• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

draco_88

Minimum wage does not work. In capitalist world, we are like in pyramid scheme.

The pyramid always have 1% top richest, 10% high net income, etc.
No matter what you adjust, the pyramid won't change.

Assuming we are at the bottom 20%. With minimum wage, suddenly our salary all increase a lot by (100%). Everyone happy right?

But company will end up having resource problem, because nobody is willing to work with old-salary. So company must charge the services by 100% to their customers. The customers are those companies who are selling things too. Because the supplier increase by 100%, they will also have to increase 100% (or more).
Since everyone increase by 100%, suddenly everything become expensive by 100%. Your increment of 100% suddenly has no effect at all, when everything increased by 100%.

That's why when we feel our salary is getting higher, we don't feel anything different and still goes back to the same place. You have 100% increase, but the rich also getting richer by 100% (or more). You are still at the bottom 20%.

Another thing that people also tend to forget, is that company is hiring people based on budget. They set budget let's say 9k to hire for 1 year. So based on budget 9k, how many employees can work?

Company manage to hire cleaner, 4 x $2k=$8k. So now company has $1k left. Company can actually hire another person who is willing to work for 1K. If cannot find, Company use that $1k for other purpose.
A person takes up the offer of $1k salary. Is it bad?

This 1k-salary person will have job, because there's no minimum salary.
If gov say, minimum salary is $2k, that person will not have any opportunity at all to work, because simply company cannot hire him.

Regarding the older generation situation, and people-who-left-behind, the minimum wage will actually work against them.
What gov and society can do is to come out with social-mechanism to assist all these people. Rich gov like Singapore surely can afford it, and if gov can breakdown how much has been spent to unprivileged people, i hope the public can support it because it uses public tax payer money.

I understand we have so many social-organisation, but not sure why the help never goes to the people who needs it. Perhaps someone can provide explanation what really happened on the ground. Why person like ahma in the article, never approach social organisation, but then can kpkb to Worker's party. Are they scared? afraid? or feeling helpless? ineffective?

Agreed. Personally, I believe that our progressive wage is more appropriate for SG context. But I do admit that our social safety nets are not robust enough to cover all scenarios and some unfortunate cases just fall through the gaps. This is certainly something which msf should work on.

PeanutButtor

Agreed. Personally, I believe that our progressive wage is more appropriate for SG context. But I do admit that our social safety nets are not robust enough to cover all scenarios and some unfortunate cases just fall through the gaps. This is certainly something which msf should work on.

Poverty and inequality, msf forever will see there is need for their present. Money to run heavy weight msf, might as well the money well use to elevate these ppls.

YangMehMeh22

Good points!
Bs lah, there always will be supply & demand for worker in big and small, company can not pay? Their boss & manager drive big car and smile at you being their small slave, you really think company can not afford this little pay? And try live with less than 500 dollar a month, with travel on bus and mrtz cuz you 150, the rest you spend eat cai Peng or worst meegi mee everyday, u happy?

Redberries

Meanwhile, Dr Lim’s point about the PWM seems to resonate well with the story of an 82-year-old lady, who claimed that she only earns S$20 per day working as a cleaner and dishwasher at a hawker centre situated in Tampines Hub.

The story was shared by Facebook user Meng Shuen Koh, who posted on Facebook

She claimed that the Government has promised to give compensation for her late son’s death – with S$300 per month – but up until now, she has never even received “one cent” from the Government.

“Now national day coming, they ask us hang the flag. I don’t want to hang. Hang for what? My son died for this flag. This flag also never help me. How to don’t work? I will starve to death,” the old lady told him.

When he asked her why she was heading to Sentosa, the old lady explained that her friend told her about a job there that pays S$10 per hour to wash dishes. She works as a cleaner and dishwasher at Tampines Hub, and earning only S$5 per hour.

Aside from her hourly salary, the old lady was given with no free meals, nor transportation allowance from the place that she currently works at. She added, “Eat lunch, eat dinner already $5, already one hour of work gone. Left $15, sometimes don’t eat better I think”.

https://www.onlinecitizenasia.com/2020/07/28/saddening-story-of-82-y-o-lady-who-earns-s20-per-day-as-cleaner-and-dishwasher-sold-her-house-to-not-die/

Lol... Work at Tampines hub somemore and paid such amount? I think there got alot of govt agencies somemore: PA, NTUC, Social service centre all those..

Right in the middle of 天堂, but such thing happened?

laopokcar_g

Lol... Work at Tampines hub somemore and paid such amount? I think there got alot of govt agencies somemore: PA, NTUC, Social service centre all those..

Singapore is heaven for the rich. And PAP and cronies

Sent from - Rescue Our Future - using GAGT

PeanutButtor

Pappy create endless perpetual of problems, and forever require more money, more facilities, each time to solve simple problem.

traderF35

Social service can go and screen all cleaner and see can find any ah umm like dat. A targeted approach is a better solution than a one size cut all minimum wage lor. More effective and flexible mah.

skylink67

Minimum wage does not work. In capitalist world, we are like in pyramid scheme.

The pyramid always have 1% top richest, 10% high net income, etc.
No matter what you adjust, the pyramid won't change.

Assuming we are at the bottom 20%. With minimum wage, suddenly our salary all increase a lot by (100%). Everyone happy right?

But company will end up having resource problem, because nobody is willing to work with old-salary. So company must charge the services by 100% to their customers. The customers are those companies who are selling things too. Because the supplier increase by 100%, they will also have to increase 100% (or more).
Since everyone increase by 100%, suddenly everything become expensive by 100%. Your increment of 100% suddenly has no effect at all, when everything increased by 100%.

That's why when we feel our salary is getting higher, we don't feel anything different and still goes back to the same place. You have 100% increase, but the rich also getting richer by 100% (or more). You are still at the bottom 20%.

Another thing that people also tend to forget, is that company is hiring people based on budget. They set budget let's say 9k to hire for 1 year. So based on budget 9k, how many employees can work?

Company manage to hire cleaner, 4 x $2k=$8k. So now company has $1k left. Company can actually hire another person who is willing to work for 1K. If cannot find, Company use that $1k for other purpose.
A person takes up the offer of $1k salary. Is it bad?

This 1k-salary person will have job, because there's no minimum salary.
If gov say, minimum salary is $2k, that person will not have any opportunity at all to work, because simply company cannot hire him.

Regarding the older generation situation, and people-who-left-behind, the minimum wage will actually work against them.
What gov and society can do is to come out with social-mechanism to assist all these people. Rich gov like Singapore surely can afford it, and if gov can breakdown how much has been spent to unprivileged people, i hope the public can support it because it uses public tax payer money.

I understand we have so many social-organisation, but not sure why the help never goes to the people who needs it. Perhaps someone can provide explanation what really happened on the ground. Why person like ahma in the article, never approach social organisation, but then can kpkb to Worker's party. Are they scared? afraid? or feeling helpless? ineffective?

You say like SG should not squeeze employers for low wage workers?
But the fact is they are already doing so at the cost of BOTH low wage worker and employers.
Btw, they call it Foreign Worker Levy and Foreign Domestic Worker Levy.

E.g. Levy for Construction workers
Tier/Monthly Rate
Malaysians and NAS – Higher-Skilled $300
Malaysians and NAS – Basic-Skilled $700
NTS and PRC – Higher-Skilled, on MYE $300
NTS and PRC – Basic-Skilled, on MYE $700
NTS and PRC – Higher-Skilled, MYE waiver $600
NTS and PRC – Basic-Skilled, MYE waiver $950

Also the monthly levy for first maid is $300 and $450 for 2nd. This was increased in Apr 2019. Up up and away! Song bo?

https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/work-permit-for-foreign-worker/sector-specific-rules/construction-sector-requirements

wwenze

That's why people always say, education is the key to break the poverty cycle

While brainwashing does the opposite.

$warrior

Sent from Rem Best Grill using GAGT

Utterly despicable and disgraceful to think that moving from a dishwasher to a cleaner is a "promotion" of sorts! Just like the other MP (can't remember who)during the walkabout at GE told a grab delivery food person to "upgrade" to being a postman.

Absolutely condescending.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.