Should there be a minimum wage?

• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

GameTheory

still does not change the fact they will hire fw first. if dont have then hire sinkie. these jobs are not for sinkies anhway.. with or without min wage

name me 1 construction company that hires sinkies as majority and below min wage.

the fact is.. even if you have a few of such sinkie worker.. the increase is so insignificant to justify increase in cost. or you mean because you pay 300 more for each worker to meet min wage now you have to bid 20k more for each project?
that's why I'm saying these min wage (if as you suggested, implemented ONLY for locals), what's the point? when locals already earn above those level.

and if it's blanket for everyone, then it will only benefit the FW.

so conclusion is... don't waste time implementing this. Let the market forces dictate the wages, meritocracy

Linguist

Pappies ignore minimum wages but pay themselves high wages

TS obviously ignore that fact.

Some companies are exorbitant their employees. Earn high revenue but pay low.

Then meet crisis can complaint not enough capital to survive the crisis (cuz money enters into their pockets not in the business account what!)

regionmaster

You guys made the bed, now lie in it

Whole lot of SK dumbdumbs so easily kena scam by this phoney charlatan

sizzy6

that's why I'm saying these min wage (if as you suggested, implemented ONLY for locals), what's the point? when locals already earn above those level.

so conclusion is... don't waste time implementing this. Let the market forces dictate the wages, meritocracy

you didnt read the manifesto did you?

there are 100k people below the min wage. raising their wage to min wont have huge impact to a company.

it will be huge impact only if majority of your workers are current below min wage.. however these industries are already hiring fw. so.. what impact?

the point is.. sinkies are paid decently at least. just up abit from what they have now

alibababags

companies hire FW due to supply available at low wage, there is simply insufficient supply of Locals at X wage for Y job.
(sad but it's a fact, just like how Qatar and Emirates uses cheap labour from neighbouring country to build their stadiums)

e.g. if SG companies need 5,000 construction workers, how to find that amount of locals that are willing to accept the role at <2k per month? working under hot sun, dirty and dangerous

if there is sufficient demand for 5000 local construction workers, then there will definitely be demand.

see if the boss want higher profit margin or not.

how come japan germany can pay their construction workers higher and decent wages than ours?

ponpokku

companies hire FW due to supply available at low wage, there is simply insufficient supply of Locals at X wage for Y job.
(sad but it's a fact, just like how Qatar and Emirates uses cheap labour from neighbouring country to build their stadiums)

e.g. if SG companies need 5,000 construction workers, how to find that amount of locals that are willing to accept the role at <2k per month? working under hot sun, dirty and dangerous

work smart, make use of machineries instead of labour intensive, automate, use a grade progression system so that the locals see prospectives.

construction workers in japan even got their own fashion trend.

9c7251b83d6aa5b1a376caa3979faf64.jpg

tbm_20161205182925.jpg

alibababags

minimum wage is for the lowest earners in society. not people like you and me.

sCuzzZy

You guys made the bed, now lie in it

Whole lot of SK dumbdumbs so easily kena scam by this phoney charlatan

scam? how?

all i see is a politician engaging the public on plausible policy that will affect them.

I much rather prefer engagement then to have implementations forced down my throats without a tiny shred of transparency.

ponpokku

the reason why need fw is for jobs sinkie not doing and they are cheaper.

unless the min wage is set to really high like 3k.. sinkie wont work in certain sector

the thing is.. no job loss for sinkie even with min wage.. because companies cant do that with current quota.

we are not looking at eliminate ALL FWs. lol.

u see kopi soh, fast food chains, low lvl hotel staff, restaurant staff, mama shop assistants, so many FWs, sinkie dun want meh? ish basically becos wages are suppress so low that sinkies cannot survive. the time spent working in these places might not even cover their expenses.

all these can be at least partially eliminated when u let sinkies compete with them on a fair ground. raise the bar and bosses will reconsider.

megdang

you didnt read the manifesto did you?

there are 100k people below the min wage. raising their wage to min wont have huge impact to a company.

it will be huge impact only if majority of your workers are current below min wage.. however these industries are already hiring fw. so.. what impact?

the point is.. sinkies are paid decently at least. just up abit from what they have now

Then why would you not think that before minimum wage, there are 100k people below.

But after the minimum wage is applied, there are 50k are raised above or at the minimum wage, the rest 50k are jobless since the businesses want to cut cost and the skills of these 50k are not worth the minimum wage as well.

What chiu think?

hwmook

Because, lets say now the cleaners are earning below 1300. Or as what some EDMWers claim, 800/mth to 900/mth.

Then they should just quit the job and go for upskilling https://www.ntuclearninghub.com/sgunitedskills/
Course is paid using skills future and it pays them 1200 allowance a month.

Unless some edmwers here want to claim that upskilling requires more effort than working as a cleaner.

Then who work as cleaners? You? You are obviously a PAP IB with no common sense. Upgrade a dish washer to cleaner, upgrade cleaner to dish washer.

hwmook

What if currently the business has 3 staffs and pay 800/each, that means total salary is 2.4k/month. Then the min wage 1.3k apply, what would the business owner do?

Most likely he would fire 1 and only keep 2 with the new total salary is 2.6k/month and ask them to work harder with the new salary to cover the work of 3.

Then the guy were fired will become jobless which is even worst.

Then productivity will increase and 1 more worker will be able to go another company to be the cleaner so can reduce the FW in this country.

sCuzzZy

Then why would you not think that before minimum wage, there are 100k people below.

But after the minimum wage is applied, there are 50k are raised above or at the minimum wage, the rest 50k are jobless since the businesses want to cut cost and the skills of these 50k are not worth the minimum wage as well.

What chiu think?

not true. MW have very little correlation to an increase in unemployment tho. Generally the "incremental costs" would have been passed on.

the whole issue is, who wants to absorb these "costs".

Govt? (WP says budget neutral so it wouldn't be them)
Business owners?
Consumers? (be it retail or services)

pLueAr

the problem is not about the wages, it's about the middlemen (hiring company) in the process

imagine, if you have an app (GovTech) that helps the low wages workers to find the job rather than the middlemen

those profits will go directly to the low wages workers, right?

there is no need to raise the wages, we just need to remove the middlemen

by empowering workers like cleaners to be in an self-employed scheme, where they can draw higher salary and i am pretty sure that they prefer higher salary than 7 days of annual leave

need take leave, just take a few days off and continue again

this is just common sense :s22:

WC32890

Because, lets say now the cleaners are earning below 1300. Or as what some EDMWers claim, 800/mth to 900/mth.

Then they should just quit the job and go for upskilling https://www.ntuclearninghub.com/sgunitedskills/
Course is paid using skills future and it pays them 1200 allowance a month.

Unless some edmwers here want to claim that upskilling requires more effort than working as a cleaner.

Thos i agree and fully support. But the downside is FW will also enjoy the min wage

otaku7

knn.... ban ts... post something and then run road...
don't even have the balls to discuss what he posted...

Posted from PCWX using EVR-L29

GameTheory

not true. MW have very little correlation to an increase in unemployment tho. Generally the "incremental costs" would have been passed on.

the whole issue is, who wants to absorb these "costs".

Govt? (WP says budget neutral so it wouldn't be them)
Business owners?
Consumers? (be it retail or services)
not the general public for sure.

Do locals really want $15 cai fan/wonton mee? like eating out in Australia/Europe etc.

theMKR

It will only benefit you if you are a cleaner or making $1000 a month. It actually DOES NOT benefit most of us because we will be paying higher price for products. Imagine wanton mee costing $10. I dont understand why TS is so stoopig?

if u cleaner and u never go for the NTUC upskilling to get allowance which is $200 more than your pay, moi BWG.... :s22::s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.