• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

panda_san

the hard truth is those really highfliers dun really want to get into politics because they can earn more than that...the high salary is to attract the 2nd stringers bah

overman

Actually even for a lot of MNCs, wage is a concern to them and we're not the cheapest country in this region to operate in. Things that work in our favour include safety, political stability and very low corporate tax rates. So if they feel that the increase in wage is too big a trade off, it'll affect Singapore's attractiveness

Tax rates in Labuan area low. Holding companies – those that hold fixed assets or collect dividends, royalties, or other passive incomes – are free from tax on all earnings sourced outside of Malaysia. Whatever you earn is yours to keep, and there are no other superfluous taxes or fees.
For businesses that trade with the public (ie: an internet business or an airline), there are two options. Your company can elect to be taxed at either a flat rate of 3% or to pay an annual tax of 20,000 Malaysian ringgit (around US $6,600). That’s all. Unlike countries like the United States where you can make a one-time election which you’re then stuck with, Labuan allows companies to elect the best option for them in each tax year.
Have a new internet business that only generated $10,000 it’s first year. Choose the 3% tax rate and pay $300. Have a booming operation bringing in millions? Choose the flat tax payment of $6,600 and keep the rest.

How Singapore compete xia

nyvrem

I know you're just trolling. But in case it gains traction, maximum wage is an even worse idea than minimum wage.

For example, Bill Gates got very rich when Windows 98 was released. If there was a maximum wage and he couldnt earn any more, then he wouldnt have continued on with newer versions of windows and we would still be stuck at windows 98.

The gist is, once people have reached the max amount they can earn, they'll just stop working harder and coming up with new ideas. As a whole, society will be less well off.

you switch maximum to minimum, the psychological impact also about the same. people won't work that hard also.

:s13::s13::s13:

tutukueh

heng ah finally we can seriously discuss minimum wage without the usual heckling from a few HHH-type of people

overman

$1.50?!?!
eh abit far fetch leh :s13:

In Singapore, Annalakshmi has two outlets, one in Amoy Street (near Chinatown) and one near Clarke Quay. All-you-can-eat and pay-what-you-want.

Go there for Indian food theoretically can pay 10 cents.

tsuyuri

Actually even for a lot of MNCs, wage is a concern to them and we're not the cheapest country in this region to operate in. Things that work in our favour include safety, political stability and very low corporate tax rates. So if they feel that the increase in wage is too big a trade off, it'll affect Singapore's attractiveness

still the most attractive around here ba. there are a lot of factors to consider actually like wages of low incomes, wages of the high income earners, rent, corporate tax, individual tax....

i think we definitely can tweak some of the numbers.

and actually we already have a sort of "minimum wage" in place which is called workfare. but obviously it is not enough.

fox1

How did this become discussion about chicken rice??

PS: I know I brought in the "$5 chicken rice" scenario.

:)

cwchong

so ts is saying the centerpiece of our economy is solely based on cheap, underpaid labour?

time to revamp the economy i say!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.