• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Rhinehardt

How u define bare living expenses? What's the benchmark?

Is it only applied to Singaporean or can we extend this to places where we export our exploitation? We buy so much food from places like Vietnam, so much clothes from India and so many of these people are paid less than $1USD to keep cost of your goods low. Can we extend minimum price to them?

minimum price is for Singapore wage earners only la idiot.

According to this 2013 blog post a single requires at least 2k to survive on an extremely bare bones lifestyle. And, keep in mind, this was in 2013, if you account for 3-5% inflation every year it should be higher than 2k now.

"Singaporeans Need At Least $2,000 To Live Even A Basic Lifestyle In Singapore

So, all in, how much would Singaporeans need to earn so that they would have enough to save and retire (if they were to spend on the most basic things).

Based on my rough calculations, for a person who is single, he/she would need to earn at least $2,000 every month in order to be able to do so (Chart 15). And this is if he/she lives a very basic lifestyle, with no holidays, no further education and no upgrading."

https://thehearttruths.com/2013/08/02/how-much-do-you-need-to-earn-to-survive-in-singapore/

Rhinehardt

A plumber can be a well-paying and respected job in Australia, whereas a plumber in Singapore, has to deal with customers bargaining the cost of repair.

It's because of this sort of mentality which you people have that's why we don't have minimum wage and Govt and Companies continue to fuark us in this and other matters.

Min. wage = rising living cost = misinformation.

It's already rising rapidly now even without minimum wage.

30% of Singapore desperately needs the minimum wage.

minimal wagw won't work
now I employ 2 ice-cream boys to do work $10/hr
you put min wage $20/hr? can,easy wor. I just give them 1 week time to perform to their best lor. will fire the less performing one and keep the more efficient better worker.

you all sinkies ready for such fierce competition or not?:s8::s8:

ringrain_78

It's because of this sort of mentality which you people have that's why we don't have minimum wage and Govt and Companies continue to fuark us in this and other matters.

I do most of my repairs DIY - I definitely do not have the mentality that you think I had.

How many of us will tip a worker for a job well done? When we look for plumbers, locksmiths, don't we all look for the cheapest? Correct me if I am wrong.

If minimum wages are for the locals then what kind of jobs should qualify? Cashier in 7-11? MacD? If minimum wage kick in, they will start using self-ordering machines, no need to pay wages, then what will happen to our local employment?

Rhinehardt

Basically if you are business owner, you won't support minimum wage. On the other hand, if you are working for other, minimum wage favour you.

You want to pass costs to customers, customers sure kpkb one

Maybe they should start asking why rental cost is so high.

AyanoWalkenz

Between a worker vs a company. The company will always win. Is like they are the banker . Zheng ge will always win, min wage or not.

If chiu want to balance welfare. giving handout, GST rebate, transport voucher, food voucher is better. It may seems like giving chicken wing or it may actually be. However u see it, is still a better option.

Better yet, raise the criteria needed to receive handout or the amount.

Minimum wage should be implemented in places where it favour most Singaporeans. Implement it in the construction industry, those ah neh will become rich and your cost of house will just increase accordingly.

but then hor
another argument would be that once minimal wage put into all work area
sinkies would be attracted to do construction/waiter/factory worker willingly happily wor
do you believe sinkies as a group would do that like aussie?

Rhinehardt

I do most of my repairs DIY - I definitely do not have the mentality that you think I had.

How many of us will tip a worker for a job well done? When we look for plumbers, locksmiths, don't we all look for the cheapest? Correct me if I am wrong.

If minimum wages are for the locals then what kind of jobs should qualify? Cashier in 7-11? MacD? If minimum wage kick in, they will start using self-ordering machines, no need to pay wages, then what will happen to our local employment?

There will be more and more self-order machines whether there's a minimum wage or not.

Those cheap plumbers like bangla the skill and workmanship is usually horrible. Whereas Australia they went through proper training in trade school and usually good skill.

SGMale

There should be a minimum wage for expats and a maximum wage for sinkies. Can exploit sinkies gao gao with low pay. They no horse run.

Maybe they should start asking why rental cost is so high.

rental cost is high because greedy sinkies invest in REITS for >5%pa return:s13::s13:
told you all already sinkies bite sinkies is ruthless and cruel,whoever bought REITS to exploit fellow countrymen your bad karma awaits you in future,just live long to pay it back ok?:s8::s8:

Rhinehardt

area
sinkies would be attracted to do construction/waiter/factory worker willingly happily wor
do you believe sinkies as a group would do that like aussie?

When they start implementing minimum wages, and reasonable work hours like in Australia it will happen.

Rhinehardt

rental cost is high because greedy sinkies invest in REITS for >5%pa return:s13::s13:
told you all already sinkies bite sinkies is ruthless and cruel,whoever bought REITS to exploit fellow countrymen your bad karma awaits you in future,just live long to pay it back ok?:s8::s8:

Rental cost is high because the govt wants to play free market which is not the way to go.

Will not happen. Sinkies want to do construction work meh? That why minimum wage only favour ah neh.

Minimum wage should only be implement in office work. But then, MNC will runaway for sure haha

some sinkies claim hor,put min wage $25/hr like AUS
then don't need to study liao
12yo can go to work in construction site 8 hrs daily bring $200 home $6k a month hit CPF cap wor
then don't need to import FW to do construction work liao
then send all FW on work pass home liao,population drops back to 4.5M overnight:s13::s13::s13:

Rhinehardt

some sinkies claim hor,put min wage $25/hr like AUS
then don't need to study liao
12yo can go to work in construction site 8 hrs daily bring $200 home $6k a month hit CPF cap wor
then don't need to import FW to do construction work liao
then send all FW on work pass home liao,population drops back to 4.5M overnight:s13::s13::s13:

min wage is S$17.88 there lah.

Rhinehardt

Housing quality in question

Singapore HDB

yjceiling1.jpg

Rental cost is high because the govt wants to play free market which is not the way to go.

rental cost is high because REITS driving it higher and higher
foodcourt/HDB rental cost is still low cos gov keeps it minimal
minimal wage won't work for sinkie lar because sinkie are not self-driven to achieve excellence:o

ringrain_78

There will be more and more self-order machines whether there's a minimum wage or not.

Those cheap plumbers like bangla the skill and workmanship is usually horrible. Whereas Australia they went through proper training in trade school and usually good skill.

But do you foresee able-bodied Singapore who had hard luck, looking for a job in the current economy, applying to be a plumber? or a construction worker, or a bus driver? They will be trained for sure.

Will a minimum wage be that attractive? If it is, I am sure the cost of services should be higher to cover it, isn't it?

Rhinehardt

But do you foresee able-bodied Singapore who had hard luck, looking for a job in the current economy, applying to be a plumber? or a construction worker, or a bus driver? They will be trained for sure.

Will a minimum wage be that attractive? If it is, I am sure the cost of services should be higher to cover it, isn't it?

It's a fallacy that minimum wage = higher cost of living.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.