• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Poomer

You just wanna talk about minimum wage but don't wanna discuss about the cost. How is this even a discussion? Just begin unreasonable mah. You should cover all angles from demand supply and price tio bo?

As a consumer I gotta right to know if any party implement minimum wage what's the impact on the price mah. I paying more paying less paying more tax paying more GST etc etc etc... the possible effects go on. Like that then can discussion must have analysis.

DON'T ANYHOW ISSUE BLANK CHEQUE LAH... *face palm*

I think you confuse politics with a company's profits.

Implementing the minimum wage will likely translate to more cost for companies. Whether they want to pass on the cost though is entirely up to them.The last time I checked. prices did not lower when we imported 2 million foreigners, which mean the cost savings then were not passed to consumers. I dont see how cost increases now can be passed on the consumers unless the ruling party is encouraging companies to privatise the profits and socialise the cost.

sizzy6

minimum wage wouldn't benefit locals at all

It will primarily benefit those low wage temp migrant workers...

Unless of course you raise the min wage to ridiculously high level, in which case, businesses will collapse

like how ? min wage is for singaporeans only why everyone thinks its for every worker in sg ?

ponpokku

based on the proposal .. min wage for singaporeans only

you cannot abuse and switch to foreigner due to WP quota

the only reason they hire sinkie is because no quota .. if they can switch they would have switch .. with or without min wage

even with quota u still see coys flouting it every now and then. :s22::s22:

the FW ecosystem ish unsustainable for normal sinkies. only white dogs and biz owners huat big big.

GameTheory

Repeating what I said in the other thread:

Minimum wage would NOT benefit locals at all
It will primarily benefit those low-wage temp migrant workers...
How many of us here earn <= $1.2k?

Unless... you raise the min wage to ridiculously high level, in which case, businesses will collapse, then unemployment will skyrocket too

ponpokku

like how ? min wage is for singaporeans only why everyone thinks its for every worker in sg ?

min wage will have to expand to all de. all nations doing min wage ish like that. u dun see FW competing with their locals uneccessarily.

their local coys will only switch to FW when really no one takes up the job.

soarer

It will only benefit you if you are a cleaner or making $1000 a month. It actually DOES NOT benefit most of us because we will be paying higher price for products. Imagine wanton mee costing $10. I dont understand why TS is so stoopig?

NS_Hippo

People can easily circumvent that by engaging part time staff instead of full time staff? Also, that said, how does overseas country calculate the min wage for part time staff? Aus for one i know pay mcdonalds staff ard 20 ish aussie dollar per hr

sizzy6

Don't take about increasing cost with a min. Wage? If pay at min. Wage, cost won't increased? I armchio Liao.

To an employer, your cost will increase when garment impose a min. Wage. They can either pass on the cost or just reduce employees or absorb the cost. Long run, biz not efficient will fold up. Hopefully rent will reduce as lesser ppl want to rent. Mkt will start to adjust by itself.

But the leakage is the FW policy. Employers will just hire more FW and reduce sinkies.

Min. Wage is more of showing humanity to low wage workers. Some ppl earn few hundreds in this high cost cty. Whole Singapore might experience higher cost initially but garment will also give out lesser monetary assistance to these ppl.

But garment will lose out hor. Lesser levy to collect! Do garment publish how much levy they collected annually?

your s&cc fees keep increasing.. did the town council pay min wage to the fw? or did the contractor increase their wage so much that demanded an increase?

Poomer

minimum wage wouldn't benefit locals at all

It will primarily benefit those low wage temp migrant workers...

Unless of course you raise the min wage to ridiculously high level, in which case, businesses will collapse

We are all talking about minimum wage for Singaporeans. Seems like those who talk about min wage for FW are derailing this conversation.

The main purpose of the minimum wage is to ensure that Singaporeans earn a living wage and do not go into poverty. It is unfair to ask Singaporeans to compete with foreigners in terms of wages when we have a family of Singaporeans to upkeep while the foreigner earns SGD and uses it to support his family living in some backawater village in China, India, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines.

ponpokku

How competitive can a business be if it has to employ lowly educated persons by the truckload from the region to the extend that such practices are hailed by the international community as exploitation.

all those are tiong/**** mindset bosses. they can be locals but their mindset ish like that. these are the coys that need to upgrade or uprooted.

rEe_TaN

so fast show his true colors alr.

minimum wage is not to give the lower paid employees more money or higher salaries, but to ensure that they are a paid a fair wage

this is recognized by everyone who is talking for or against minimum wage.

the PAP has talked and discussed minimum wages before in parliament and even the newspapers has discussed about it before.

but there has NEVER been any discussion about, if the "cost" of increasing wages should be transferred to the consumer, or anyone besides the employer - simply because it should never be a question about WHO TO TRANSFER THE COST TO

what minimum wage does is to make it illegal to pay your employees a wage that does not allow them to live properly

this is why minimum wage is called minimum wage. it is the lowest amount that an employee can pay their workers.

dun come talk about "increasing costs" simply because if you are paying your employees minimum or above minimum wage, your costs would not have increased at all!

if you are paying your employees below minimum wage, then YOU need to pay your employees more.

even the PAP is able to recognise this and they themselves have stated that singapore does not have minimum wage because it would be set so low that it would be make setting a minimum redundant!

source https://www.ilo.org/global/topics/wages/minimum-wages/definition/WCMS_439072/lang--en/index.htm

https://www.todayonline.com/big-read/perennial-debate-singapore-minimum-wage

https://www.pap.org.sg/news/ge2020-news/why-no-minimum-wage/

Im not a economist but what you talk is completely BS and make no sense at all.

You smoking weed?

GameTheory

doesn't make sense though... if a company is looking for a cleaner, foreign worker no min wage vs local worker min wage, of course they'll choose to hire foreigners

unless of course you are suggesting even more red tapes (like Levy etc. to further discourage hiring of cheaper labor), that will stifle the local businesses even further, especially on construction and cleaning industries

Question is... does locals even want to do those construction worker job? or toilet cleaner jobs? if there is severe lack of supply, business costs will skyrocket, then economy couldn't function well either

woolff

Yah. Many boss here come in kpkb rejecting minimum wages. Yah right. One up for you.

iamBBFA

Pap seems like the opposition here
Instead of leejecting the idea, shouldn't we make a better policy?

Sent from Donkey Kong using GAGT

sizzy6

min wage will have to expand to all de. all nations doing min wage ish like that. u dun see FW competing with their locals uneccessarily.

their local coys will only switch to FW when really no one takes up the job.

thats why got quota to control so you cannot fire the sinkie and hire 100% fw to save cost mah

right now companies will hire fw if they can anyway.. no loss to locals with or without min wage

not like they will prefer to hire sinkie if there is no min wage in place.

broad based min wage might not work in sg society because all selfish esp the middle class. can buy car buy house go holiday buy kopi increase 10 cents they kpkb.

gov increase this and that but they v happy vote also

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.