Haidilao offering high salary for cleaner, she can apply thereI support minimum wage. I talked to a school cleaner, she got 6 upskill certificates but still earning the same.
It's actually very simple to understand. Someone needs to pay for the increased if there's a min wage. If not the middle class then it's the upper class, or both. However, since it hurts the middle class more than the upper class, and it forms the bigger part of our society, it makes sense that it is paid much more by the upper class. However, in a capitalist society, if u pinch the upper class, they'll just pay lower salaries to the middle class, and so it'll be back to square one. Another way could be via a slight increase in taxes for the upper class so that it'll be used to fund the min wage. But since our gov belongs to this upper class they'll rather not do anything.
Explain to me how minimum wage will make the pie bigger, cause it sounds to me like only redistributing the pie, ie zero sum game.
lol.. again flawed
say with min wage you wan to fire the sinkie right.. but you still need people to do the job what.. so you hire who?
FW!! thats the answer you probably gonna give. go read my past replies. if a comlany can hire fw and have enough quota.. they wont hire the sinkie already. the reason why they hire locals is either the job requires or they dont have enough quota.. and these requirements are there with or without min wage
your argument only stands if companies PREFER to hire locals first before FW and because of min wage they reverse their decision. while we can say that for higher positions but definitely not in the low wage sectors.
try remove quota.. u see without minw age companies still hire fw. thats why there is quota.. so companies cannot just fire and replace locals. else want quota for what?
1 end you implement quota then you say if u implement minw age suddenly yohr quota will disappear?
another way to be considered, let's say a minimum wage is 1000/mth for 1 pax to sustain minimum standard of living (or living wage)... we don't implement the full 1000, but instead maybe just 600-700? then supplement it with other schemes, like progressive wage, workfare and comes up with a combined or new scheme. it doesn't have to be an absolute implementation of 1 method.
Posted from PCWX using EVR-L29
The Workers’ Party calls for all working Singaporeans to receive a minimum take-home wage of $1,300 per month for full-time work and pro-rated for part-time work. This helps over 100,000 Singaporeans that currently earn less than $1,300 to meet their basic needs.
Chey only for less than 1300. With just 100k sinkie getting paid more and pro rate to part time. Pls lah whats the incremental in cost to companies.
Cleaner already get min 1200. $100 for a cleaner that probably serve up to 10 stores.
Would that cost cause hawker food to triple? If yes than I think let's skip that hawker store ok . I am sure there are shops that can absorb the difference.
Revolutions are always started by the middle class not the lower class.Then the only solution is revolution?
Foreigners unqualified for what jobs?I do not think that the crux of the problem lies with minimum wage, or workers.
I think that the main cause is due to the large influx of foreign "talents" who are either unqualified, inexperienced, not required since role can be performed by locals, or here in Singapore on a long term basis (they should be in Singapore on a short contract basis of a few years to transfer their skills over to locals).
Jamus has said it too. Prices would go up.
Foreigners unqualified for what jobs?
They earn less than 1300 or more than 1300.
It's Capitalism.. Someone needs to be paying them ... i can assure you 100% if we will to increase our full time cleaner from $900-$1300 that's $400 more for each cleaner.. if i have 40 cleaners that $16.000 more overhead... and u think the cleaning company are willing to absorb them.. what about cpf contribution to them.. ?
Sometime you cannot just look at the overall pictures..
U dunno those who open cleaning companies are big boss? Drive what car?
Which one are you referring to?There is a difference between Foreign Workers, Foreign "Talents", and Foreign Talents. Which are you referring to?