Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Johnny5

My guess minimum is $2.5k before cpf.
Take back $2k estimate is only just nice for a single person haven't start own family.
But one thing I want to highlight is Singapore many things are very expensive vs $2k

With this minimum wage amount, then chicken rice and nasi lemak S$7 per plate.

Stroganoff

The root of the problem is the boss reap too much profit Liao...

So ask who is the best?

when times are good, they pay staff peanut, drive big car stay big house.

when times are bad, they kpkb garment didnt help them enough

:s13::s13::s13:

Mr Duck

A lot of companies pay less than that and expect you to work like a dog.. :(

Sure got bad and good companies. You can choose to find better one too. Cos i believes this type of companies everything also give very last minute or even eat people only.

Itsnotfunny

A dishwasher working 6 days a week drawing $750 a month means he/she is paid $3.60 an hour. Is this fair? Can someone survive with this kind of pay without handouts?

Min wage is to protect people like this. Not to set a sky high wage that deter employers from hiring.

Sinkie

To towkay, they would want the minimum to be as Low
To workers, they would want the minimum to be as high

So if set minimum hour as $4? Kym?

But what if all the towkay purposely pull down all their $5-$6 per hour worker to $4 per hour how?

I dont support min wage.
I support helping those in poverty by skilling them up or giving them assistant while they look for job and break out of Poverty.

To towkay, they would want the minimum to be as Low
To workers, they would want the minimum to be as high

So if set minimum hour as $4? Kym?

But what if all the towkay purposely pull down all their $5-$6 per hour worker to $4 per hour how?

Now macca already $6?
Then no point setting lower wor

CSNation

I dont support min wage.
I support helping those in poverty by skilling them up or giving them assistant while they look for job and break out of Poverty.

It doesn't work that way. There will always be some people who are couriers, delivery drivers, logistics, cleaners etc.

The country will not completely outsource all such personal to foreigners.
Imagine if a more serious covid situation occurs and we have no local drivers (since all FT run road or in dorm), NTUC how to get supply from warehouse lol.

Min wage in Singapore setting is to protect people on lower rung ends of employment. Not entitlement style that AMDK wants.

And there are definitely schemes like the PWM already out there but it only encompass cleaners.
It should encompass more jobs.... And also include penalties for employers who did not abide by the rules set.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/cleaning-sector

Itsnotfunny

I dont support min wage.

Yep. Read about how an MP helped a toilet cleaner skilled up to be a dishwasher. Not sure if that one is counted.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.