Dont forget consumer always hv to pay for the cost. That its

Sent from Forever Dark using GAGT

lumpyme

An proper amount is not so low.....

Over time the can arge the min income to be increased according to inflation....instead of it being stagnant all the way.

Sent from me using GAGT

A good minimum wage is an amount that does not cause adverse effects to the economy yet at the same time, serves benefits

Yes the amount should be reviewed and adjusted accordingly but $500 is a fair amount imo.

Let us not forget that minimum wage is not a tool to raise wages. It is a tool to end poverty.

lumpyme

Dont forget consumer always hv to pay for the cost. That its

Sent from Forever Dark using GAGT
You talk like minimum wage is 1m a month.
Ever thought what about having $1 as minimum wage?

$1 a month is the legally minimum wage today too if you didn't know.
Legally for any service rendered there must be a for of official payment and that amount is $1.

How much extra have you paid?

MatrixFanatic

Minimum wage model with Sinkie mentality means quality will become lower for a fixed price. It is disaster for an economy that has to be competitive to stay relevant. Support WP but they need to understand Sinkies first.

Wu-Han Clan

Let me give my take.
When we talk about minimum wage, we need to know how much are we talking about. $1 is too little and has no effect, positive or negative.
$1m on the other hand, is disaster.
Something that might be realistic would be to take our country's poverty line which while does not officially exist, we know that cpf pay out is $500 a month. So we can use $500 as our minimum wage.

This figure would ensure that it does not raise our bottom line. Companies would not see any real wage increase yet at the same time, we can ensure that people are paid fairly for jobs rendered.

The next argument that companies might make would be that then most jobs would then offer $500 as a salary. This is a fallacy because the forces of demand and supply would continue to exist despite minimum wage.

Let us also not confuse minimum wage with universal basic income. Unlike universal basic income, where you get paid whether you work or not; Minimum wage means if you don't work, you don't get paid.

I don't see any cons with minimum wage, instead I can see how minimum wage can help the poor by providing a social net against exploitation.
I am a strong supporter of minimum wage.

there is no con to min wage... there will be some very short term pains before it sorts itself out... but some are harping as if this short term pain (unemployment they call it) will be a long term problem...

i actually think it may also reduce our reliance on foreigners because a decent min wage may entice more ppl to work part time jobs... i think it is fair to say many housewives, students rather idle at home than work for $4-5/hr.... business owners say no workers so they employ malaysians :s8:

workingclass

I believe in minimum wage but I don't bother lah.

The low income group are one of the biggest supporters of PAP. If they think no need min. wage then be it lor.

Why gei kiang?

michael_thm

I prefer universal free healthcare. Much more beneficial to low income Singaporeans like me.

WP should fight for things that matters more. Free healthcare and higher work fare.

Higher workfare would achieve the same objectives without encountering complicated issues such as whether applicable to foreign workers or not.

Workfare should be finetuned to ensure that every Singaporean worker would have say a minimum annual income of S$30,000. If I earn S$14,000, then just top me up by another S$16,000 from higher taxes on selfish businesses and the wicked lich people lah!

decibel.

Min wage won't help in a society like this. Even if it gets passed, the additional expenses will be borne by end consumers which include also the low wage workers. Companies these days won't absorb this additional cost and more so in today's economical downturn. As a result, the only beneficiary would be the government when increased spending are taxed. Min wage is basically a system that can be "gamed" and the concept directly escalates the rising cost of living should the companies push down the effect to consumers.

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT

Xwzlol

I believe in minimum wage but I don't bother lah.

The low income group are one of the biggest supporters of PAP. If they think no need min. wage then be it lor.

Why gei kiang?

Minimum wage not that sweet as it dream, just my opinion.
If minimum wage 1500$, then how lol

Xwzlol

Min wage won't help in a society like this. Even if it gets passed, the additional expenses will be borne by end consumers which include also the low wage workers. Companies these days won't absorb this additional cost and more so in today's economical downturn. As a result, the only beneficiary would be the government when increased spending are taxed. Min wage is basically a system that can be "gamed" and the concept directly escalates the rising cost of living should the companies push down the effect to consumers.

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT

Minimum wage cant on par with spass minimum salary, otherwise all coy close shop

Sultana

A petition will be better. Go start one to see the support for sinkies. Only if sinkies under S Pass, they can get minimum $2500 same as JHK under S Passes.

But those comi from developing or 3rd world countries(indian, Vietnam, myanmese, thai, Philippines..etc) working as drivers, waiters, supervisor under S Pass will have minimum $3200.

occifer

A good minimum wage is an amount that does not cause adverse effects to the economy yet at the same time, serves benefits

Yes the amount should be reviewed and adjusted accordingly but $500 is a fair amount imo.

Let us not forget that minimum wage is not a tool to raise wages. It is a tool to end poverty.

500 is nonsense and useless. U mad bro lol.
Nobody earn so low.
Give them at least $1200 or something.
Help those cleaners, etc.

Why dont u go earn 500 lol.
Even maids earn more.

A good min wage does not adversely affect economy even if it is high. It just redistributes earnings abit better.

But pap will lose too many middle income votes, so, they wont do it.

Sent from me using GAGT

Sultana

Minimum wage not good. Can put many working hours. Minimum per hr rate is better. No exploitation. Time to up to OZ level with bto so ex.....

Sultana

Minimum wage model with Sinkie mentality means quality will become lower for a fixed price. It is disaster for an economy that has to be competitive to stay relevant. Support WP but they need to understand Sinkies first.
How do u prevent exploitation of labour? How to pay for bto if wages r being suppresses using lesser quality FW & FT. It would seem efficient if there r not external variable.
The equilibrium has been disrupted with a supply swing downward causing a wage decrease for sinkies but with better qualifications or quality of work.

Dark.Horizon

Minimum won't work here because scumbags will use it to exploit wages and maximize profits. So what should be protecting the vulnerable will end up killing those in other sectors.

It only works in developed countries where they don't have a scummy mindset.

Posted from PCWX using Mi A3

Nevereatrice

No i dont support. Wp like to suggest bo liao things. Sinkies don't use brain one only know how to kpkb
This will only make businesses cut back on hiring to save manpower costs. Old people will be jobless. U old liao will be jobless also

Glectrix

I think minimum wage will not be effective in helping the poor. The reasons being listed below.
1) I see most comments setting minimum wage as a lump sum per month. This is unrealistic as the wage must also commensurate with the working hours spent. So it's more likely to be a per hour minimum wage. Let's use an example of $6 per hour. If a person works 8hr a day for 25 days , he would earn $1200 per month which should be enough for self subsistence.
2) Nowadays even student easily earn more than $6/hour. Who exactly are these group of people who earn less than $6/hour? They are the intellectually challenged, medically unfit, handicap, disabled,old or uneducated and can't be bothered group of people.
3) If there is a minimum wage, as an employer would u want to hire people from this category? Or hire people with higher productivity to produce more per hour to justify the cost? This will only lead to more unemployment for this group of people and making their life harder. Furthermore, a lot of low paying jobs like picking cardboard etc will not employer so minimum wage is not applicable.

I propose instead the Maximum Wage model to solve this problem. The Maximum Wage model cap the wage for each person at a certain amount like for example 150k per annum for Singaporeans and PR and foreigners, above which will have to contribute eg 50%, 30%, 20% of the exceeded amount to fund the "Wage Supplement fund for the lowly paid"

The reason for Singaporeans bearing the most cost is most Singaporeans got nowhere to run so can only suck thumb and accept. This will also be imposed on working overseas Singaporeans. Although it is difficult to impose, fine and jail should act as deterrence. Secondly, this will free up more good jobs for Singaporeans as high earning foreigners may choose to work in other countries to avoid this. This can also help to promote entrepreneurship among working class and create more jobs as profits are not subject to contribution. The investments from the rich won't be affected as investment profits are not subject to contribution too.

Unfortunately this will never be implemented as the people making decision are all earning more than eg 150k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.