I think minimum wage model will drive prices up.
Baseless statement
I think minimum wage model will drive prices up.
An proper amount is not so low.....
Over time the can arge the min income to be increased according to inflation....instead of it being stagnant all the way.
Sent from me using GAGT
You talk like minimum wage is 1m a month.Dont forget consumer always hv to pay for the cost. That its
Sent from Forever Dark using GAGT
Let me give my take.
When we talk about minimum wage, we need to know how much are we talking about. $1 is too little and has no effect, positive or negative.
$1m on the other hand, is disaster.
Something that might be realistic would be to take our country's poverty line which while does not officially exist, we know that cpf pay out is $500 a month. So we can use $500 as our minimum wage.
This figure would ensure that it does not raise our bottom line. Companies would not see any real wage increase yet at the same time, we can ensure that people are paid fairly for jobs rendered.
The next argument that companies might make would be that then most jobs would then offer $500 as a salary. This is a fallacy because the forces of demand and supply would continue to exist despite minimum wage.
Let us also not confuse minimum wage with universal basic income. Unlike universal basic income, where you get paid whether you work or not; Minimum wage means if you don't work, you don't get paid.
I don't see any cons with minimum wage, instead I can see how minimum wage can help the poor by providing a social net against exploitation.
I am a strong supporter of minimum wage.

I believe in minimum wage but I don't bother lah.
The low income group are one of the biggest supporters of PAP. If they think no need min. wage then be it lor.
Why gei kiang?
Min wage won't help in a society like this. Even if it gets passed, the additional expenses will be borne by end consumers which include also the low wage workers. Companies these days won't absorb this additional cost and more so in today's economical downturn. As a result, the only beneficiary would be the government when increased spending are taxed. Min wage is basically a system that can be "gamed" and the concept directly escalates the rising cost of living should the companies push down the effect to consumers.
Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT
A good minimum wage is an amount that does not cause adverse effects to the economy yet at the same time, serves benefits
Yes the amount should be reviewed and adjusted accordingly but $500 is a fair amount imo.
Let us not forget that minimum wage is not a tool to raise wages. It is a tool to end poverty.
How do u prevent exploitation of labour? How to pay for bto if wages r being suppresses using lesser quality FW & FT. It would seem efficient if there r not external variable.Minimum wage model with Sinkie mentality means quality will become lower for a fixed price. It is disaster for an economy that has to be competitive to stay relevant. Support WP but they need to understand Sinkies first.