• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

bakuten

Workfare = everybody chip in abit to topup low wage earner salary.

Min wage = companies forkout extra money above market rate.

Ppl calling for min wage basically unwilling to chip in abit for their own belief in paying low wage workers more.

They just want to virtue signal....ask somebody else to pay for their own beliefs. Shows u how much heart they really have for the low wage earner.

All talk but no action.

Ubi-Warrior

Surely best is to be able to get folk in as cheap as possible to keep prices down.

Why folk like to see folk struggling just so they can have "good life"

Sent from An Alternative Viewpoint On Life using GAGT

sizzy6

Then why would you not think that before minimum wage, there are 100k people below.

But after the minimum wage is applied, there are 50k are raised above or at the minimum wage, the rest 50k are jobless since the businesses want to cut cost and the skills of these 50k are not worth the minimum wage as well.

What chiu think?

lol.. again flawed

say with min wage you wan to fire the sinkie right.. but you still need people to do the job what.. so you hire who?

FW!! thats the answer you probably gonna give. go read my past replies. if a comlany can hire fw and have enough quota.. they wont hire the sinkie already. the reason why they hire locals is either the job requires or they dont have enough quota.. and these requirements are there with or without min wage

your argument only stands if companies PREFER to hire locals first before FW and because of min wage they reverse their decision. while we can say that for higher positions but definitely not in the low wage sectors.

try remove quota.. u see without minw age companies still hire fw. thats why there is quota.. so companies cannot just fire and replace locals. else want quota for what?

1 end you implement quota then you say if u implement minw age suddenly yohr quota will disappear?

Kumgong

not the general public for sure.

Do locals really want $12 cai fan/wonton mee? like eating out in Australia/Europe etc.

Last time got one guy on fb proudly say hawker food should be $10 - $15 because it is WORLD CLASS and got UNESCO heritage award blah blah

Looks like it will become reality Liao...

One Month Notice

Eh ts. Pap also got min wage scheme leh.

Its call progressive wage model.

Can u go bomb ur master too.

Seriously . Is being dense one of the key criteria for supporting PAP

Ubi-Warrior

so fast show his true colors alr.

minimum wage is not to give the lower paid employees more money or higher salaries, but to ensure that they are a paid a fair wage

this is recognized by everyone who is talking for or against minimum wage.

the PAP has talked and discussed minimum wages before in parliament and even the newspapers has discussed about it before.

but there has NEVER been any discussion about, if the "cost" of increasing wages should be transferred to the consumer, or anyone besides the employer - simply because it should never be a question about WHO TO TRANSFER THE COST TO

what minimum wage does is to make it illegal to pay your employees a wage that does not allow them to live properly

this is why minimum wage is called minimum wage. it is the lowest amount that an employee can pay their workers.

dun come talk about "increasing costs" simply because if you are paying your employees minimum or above minimum wage, your costs would not have increased at all!

if you are paying your employees below minimum wage, then YOU need to pay your employees more.

even the PAP is able to recognise this and they themselves have stated that singapore does not have minimum wage because it would be set so low that it would be make setting a minimum redundant!

source https://www.ilo.org/global/topics/wages/minimum-wages/definition/WCMS_439072/lang--en/index.htm

https://www.todayonline.com/big-read/perennial-debate-singapore-minimum-wage

https://www.pap.org.sg/news/ge2020-news/why-no-minimum-wage/

Can call it "Living Wage" instead?

evildoer

i explained in another thread.. working in cleaning and landscape industry. we are paying $1300 for cleaners

i think the problem is these job like cleaner and dishwasher are not exactly doing by youngster.. Nowadays even you did not complete your primary school education, you still should be able to understand/speak simple English.. for them getting a job in a retail (handphone/Snack shop assistance) isn't that difficult.. and i believe a sales assistance should be already earning above $1200 benchmark which we might set for min wages... so we do not need to worry about them now...

But those are doing cleaner and dishwasher.. are in their 60+ , some without any education background.. u tell them go skill future and WSQ and get a next level job.. They can still study at that age or not ? So if they really can pick up "excel" skill , who would want to employ them ?

It's a dead end for them anyway

i kind of think for Progressive wages for cleaner.. You send them to course to upgrade

if the premises require 3 cleaners to maintain daily.. at the end of the day it's still a 3 cleaners Job.. it's only the quality of their cleaning may improve and that also depend on individual weather if are willing to put in effort to do the cleaning... u cannot expect the them to up their productivity by 1.5 times after the course they can cover more area. then i can retrench one of them ... As management maybe u can renegotiate the cleaning contact by justify the cleaning had improved.. many clients would just brushed you off saying "still 3 cleaners job"

Some job just need to weight individually ...

maybe there is no solution for this

Ubi-Warrior

Last time got one guy on fb proudly say hawker food should be $10 - $15 because it is WORLD CLASS and got UNESCO heritage award blah blah

Looks like it will become reality Liao...

You happy folk get paid fck all so you can have cheap food issit?

traderF35

I think you confuse politics with a company's profits.

Implementing the minimum wage will likely translate to more cost for companies. Whether they want to pass on the cost though is entirely up to them.The last time I checked. prices did not lower when we imported 2 million foreigners, which mean the cost savings then were not passed to consumers. I dont see how cost increases now can be passed on the consumers unless the ruling party is encouraging companies to privatise the profits and socialise the cost.

My point is I'm coming from neutral side. I'm not saying minimum wage is good or bad. But the argument must cover all angles from demand supply to price. But my gut feel is cost will definitely increase mah. Tio bo? Then who absorp the cost??? You raise $1 sinkies will kpkb. Then I absorp the cost??? Government pay??? Then money fall from sky izzit??? Then 9% GST more kpkb. It's a double whammy loh. That why I said DON'T ANYHOW ISSUE BLANK CHEQUES...

sCuzzZy

Do locals really want $15 cai fan/wonton mee? like eating out in Australia/Europe etc.

that's just exaggeration lah haha.

I think it boils down to would you be willing to pay 20c more per cup of kopi, or 50c more per packet of cigarettes to raise the living standard of these 100k people. Hypothetical numbers of cos, I can't really tell you how much the incremental costs would be but the increase in wages doesnt represent a direct increase in cost.

One Month Notice

Do locals really want $15 cai fan/wonton mee? like eating out in Australia/Europe etc.

pls lah. If the min wage does not support cost of 15 cai fan. The shop will just close. In aus . Our staff pack their own lunch. Its just a way of life. Ppl and supply will change their way according.

Is eating out so important? Or is the ability to save and build up retirement fund more important ?

Ur example is just extreme sia.

GameTheory

You happy folk get paid fck all so you can have cheap food issit?

singapore's cost of living is already inflated due to higher groceries (imported), private housing and vehicle cost, our saving grace is cheaper hawker food.

Take that away, and make it equal to Aus/EU dine-in price, then how can the locals tahan?

evildoer

here's about the minimum wages

Economist calculate the poverty line is $1200/mth

A dishwasher aunty in her 60 work 6 days a week 8 hrs a day drawing $900 salaries .. with minimum wage u can enforce the company to pay her $1200 to get her out of poverty ..
So extra $300 who paid ~ that the debate : do the company pay or gahment pay by reducing business taxes or pass the increase to consumer .
And we are likely to pass the cost to the consumer .. which mean ur coffee shop meal will increase ...

If we don’t have minimum wages , business will usually employ lower cost to maximize profit .. there is where foreigner worker come in .. the boss will have to count weather to employ local aunty or get a foreigner worker who willing to work cheaper . So the aunty have to agree to work at $900 or else How would she compete with the foreign worker Who is younger and willing to take much less .

So that aunty could never able to get out of poverty

So we ask ourselves - do we want our mee pok to cost extra 50 cents ?
No we probably would do not want cost to go up ... the aunty can stay poor none of my fault .. everything in Singapore is already expensive ..

How are we going to solved this ...?

We just have to drag for another 30 years pretend no such problem exist .. when gen y replace them .. they should be higher educated .. may able to find job with that pay higher when they are older .. let all dishwasher be foreign workers

One Month Notice

U all keep talking abt minimum wage but does it apply to maids and foreign workers??

It depends on how it's roll out. U can exclude it. Mom has a progressive wage model for security sector and cleaner which is a min wage that target specific industry.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/security-sector

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.