Should there be a minimum wage?

• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

dennismados

Let me put a nail to this coffin. I am sick of hearing people saying rot about how populist, myopic measures like Minimum Wage will "help the poor" or how "sinkies must help sinkies"

1. Minimum Wage is a broad net to ensure workers get a certain $ per hour.

2. This will invariably rise to cost pressures for businesses. Note that the bedrock of our economy are SMEs. With high rental fees, our businesses will be further stretched.

3. If you apply Minimum Wage to all, even Foreign Workers will be entitled to it. We simply cannot afford it.. Do you want your healthcare costs to further spike? A large part of healthcare workforce comes from 3rd world countries.

4. If you apply Minimum Wage to only Singaporeans, employers will be forced to either employ even Foreigners or resort to some form of automation (not billion dollar Robots)

5. Our country is small, with no natural resources. We survive because of our competitive edge. Minimum Wage wipes off that form of competitiveness.

6. Minimum Wage should not be the target of our generation.. If you are already earning "minimum wage", you should further upgrade your skills / qualifications to earn more than that.

7. " but it helps the poor". This argument holds no water. If you want to help the destitute (eg, family with disabled adults and young schooling children), applying broad minimum wage results in very little direct financial assistance to the intended family. What you should do is have higher taxes for people like Gerald Giam and offer direct subsidies / handouts for families via means testing.

8. Minimum Wage is an extremely myopic but populist campaign topic. It has been used ad nauseum overseas.

9. We are not a resource rich state like Scandinavia or Australia. We simply cannot afford to have minimum wage and YET survive when our ASEAN neighbors are clawing ahead.

10. Before someone kpkb say only PAP ibs put down minimum wage, I am a WP supporter in aljunied for the longest time but I have faith WP core cadre will not support this stupid Gerald Giam's lofty dreams.

Sent from yo momma using GAGT

Totally agree with you.
I am for singapore but i need to use brain to think too and so does you.

athulican

Let me put a nail to this coffin. I am sick of hearing people saying rot about how populist, myopic measures like Minimum Wage will "help the poor" or how "sinkies must help sinkies"

1. Minimum Wage is a broad net to ensure workers get a certain $ per hour.

2. This will invariably rise to cost pressures for businesses. Note that the bedrock of our economy are SMEs. With high rental fees, our businesses will be further stretched.

3. If you apply Minimum Wage to all, even Foreign Workers will be entitled to it. We simply cannot afford it.. Do you want your healthcare costs to further spike? A large part of healthcare workforce comes from 3rd world countries.

4. If you apply Minimum Wage to only Singaporeans, employers will be forced to either employ even Foreigners or resort to some form of automation (not billion dollar Robots)

5. Our country is small, with no natural resources. We survive because of our competitive edge. Minimum Wage wipes off that form of competitiveness.

6. Minimum Wage should not be the target of our generation.. If you are already earning "minimum wage", you should further upgrade your skills / qualifications to earn more than that.

7. " but it helps the poor". This argument holds no water. If you want to help the destitute (eg, family with disabled adults and young schooling children), applying broad minimum wage results in very little direct financial assistance to the intended family. What you should do is have higher taxes for people like Gerald Giam and offer direct subsidies / handouts for families via means testing.

8. Minimum Wage is an extremely myopic but populist campaign topic. It has been used ad nauseum overseas.

9. We are not a resource rich state like Scandinavia or Australia. We simply cannot afford to have minimum wage and YET survive when our ASEAN neighbors are clawing ahead.

10. Before someone kpkb say only PAP ibs put down minimum wage, I am a WP supporter in aljunied for the longest time but I have faith WP core cadre will not support this stupid Gerald Giam's lofty dreams.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minimum_wage

Sorry I don't see your writings there. Ya you will say wikipedia is rubbish, and Singapore is unique, and you are lumber huan. Ok....

tutukueh

Your layman non expert analysis is just that
-- layman and non expert opinion.

The rest of the first world has already LONG moved on
from the debate on the effects of the minimum wages in the 1990s
with several famous well cited studies
and yet,
we have people like yourself and others in the thread
trying to reinvent the wheel in 2015
and opine why minimum wages are a stupid idea.

My advice to you: don't be stupid.

Do you really really think that all the experts
in the rest of the first world
will recommend and implement a stupid idea
like the minimum wage?

It's really entertaining to read some of the comments in this thread.

:s22:
I simply Love how you label my argument as layman and YET you offer NO point to point rebuke but simply point to some distance references to put my opinions down.

Yes you are right, the same medication can be used for all patients. Singapore is like every country out there.. We are a big, resource rich nation. Our populace is homogenous. Our workforce is 100% local.

You ought to think a bit more.

CrimsonXross

I don't degrade people working such jobs, in fact I respect them from the heart. The fact is the majority of us despise such jobs isn't it , be true to urself.
On the side note, ain't all of us being taught in school, that if u'r in JC u will make it in life , and if u'r go to ITE u will become a failure.
I wonder how this "degrading'' practise started.

it started when girls look down on guys who doesnt work in an office environment, and the lack the ability to own a credit card

zuoom

Min wage cuts both ways.

You also can be paid min.

And if most basic services are on min wage.
Then prep for "min" price to pay for those items.

One of the most recent classic example of min wage is a viral image of computer ordering screen at a fast food chain.
At a certain rate, the human get replaced ... By a computer on a process loop.

It is a tool end of the day.

5star_pundit

singapore is a first world country yet the wages does not match countries like HongKong for example KFC is paying S$4.5/hr
whereas the min wage in HongKong is S$6/hr
http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/news/mwo.htm
the purpose of min wage is to discourage companies replacing an existing Singaporean with a foreign worker purely because of cheaper salary. And malaysian does not mind lower salary cos of the favourable exchange rate and he is spending it in m'sia.

more than 90% of all the country in the whole world have Minimum wage law why not singapore
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minimum_wage_law
if countries like HK can do well with min wage why not singapore ? it is becos HK trade union is very strong and people oriented

endlssorrow

HK belong to China ! Get it clear got China support
U spore got what? U know what's open economic anot?

chickenpiez007

Min wage cuts both ways.

You also can be paid min.

And if most basic services are on min wage.
Then prep for "min" price to pay for those items.

One of the most recent classic example of min wage is a viral image of computer ordering screen at a fast food chain.
At a certain rate, the human get replaced ... By a computer on a process loop.

It is a tool end of the day.
Are you saying by raisING productivity using automation the job will still be there?

Do you watch national TV? The very propaganda TV nedia shown by your owner?

Sent from xmm room using xmm brand ear warmer using GAGT

Valkyrie

Well, all we need to do is to reduce the foreigner population and we dun need to implement minimum wage liao.

geppar66

HK has min wage but no GST!

Singapore has GST but no min wage!

Who is better for their citizens??? :s22:

singapore is a first world country yet the wages does not match countries like HongKong for example KFC is paying S$4.5/hr
whereas the min wage in HongKong is S$6/hr

the purpose of min wage is to discourage companies replacing an existing Singaporean with a foreign worker purely because of cheaper salary. And malaysian does not mind lower salary cos of the favourable exchange rate and he is spending it in m'sia.

more than 90% of all the country in the whole world have Minimum wage law why not singapore

if countries like HK can do well with min wage why not singapore ? it is becos HK trade union is very strong and people oriented

nitokit

If companies cannot afford to pay a minimum wage of $5/hour, they might as well close down. We can afford to have such companies closing down since their business model that depends on low wages is not sustainable in the first place.

And, stop misleading people with all the scary scenarios. No one is asking for high minimum wage. Just approximately $5/hour.

nitokit

I just need to hear one good reason why companies should not be required to pay a minimum wage of at least $5/hour.

So far, I have yet to hear any.

Osenik

I simply Love how you label my argument as layman and YET you offer NO point to point rebuke but simply point to some distance references to put my opinions down.

As mentioned, there is no need for me to rebut point by point
because you offered no substantiation for any of your points.

You made claims -- with no substantiation.

Look at my post in this thread
and try to understand what is the difference
between my substantiated expert claim
and your list of layman unsubstantiated claims.

Osenik

Yes you are right, the same medication can be used for all patients. Singapore is like every country out there.. We are a big, resource rich nation. Our populace is homogenous. Our workforce is 100% local.

You ought to think a bit more.

Just more of your non expert unsubstantiated opinions
that further exposes your inability to present a substantiated argument
and understand economics
(how does any of the above affect minimum wages/employment).

JinnyInTheBottle

Minimum wage is all about being compassionate and fairness my friend.

Still a handful of people earning below $1K and that is like earning below $3.50 per hour which is really WTF.

if this is not exploitation i dunno what is

endlssorrow

Not sure about min wage per hour
Say $5? Then one day work 8hr then one week is $200?
Then one month is $800 at least?

PeanutButtor

if you come from not wealthy income group, never ask your mama and papa how much they are earning per month?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.