Should there be a minimum wage?

• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

zhutzhutzhut

dis topic is too deep can keep arguing about it for years and years.... best is everybuttie becum ccp rah... no need to argue so much rah :(

terrixtur

They want to eliminate the inferior genes from the gene pool. The last thing they want is more coolie descendants to reproduce.

tJ3333

The wages for the progressive wage model is already very close to the minimum wage scheme.

No idea what’s the fuss.

Denimwearer

As per subject :o

Makes it harder for businesses to run. Inflexible.

Using a one size fits all when different sectors pay differently brings problems so and so for.

It is not the government that is paying minimum wage. It is the business owner and a lot of business owners are Singaporeans who want to open small businesses.

Imagine if you want to open a stall and the government orders you to pay 13 dollars an hour ie. 3000 dollars a month for a helper.

pureice

this is not a right or wrong policy...just what trade-offs we want and whether is the program sustainable?

technically....myanmar and vietnam also have minimum wage....china also have minimum wage...

but is their standard of living better....or their purchasing power better?....maybe we should shift the focus to productivity and increasing the median wage thru real productivity gain and skill sets learn.

imho...let the help be more specialised and targetted at really disadvantaged grps....

tts why i hope if the oppo really wana be a credible team...focus on the relevancy of retraining, as well as the timing/quality of these reskilling. Either focusing on reducing career transition time or tweaking more degrees/diplomas on part time schedules, on manageable cost for increase productivity....

mai keep harp on this populist minimum wage...if really putting a number on a minimum wage level can solve problems....now many countries are paradise riao~~ dont force our version of "good" on other people rahh....

Denimwearer

Because it will throw a spanner into their foreigners first policy.

Not necessarily, foreigners can be highly paid too. The PAP making it easier for highly paid foreigners to steal our jobs is what we need to be wary of.

The way the PAP makes it sound is as if we have no talent!

yokine3a

But honestly in Singapore context, I feel it is good to have a min wage for Singaporeans. Some companies in Singapore damn jialat one.
How jialat? Like my company before covid19, annual increment only 1-2%, can't even beat inflation!?

As per subject :o

IT's not BAD,but just not the right time yet,wait a few more years can?

wait for PSLE AL4-32 scoring system to totally destroy the next generation 92% sinkie kids then they all come out to work after "O" level national exam after completing Sec 4. by then gov will legalise minimum pay $10/hr so they work 40hrs a week can get $400 min for basic living matching up to AUS:s8::s8:

ahkrong

PAP dun want lazy ppl mah.
Always say if got minimum wage will create lazy ppl.
I wonder how it all works.
NEVER MIND!
Mai stupid brain wont understand the rocket science maths theory also.
LOLOLOLOLOLOL

Sent from my dua karchng using GAGT

ahkrong

Not necessarily, foreigners can be highly paid too. The PAP making it easier for highly paid foreigners to steal our jobs is what we need to be wary of.

The way the PAP makes it sound is as if we have no talent!
PAP always harping sinkies no talents mah.
Thats huai they always want foreigners to cum in into sinkingpore. They leeching off us PAP also never bat one eyelid.
LOLOLOLOLOLOL

Sent from my dua karchng using GAGT

Loratadine10mg

The minimum wage will forced employers to hire locals. Becos it is no longer cheap to bring in foreigners.

In such situation covid 19 pandemic, we now can see a "big hole" whereby locals suffered with no job no money.

hackberry

You all these ****** kias, GST 9% already kpkb

you want $7 per hour who pay for them?
Tax payers? 45% income taxes/CPF want or not?

Kum Jit Pow

keep the population majority barely enough to live and eat, so they'll have to work all full time until death. that way they wont have too much time on their hand to think about overthrowing the govt. cao cao art of country management strategy no. 5.

Sent from Samsung SM-G955F using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.