Workfare = everybody chip in abit to topup low wage earner salary.
Min wage = companies forkout extra money above market rate.
Ppl calling for min wage basically unwilling to chip in abit for their own belief in paying low wage workers more.
They just want to virtue signal....ask somebody else to pay for their own beliefs. Shows u how much heart they really have for the low wage earner.
All talk but no action.

so you feel is right that companies pass costs to consumers but keep quiet when they lower costs and maximise profits by hiring foreigners?
govt already say irregardless, gonna have 9% gst sooner or later.
work smart, make use of machineries instead of labour intensive, automate, use a grade progression system so that the locals see prospectives.
construction workers in japan even got their own fashion trend.
The only way to be budget neutral is employer foot the higher cost. In real life you think you can make employer pay employees higher to meet minimum wage standard??? Si bay hard one! You're boss you want to sacrifice your profit??? If you can make the black heart bosses pay more pls share how. Not all black heart I came across many are very reasonable person.
BTW I wholehearted support PAP to raise GST to 9%! Pls do it asap. Mai tu liao!

No what I'm trying to say is the incentives will keep those poorly paid old folks contended with low pay.You are aware that govt supports funds come from the taxpayers right?
And it's precisely because the below-minimum wages earners' income was too low for them to survive that taxpayers need to fork out, via various govt assistance schemes (eg silver support) to help these below-min-wage earners make ends meet.
No wonder bosses disagree: Why make bosses pay their low wage workers more - when they can make taxpayers pay for the shortfall?
If academic journal says you amognoix should kill himself, will you?.
Just because a "academic" says something doesn't mean we need to follow.
The only way to be budget neutral is employer foot the higher cost. In real life you think you can make employer pay employees higher to meet minimum wage standard??? Si bay hard one! You're boss you want to sacrifice your profit??? If you can make the black heart bosses pay more pls share how. Not all black heart I came across many are very reasonable person.
BTW I wholehearted support PAP to raise GST to 9%! Pls do it asap. Mai tu liao!
so fast show his true colors alr.
minimum wage is not to give the lower paid employees more money or higher salaries, but to ensure that they are a paid a fair wage
this is recognized by everyone who is talking for or against minimum wage.
the PAP has talked and discussed minimum wages before in parliament and even the newspapers has discussed about it before.
but there has NEVER been any discussion about, if the "cost" of increasing wages should be transferred to the consumer, or anyone besides the employer - simply because it should never be a question about WHO TO TRANSFER THE COST TO
what minimum wage does is to make it illegal to pay your employees a wage that does not allow them to live properly
this is why minimum wage is called minimum wage. it is the lowest amount that an employee can pay their workers.
dun come talk about "increasing costs" simply because if you are paying your employees minimum or above minimum wage, your costs would not have increased at all!
if you are paying your employees below minimum wage, then YOU need to pay your employees more.
even the PAP is able to recognise this and they themselves have stated that singapore does not have minimum wage because it would be set so low that it would be make setting a minimum redundant!
source https://www.ilo.org/global/topics/wages/minimum-wages/definition/WCMS_439072/lang--en/index.htm
https://www.todayonline.com/big-read/perennial-debate-singapore-minimum-wage
https://www.pap.org.sg/news/ge2020-news/why-no-minimum-wage/

You happy folk get paid fck all so you can have cheap food issit?
Sent from An Alternative Viewpoint On Life using GAGT
it's only a benefit if the foreigners gets employed. nothing at all if they gets removed.
u dun include them, u only put sinkie in worse uncompetitive position and result in MORE foreigners coming in to take that 10% sinkie job.
really ish any monkey can come here and pick up low lvl jobs.
u make that 10% locals more expensive, but employers continue to exploit the low cost FW loophole, then whats the point? defeats the purpose altogether.![]()
ok so bringing in the 9% gst, isit relevant? since minimum wage or no, we are still gonna have to pay the 9%...
for the middle class, yes the key thing to focus now is how we are going to compete with the world and how locals can have a level playing field.
but for the struggling class earning under 2 or even 3k, i wonder how they survive.

I do not think that the opposition should focus on minimum wage now, as implementing them would not solve the problem, which is the diminishing size of the middle class (of which a portion are SME bosses). Having a minimum wage won't push those at the bottom into the middle class, but instead squeeze the middle class more and further widen the gap between upper class and middle class. At least, that's what I think.
All related mah. You cannot say you want ice kachang without the ice tio bo? One cost will lead to another cost... sheep wool come from sheep body mah. How to make employer pay, you share some tips?
Said it before and say again: raise GST to 9%. Mai tu liao.

it might be harsh coming from me, but in some cases (not all) they deserve it due to their mindset.
for example, if a couple's household income is 3k, why did they have 3 kids? its not a matter of 'because we want more children', but instead a matter of 'can you afford what you want'. the society shouldn't have to pay for their 'wants' and mistaken viewpoint.
as another example, a document controller role can earn 2k+. if both the couple are working, why would the household income be below 4k? is it an excuse for one of the couple to not be working (such as looking after a kid when their parents can help out) instead of a legitimate reason?
if its about "foreign talents" causing such roles to be hard for locals to get, that's another issue![]()