open bids from companies.
the highest bids that are offering the highest salaries get the permit.

Unfortunately, the greedy nature of us will just raise prices to combat minimum wage. You just have to pay more.
in short, all the greedy bosses will not be able to afford their luxury goods if minimum wages is implemented lar.
will a minimum wage lead to unemployment though? because employers now cannot afford to pay. i don't want my favourite hawker to close down if he cant hire anyone to help him.
lol ... so many govt monopolist in the economic and still tell us free market ? free his si lang tao lah
minimum wage should be implement carefully mainly on lower skill jobs to prevent those low skilled and lower educated people from getting exploited as they have lower bargaining power.
i am pretty sure at this point of time most of them are underpaid rather than overpaid of their market wages
So u admitting its all abt u la isit? So as long as u gt to eat what u want, u dun gv a shiat abt e underpaid employees?
MINIMUM WAGE should be enforce into those jobs that are hiring local retirees.
Companies like the gas stations, fast food and cleaning contractors offer very low pay and mininal cpf contribution for these retirees.
Their mthly take home pay range about 500-700 minus their transport and food...they are really living for day to day expenses with nothing left at the end of the day.
i really admire these retirees who work because they do not want to add burden to their kids families.
Our garment must really help especially these sector of our aged citizens.
personally i feel minimum wage is too simplistic. it just ends there. minimum wage doesnt solve problems. i do believe that progressive wage is better because it combines minimum wage PLUS helping them move up a ladder. minimum wage = okay you are at $1K good luck now survive. progressive wage is - you are at $1K, now you should go for training so you can move upwards and get more $ when you have higher productivity. i dont see anything wrong with it per se.
Unfortunately, the greedy nature of us will just raise prices to combat minimum wage. You just have to pay more.