you are basically saying that minimum wage will cause employers to fire their employees and go self service and maybe invest in more automation?![]()
I'm saying they are already doing that whether or not there is min wage.
you are basically saying that minimum wage will cause employers to fire their employees and go self service and maybe invest in more automation?![]()
Manufacturing is still central to the Singapore's economy.
If there is a minimum wage, I think all the manufacturing plants have to close down and a lot of engineers will go out of jobs.
S pass minimum is S$2200. I have spoken to Filipina s pass holders, they claim only paid 1.9k per month, but employer fraudulently obtained s pass by submitting a 2.2k payslip for a certain period, before recouping the sums from subsequent wages.

UK minimum wage £8.20 per hour. Those fellas actually pay quite substantial income tax and national insurance. I spoke to a lot of staff in London, they admit they struggle on such a low wage. Meanwhile, the poorest Singaporeans on SGD$6 per hour still enjoying their cheap cai png and occasional chicken rice.

Please give ur valued inputs and explain why it is not feasible cause I am for minimum wage.
btw, i am all for no minimum wage and flat tax structure, but implement inheritance tax.
i work much harder than my staff, spend lesser than them. but still have networth way lesser than them.
becos they inherited a ~400/500k hdb flat, while i got an amount which cant pay for my ppty stamp duty
the current tax structure is preserving old money and restricting social mobility.
The minimum wage discussion in SG context is more abt pro business environment rather than social welfare.
SG has to appear to be business friendly to attract foreign investments. Social welfare is tackled thru industry specific schemes, like hw certified security guards and cleaners hv their own minimum wage schemes.
Please give ur valued inputs and explain why it is not feasible cause I am for minimum wage.
Dignity is only for the rich and powerful in Singapore.
Rank and file workers don't deserve it.
"If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals. Hence, a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity."
- MP Lim Wee Kiak apologises for comments on pay
[IMG URL]![]()
Worshipping $$$:
https://amp.ibtimes.co.uk/singapore-pm-lee-hsien-loong-remains-highest-paid-country-leader-1-7m-annual-salary-1493952![]()
Now...
The pay level for world leaders is really meaningless. Do you honestly believe Xi or Putin has control to less wealth than lhl?
Why compare to Putin or Winnie Xi when US president (POTUS) has next highest pay?
In any case, the top job should be considered a privilege and guy at the helm should just do his term or handful and move on and earn $$$ by public speaking and selling books thereafter or like GCT, maybe hang around a bit but don't micromanage the parliament like a fiefdom etc.
Think the Clinton's earned more $$$ giving speeches and from book royalties than from misusing their political appointment.
(Emphasis mine.) Yes, exactly. For some time now it has been possible to lodge a single application with the Ministry of Manpower for EP then S Pass consideration.2600 qualify for ep or s-pass
No, it's now $2,300/month. For S Pass applications lodged from January 1, 2020, it'll be $2,400/month.S pass minimum is S$2200.
Yes, that's illegal under the Employment Act. Those S Pass holders would be well advised to file a complaint with the Ministry of Manpower. They may be eligible for back pay, and they can remain anonymous to their employer.I have spoken to Filipina s pass holders, they claim only paid 1.9k per month, but employer fraudulently obtained s pass by submitting a 2.2k payslip for a certain period, before recouping the sums from subsequent wages.
i am against minimum wages.
1) minimum wages will only help the FW/FT, other MOM policies like workpro can help sinkies instead.
2) increasing wages will not motivate coys like SME to turn to alternative solutions like automation, as the CAPEX is extremely high, SME have cashflow problem one leh. Schemes like PIC/PSG is a better scheme.
3) minimum wages will make employers more selective. then you have those "lousier" workers jobless, then what do they do?
fug minimum wages. just increase GST to 20% as it is the most fair.
Let's make it minimum wages $15 per hour.
S$15 x 8hr = S$120/day.
S$120 x 26day = S$3,120.00/month
Thus, no need waste time to study ITE, Poly.
I support.
Sent from Mercedes-Benz E250 using GAGT
Let's make it minimum wages $15 per hour.
S$15 x 8hr = S$120/day.
S$120 x 26day = S$3,120.00/month
Thus, no need waste time to study ITE, Poly.
I support.
Sent from Mercedes-Benz E250 using GAGT