• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Begonia

MIW gotch your votes already. They dun need your petition. Too late.

See you 2025 😄

SGMale

Third class slaves do not deserve minimum wage. Only master class and aliens deserve minimum pay.

HokkaidoMilk

I not economist, im a programmer with insomnia.. was just thinking will it work if minimum wage is not a fixed sum. Eg. $500. But rather a basic sum relative to the basic expenditure of a low-moderate income individual?

Basic expenditure can then be calculated via basic living expenses like price of commodities, food, rental, education, housing etc.

In that case minimum wage will be more dedicated to individuals from helping citizens with monthly expenses according to their eligibility.

fishbuff

If you're a Singaporean reading this and you support Jamus kor kor universal minimum wage model, I urge you to go your MPS session and tell your MP that you support universal minimum wage. If you are too humji to tell your MP in person at MPS, you can email your MP and tell your MP that you support the universal minimum wage model as set forth by Dr. Jamus Lim.

If you don't believe in minimum wage, then also tell your MPs that you don't believe in it.

Sample email below in case you don't know how to write a proper email.

Dear Honourable MP,

I am a resident of [INSERT MY SMC/GRC]. I would like to put it on record that I (support / don't support) the universal minimum wage model as set forth by Honorable MP Dr. Jamus Lim. As a constituent of [INSERT MY SMC/GRC], I hope you will represent my thoughts on this matter.

Thank you and have a nice day.

Yours Sincerely,

Name of Resident
Address / Email of Resident

You can locate your MP communication details here:

PAP wards
https://www.pap.org.sg/representative/

WP wards
https://www.wp.sg/candidates/

i support min wage. heck, anyone which some good conscience will do that.

if singaporeans dont support that, then you can see what sort of people they are. the NIMBY (not in my backyard syndrome) persists.

Johnny5

How much should the minimum wage be? If can set minimum wage in SG

:s11: :s11:

CSNation

Use simple Big Mac economy as proposed by amdks.

Everyone should earn enough to buy a Big Mac meal, up-sized per hour.

As McDonalds increases price, wage must peg to the Big Mac meal price.

Sent from my Toilet Bowl using GAGT

Johnny5

So how much $$ per hour for SG minimum wage?

BTW Bigmac is AMDK food. People in SG eat more chicken rice or nasi lemak.

blong

This let the experts decide but there should always be some sort of a minimum wage in Singapore. Lots of companies (especially local ones) tend to underpay their lower wage workers.

treeskull

Minimum wage greatly reduce poverty, leaving only those who are physically disabled but that's for another scheme.

Compared to the government's annual budget deficit spending, this minimum scheme have little impact on inflation

Sent from 你是我的小啊小苹果儿怎么爱你都不嫌多红红的小脸儿温暖我的心窝点亮我生命的火火火火火火 using GAGT

CSNation

So how much $$ per hour for SG minimum wage?

BTW Bigmac is AMDK food. People in SG eat more chicken rice or nasi lemak.

Because Big Mac is the fairest. Heck Big Mac meal is cheaper than our famous McSpicy Double meal which is around $9.60 iirc before up size.

Anyway let's just say you eat Cheekon rice / Nasi Lemak / Fried rice / Hokkien mee etc and drink.
That is average $5 or close to it. That is the same as a Mckkj meal.
Don't want drink ? Okaay then $3.50 to $4 (I can't even find Hokkien mee / CKT under $4 now knn)

McKKj meal set is $5 or $5.60 if up size.

Assume the person earns $5 per hour, 8 hours a day, 22 days a month (got 2 rest days per week).
He is only earning $40 a day or $880 a month.
That is barely existential living.
You will need work 2 hours for 2 meals and you haven't count your transport and monthly expenditure.

$10 an hour will put it at $1760 a month. Which some towkays scream robbery, fine whatever.

Now I cannot remember exactly how much big Mac meal cost since I only last ate at Macs eons ago (and I always chose mcspicy double which I know is more ex).

But say lah $9, that is only $1584 a month.
It means they still qualify for GST vouchers (If include AWS + 2 month bonus, they still earn under 24k a year).
But it sounds a lot better than surviving on $880 as min wage.

And $1500+ is like the wages some jiuhu kia hawker assistant earn okay.

So the ideal index is always at minimum to earn 1.5 meals or 2 meals in the first hour.
Then the 2nd hour helps re-coup your daily transport, rest of the 2nd meal and keep a bit of spare change (if any).

Then rest is actually start earning for your bills and shiet.

Johnny5

Because Big Mac is the fairest. Heck Big Mac meal is cheaper than our famous McSpicy Double meal which is around $9.60 iirc before up size.

Anyway let's just say you eat Cheekon rice / Nasi Lemak / Fried rice / Hokkien mee etc and drink.
That is average $5 or close to it. That is the same as a Mckkj meal.
Don't want drink ? Okaay then $3.50 to $4 (I can't even find Hokkien mee / CKT under $4 now knn)

McKKj meal set is $5 or $5.60

Assume the person earns $5 per hour, 8 hours a day, 22 days a month (got 2 rest days per week).
He is only earning $40 a day or $880 a month.
That is barely existential living.
You will need work 2 hours for 2 meals and you haven't count your transport and monthly expenditure.

$10 an hour will put it at $1760 a month. Which some towkays scream robbery, fine whatever.

Now I cannot remember exactly how much big Mac meal cost since I only last ate at Macs eons ago (and I always chose mcspicy double which I know is more ex).

But say lah $9, that is only $1584 a month.
Still below need pay tax income but it sounds a lot better than surviving on $880 as min wage.
$1500+ is like the wages some jiuhu kia hawker assistant earn okay.

Thks for your feedback.

Mr Duck

My guess minimum is $2.5k before cpf.
Take back $2k estimate is only just nice for a single person haven't start own family.
But one thing I want to highlight is Singapore many things are very expensive vs $2k

OutBreak

My guess minimum is $2.5k before cpf.
Take back $2k estimate is only just nice for a single person haven't start own family.

A lot of companies pay less than that and expect you to work like a dog.. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.