• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

RMCWMR

you are basically saying that minimum wage will cause employers to fire their employees and go self service and maybe invest in more automation? :s13:

I'm saying they are already doing that whether or not there is min wage.

d9_lives

My colleague is a hardcore social justice warrior. He's all for min. Wage.

Then he kpkb about his helper's salary, caipeng and recent kfc price increase, grabfood del.fee, and inflation.
Smlj...whiny Sam... **** him.

theMKR

Manufacturing is still central to the Singapore's economy.

If there is a minimum wage, I think all the manufacturing plants have to close down and a lot of engineers will go out of jobs.

Doesnt matter, most "engineers" and "opoerators" are not sinkies anyway.

S pass minimum is S$2200. I have spoken to Filipina s pass holders, they claim only paid 1.9k per month, but employer fraudulently obtained s pass by submitting a 2.2k payslip for a certain period, before recouping the sums from subsequent wages.

no comment;)
so assuming its true, by extension it will work on s-pass, employment pass ("3,600") and dependent pass (6,000) :s11:
:D

UK minimum wage £8.20 per hour. Those fellas actually pay quite substantial income tax and national insurance. I spoke to a lot of staff in London, they admit they struggle on such a low wage. Meanwhile, the poorest Singaporeans on SGD$6 per hour still enjoying their cheap cai png and occasional chicken rice.

Becos most sinkies are surviving on "Old money", these people live in their parents flat and leech off.

$6/hr go rent a hdb room for $700/mth see how squeezed they will be.

you are basically saying that minimum wage will cause employers to fire their employees and go self service and maybe invest in more automation? :s13:

if human which is near $0 capex, and the OPEX is cheaper than machine, why would employers invest in machines? :s11:

theMKR

btw, i am all for no minimum wage and flat tax structure, but implement inheritance tax.

i work much harder than my staff, spend lesser than them. but still have networth way lesser than them.

becos they inherited a ~400/500k hdb flat, while i got an amount which cant pay for my ppty stamp duty :s22:

the current tax structure is preserving old money and restricting social mobility.

occifer

Please give ur valued inputs and explain why it is not feasible cause I am for minimum wage.

It is feasible but most people, including government are not interested in helping the poor like u are.

If anything, they seem to want wages to remain low and rental to go up to benefit landlords.... The people making these decisions may very well be landlords too lol.

btw, i am all for no minimum wage and flat tax structure, but implement inheritance tax.

i work much harder than my staff, spend lesser than them. but still have networth way lesser than them.

becos they inherited a ~400/500k hdb flat, while i got an amount which cant pay for my ppty stamp duty :s22:

the current tax structure is preserving old money and restricting social mobility.

Inheritance tax makes no sense. We are a tax haven. We want to attract rich people to stay here and invest here.

People relocate money here to escape taxes lol.

Instead, increase salary for those earninfg less and let them earn better.

Sent from myphone using GAGT

yoongf

The minimum wage discussion in SG context is more abt pro business environment rather than social welfare.

SG has to appear to be business friendly to attract foreign investments. Social welfare is tackled thru industry specific schemes, like hw certified security guards and cleaners hv their own minimum wage schemes.

Aion99

The minimum wage discussion in SG context is more abt pro business environment rather than social welfare.

SG has to appear to be business friendly to attract foreign investments. Social welfare is tackled thru industry specific schemes, like hw certified security guards and cleaners hv their own minimum wage schemes.

All this just employers excuses to have more profits lah, by squeezing the lower rank workers, nothing abt biz environment. we all know gov is one of the largest employers in sg. Lets say min wage is 1.5k, definitely less than 10% of local citizens will be affected. Employers just need to reduce dividends abit to shareholders, or maybe instead of 8 months bonuses given to top management, give 7 months instead. You will be surprised that those top management salaries just cut one month bonus maybe sufficient to feed all low rank workers to min wage.

cherry6

Please give ur valued inputs and explain why it is not feasible cause I am for minimum wage.

The higher the maximum wage, the more unlikely that minimum wage will happen. So please stop dreaming.

ST23Mar2007-%2BWhy%2Bpay%2Bmust%2Bgo%2Bup.JPG

MKdtrIcl.jpg
https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2018/08/10/esm-gohs-1m-criterion-deems-all-first-world-leaders-too-mediocre-to-become-pap-ministers/

theMKR

i am against minimum wages.

1) minimum wages will only help the FW/FT, other MOM policies like workpro can help sinkies instead.

2) increasing wages will not motivate coys like SME to turn to alternative solutions like automation, as the CAPEX is extremely high, SME have cashflow problem one leh. Schemes like PIC/PSG is a better scheme.

3) minimum wages will make employers more selective. then you have those "lousier" workers jobless, then what do they do?

fug minimum wages. just increase GST to 20% as it is the most fair.

cherry6

Dignity is only for the rich and powerful in Singapore.

Rank and file workers don't deserve it.

"If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals. Hence, a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity."
- MP Lim Wee Kiak apologises for comments on pay
YqUYU.jpg
[IMG URL]

Worshipping $$$:
nbWLsAe.gif

chartoftheday_3350_Pay_Levels_Of_World_Leaders_In_Perspective_n.jpg
https://amp.ibtimes.co.uk/singapore-pm-lee-hsien-loong-remains-highest-paid-country-leader-1-7m-annual-salary-1493952

Now...
Stop-Talking-Politics.jpg

At the end of the day:

PWNU1YU.jpg

fzhfzh

Dignity is only for the rich and powerful in Singapore.

Rank and file workers don't deserve it.

"If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals. Hence, a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity."
- MP Lim Wee Kiak apologises for comments on pay
YqUYU.jpg
[IMG URL]

Worshipping $$$:
nbWLsAe.gif

chartoftheday_3350_Pay_Levels_Of_World_Leaders_In_Perspective_n.jpg
https://amp.ibtimes.co.uk/singapore-pm-lee-hsien-loong-remains-highest-paid-country-leader-1-7m-annual-salary-1493952

Now...
Stop-Talking-Politics.jpg

The pay level for world leaders is really meaningless. Do you honestly believe Xi or Putin has control to less wealth than lhl?

cherry6

The pay level for world leaders is really meaningless. Do you honestly believe Xi or Putin has control to less wealth than lhl?

Why compare to Putin or Winnie Xi when US president (POTUS) has next highest pay?

In any case, the top job should be considered a privilege and guy at the helm should just do his term or handful and move on and earn $$$ by public speaking and selling books thereafter or like GCT, maybe hang around a bit but don't micromanage the parliament like a fiefdom etc.

Think the Clinton's earned more $$$ giving speeches and from book royalties than from misusing their political appointment.

fzhfzh

Why compare to Putin or Winnie Xi when US president (POTUS) has next highest pay?

In any case, the top job should be considered a privilege and guy at the helm should just do his term or handful and move on and earn $$$ by public speaking and selling books thereafter or like GCT, maybe hang around a bit but don't micromanage the parliament like a fiefdom etc.

Think the Clinton's earned more $$$ giving speeches and from book royalties than from misusing their political appointment.

Look up wealth of each US president before and after presidency. They make a lot more money from their political clout than their pay. Their pay is just for show. Trump's private jet costs in a few weeks already way more than lhl's yearly wage. Heck even senators make tens or hundreds of times lhl's pay from lobbying income.

People are willing to pay millions to listen to Clinton talk, because he has tons of valuable information being leader of the most powerful country in the world. Who's going to pay millions to listen to lhl speak? Korean president don't get paid a lot like China, look what happened to the previous president and bribery? A few million a year is really actually peanuts in perspective to how much impact they will have on the country.

BBCWatcher

2600 qualify for ep or s-pass
(Emphasis mine.) Yes, exactly. For some time now it has been possible to lodge a single application with the Ministry of Manpower for EP then S Pass consideration.

S pass minimum is S$2200.
No, it's now $2,300/month. For S Pass applications lodged from January 1, 2020, it'll be $2,400/month.

Existing S Pass holders are not immediately affected when the minimum fixed monthly salary is raised, so there are still some S Pass holders at the $2,200/month level. A one year S Pass renewal at the previous salary level can be permitted (but doesn't have to be -- the Ministry of Manpower has absolute discretion) if the renewal application is lodged within the first 6 months after a hike.

I have spoken to Filipina s pass holders, they claim only paid 1.9k per month, but employer fraudulently obtained s pass by submitting a 2.2k payslip for a certain period, before recouping the sums from subsequent wages.
Yes, that's illegal under the Employment Act. Those S Pass holders would be well advised to file a complaint with the Ministry of Manpower. They may be eligible for back pay, and they can remain anonymous to their employer.

Merg91

Why is Cherry66, like many edmw kia, unhappy about ministers' pay in this small red dot?
There are few capable /willing to run when private sector is less stressful & more monetary reward.

Filthy rich Trump loves the power & obviously Putin /
Xi love the fame & power.
They may say they love serving their countries. Lol

70% is happy for sure how Singapore is being run.

mummy1234

Perhaps government just want to warn us that is important to study hard and smart and work in a job that u r passionate about , save money and invest well for a good retirenent. If not when old and elderly, we may end uo the same.

But I think there r certain disadvantaged groups who don't like to or cannot study like autistic kids, pple with mental disabilities and other physical disabilities .

There r welfare schemes available for them and medisave and shield and most importantly medifund.

One reason why 18 chefs is so popular is because of the yellow ribbon project.

We can only hope their family and community helps out too.

Spirit of generosity and kindness amongst fellow Sgpn is important like what the government terms many helping hands approach.

So if u see a blind or handicapped basker in Orchard Road singing or playing music, I hope everyone will have a heart to donate directly to him and not turn a blind eye.

I do donation to them sometimes too directly by giving the money to them or buying tissues from those in hawker centres.

Give what u can.

Thx for the discussion thus far, helps me in my understanding a bit.

I understand the snowball and inflation effects that a minimum wage might bring better now.

But with raised gst, the middle class citizens and lower class citizens r really feeling the pain esp those in 40 or 50s with young children and elderly parents who suddenly lose job or fall sick. Employers mostly want cheap workers from overseas. Fellow Singaporeans have to learn how to swim to keep afloat by driving grab or uber or doing food deliveries. But I think many in Generation X, my generation r drowning and looking for a lifeline

P R N D

Let's make it minimum wages $15 per hour.

S$15 x 8hr = S$120/day.

S$120 x 26day = S$3,120.00/month

Thus, no need waste time to study ITE, Poly.

I support.

Sent from Mercedes-Benz E250 using GAGT

mummy1234

i am against minimum wages.

1) minimum wages will only help the FW/FT, other MOM policies like workpro can help sinkies instead.

2) increasing wages will not motivate coys like SME to turn to alternative solutions like automation, as the CAPEX is extremely high, SME have cashflow problem one leh. Schemes like PIC/PSG is a better scheme.

3) minimum wages will make employers more selective. then you have those "lousier" workers jobless, then what do they do?

fug minimum wages. just increase GST to 20% as it is the most fair.

Serious or not, raise GST to 20%??? Sg already one of the wealthiest and most expensive city in the world.
Raising GST too much will worsen inflation wouldn't it as everything will then costs more.

You must be a ASK to say that. Think of the common man on the street please.

mummy1234

S$15 x 8hr = S$120/day.

I support.

Hmm, Sg compulsory education only up to sec school I think.

mummy1234

S$15 x 8hr = S$120/day.

I support.

ITE and poly r important as they skill u for work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.