• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

otaku7

come on... there's different ways to do these. key is to discuss and adapt our approach. not saying pap is not right or wp is correct.

main thing is, pap calls it progressive wage model... some others fight for minimum wage, some fight for universal basic income... all these are some form in a way or another similar to each other. adopting a single model may or may not suit Singapore. even those who argue that the pap version, using progressive wage model is better. but doesn't mean we should keep looking to refine it and integrate some methods amongst the different types.

Posted from PCWX using EVR-L29

One Month Notice

singapore's cost of living is already inflated due to higher groceries (imported), private housing and vehicle cost, our saving grace is cheaper hawker food.

Take that away, and make it equal to Aus/EU dine-in price, then how can the locals tahan?

Hello. 80% of our population stay in hdb and only 10% has car

Simi ******* excuse sia hahahah

pureice

aiyo no need quarrel on this. PAP has a psuedo minimum wage for specific sector. This guy is smoking for a blanket minimum wage. He just copies PAP and expand a bit. There are definately costs involve, he haven explain, and also whats the advantage against the current Workfare?

Just go look at MOM data as at June 2019: there are total 28K(citizens +pr) people drawing monthly gross less than 1k. 10 k in age group 15-24, 14k over 40 years old. So if your end goal is to help these guys.

implementing a higher labour cost (you think you help them), will biz dont hire interns/young apprentices (15 -24 years old) and older workers ( 40s onward) ? even got 1k workers in 70s age grp. Will companies still wan to hire this group?

Talk is cheap la~ but this kind of populist welfare policies, should be handle with care and action with good data. Once you implement, actual lives are affected and also hard to take back (lose votes). Dont let this jamus guy come and smoke u with populist theories

coldish

not the general public for sure.

Do locals really want $15 cai fan/wonton mee? like eating out in Australia/Europe etc.

This is a stupid excuse.
That wont happen even min wage rolls out.
Unless u are eating wonton mee from crystal jade or some Michelin resturants.

sharpsnapper

Let me give some real numbers.

The WP says there are more than 100,000 Singaporeans who earn a take-home pay of less than $1,300 a month while engaged in full-time work.

There were 2.33 million residents in the labour force as of June 2019, comprising 1.97 million Singaporeans and 360,000 PRs. Jan 23, 2020

Important number is 1.97 million Singaporeans.

Minimum wage is only for low income Singaporeans. This is to benefit 0.05% to 0.1% out of 1.97 million Singaporeans. Many of you think that your coffee, chicken rice and fast food prices all go up. Go and think harder what is the overall composition of business cost compare to the wages of low income workers.

One Month Notice

ok I rest my case, you are too "noble" lol

I still like my cheap hawker :D

simi noble. Our house and car already jack up gao gao. 200% more than anywhere in the world. A stupid Toyota cost 20k in Australia cost 100k in singapore. That's a 80k difference. U can eat how many plates of $15 cai fan with 80k . Let u eat every meal also can last u 5 years.

U wan to gei gao abt hawker food . U should go whack ur car and housing cost first lah if u wan cheap stuff.

alibababags

not the general public for sure.

Do locals really want $15 cai fan/wonton mee? like eating out in Australia/Europe etc.

if hawker food raise until so much, means it's those selfish business owners who wants to maintain their already high profit margin lor.

should kan them instead.

tamago_

It is still budget neutral. You got comprehension problem.
Yeah it is, the government won't need to pay more for minimum wage :o

I never say it is wrong wor :s13: Our great Jamus said it, since we support him, we better follow :o

otaku7

It depends on how it's roll out. U can exclude it. Mom has a progressive wage model for security sector and cleaner which is a min wage that target specific industry.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/security-sector

progressive wage is somewhat dodgy if you ask me... for the very very low paid cleaner... how many levels of upgrades or how much increase in wage per level of increase is seriously limited.

at the same time, I find the workfare scheme relatively interesting as it gives the worker to continue to work and get some money back if they maintain employment. but like I said in my earlier post, it's should still be refined and improved upon. as the payout iirc is only once every quarter... and it may be affected if companies chop and hire.

Posted from PCWX using EVR-L29

One Month Notice

aiyo no need quarrel on this. PAP has a psuedo minimum wage for specific sector. This guy is smoking for a blanket minimum wage. He just copies PAP and expand a bit. There are definately costs involve, he haven explain, and also whats the advantage against the current Workfare?

Just go look at MOM data as at June 2019: there are total 28K(citizens +pr) people drawing monthly gross less than 1k. 10 k in age group 15-24, 14k over 40 years old. So if your end goal is to help these guys.

implementing a higher labour cost (you think you help them), will biz dont hire interns/young apprentices (15 -24 years old) and older workers ( 40s onward) ? even got 1k workers in 70s age grp. Will companies still wan to hire this group?

Talk is cheap la~ but this kind of populist welfare policies, should be handle with care and action with good data. Once you implement, actual lives are affected and also hard to take back (lose votes). Dont let this jamus guy come and smoke u with populist theories

Which part of his proposal indicate it as blanket?

Can help point out. Thanks

WC32890

if hawker food raise until so much, means it's those selfish business owners who wants to maintain their already high profit margin lor.

should kan them instead.

Hawker don't earn much la. Go see how much hawker earns compared to jlb youtubers. At least hawker add value to your life. Youtubers add wat value to society?

pohw0008

With min wage.. it might reduce the number of ppl flouting the rule cause now it will cost more to pay for sinkie cpf to meet the fw quota now.. instead of $100+ per pax now become $300+..

even with quota u still see coys flouting it every now and then. :s22::s22:

the FW ecosystem ish unsustainable for normal sinkies. only white dogs and biz owners huat big big.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.