r u willing to pay maids & bangla construction workers min wages ?
first thing happened will be more women opt to be housewives, since no point earnings goes to paying maids since diff is not significant.
second, our housing prices will shoot above HK cuz HK got its own pool of low educated construction workers, we don't.
you always preach about buddihsm on edmw, and yet in this statement, you didnt show a shred of empathy for your fellow countrymen that are struggling to put food on the table...
hypocrisy at the extreme?
In Buddhism, everything is about Cause & Effect.
"implement min wage" is like planting a Cause, it will bring Effect.
this Effect of "min wage scheme" benefits minority, but bring suffering to majority, which opposed my empathy.
tell me which group of ppl "struggling to put food on the table" because not getting min wages ?
The low income cleaners, security guards have min wages which is made mandatory by MOM.
source :
https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/cleaning-sector
u r naive to think the sme bosses will suffer due to min wages.
all increase in cost will be transferred back to consumers.
the entire sg market is not too difficult to be manipulated, the prices r determined by handful of big boys, just like how they determine the price of kopi, tea at kpt, msian coach tickets prices, mlxg prices, common food prices, chye png prices, etc.
from $0.50 to $1.20 now, all increase tgt, consumers still have to pay, else, don't drink, but they still can survive, cuz sinkie can't tahan too long, they will still accept the new prices.
many biz owners have their own 工商联合会 Business Association which recommend their selling price for their members.
the biggest employer in sg now is the govt.
once, min wage implemented, housing cost, hosp cost, education cost, utility cost, etc will go up.
in the end, GST, income tax, ppty tax, electricity/water bills, etc, etc will go up, it become vicious cycle.
on the sme side, some co will close and import from cheaper location like jb, many micro biz w low profit margin product, will go bust first, eg yr roti, bean curd, traditional kway, cakes, etc.
slower, the hawkers will be gone as well, end up like angmo countries, u have to eat McD or Pizza everyday.
If wages go up, then the industry will adopt labor saving measures for those processes which are labor intensive that is all. This will lead to jobs which are lowly skilled like the bangala construction workers you mentioned being transformed into skilled jobs which then might even be attractive to Singaporeans. Even if not, it would mean less foreign workers would be needed. US construction workers are being paid an average of USD15 and you don't see their property prices being higher than SG. And HK construction workers salaries are an average of HK$119 per hour.
As for maids, many families have working couples with no maid. No maid does not mean wives need to be housewives in most cases. Many cases, you have full time housewives... with maids.
US, HK got its own pool of low educated construction workers, we don't.
Our population don't even have enough ppl to work in chye png stalls, serve NS (our camps & JC getting smaller/lesser year by year),
my calculation did sometime back is we can produce about 30k youth each year, but our construction sector need at least 300k workers, which means if 100% youngster go into construction sector, we need 10 yrs to fill up the gap, if no one quit midway.
if one day, our houses r printed from 3D printer, probably we can reduce the number of construction workers.
about maid, we still need them to take care of the old & disabled.
this probably exceed those that take care of young children, as we r becoming an aging society.
if maid salary is almost same as our working mother, the burden onto our small family will be even greater.
2 working adult need to feed parent of both sides (4 old) + children (2 young) + maid
if maid salary = wife salary, meaning the hubby's salary must able to support 6 pax.
Our lower skilled prices already driven up by FDW and FWL. $300 for first maid, $450 for second.
FWL for construction is $300 to $950 monthly depending on the experience and tier.
Maids already have min wage and it depends on the work experience and nationality.
We already pay for these, you not aware?
so, adding min wages, will put even greater pressure on working adult & family.