Will S’pore residents really throw unbagged rubbish down chute over plastic bag charge?

Mystyque

besides being recycleable, most plastic bags are incinerated in sg along with other rubbish, so the issue is littering or dumping and lack of recycling?
the issue is after incinerating, the plastic bags will go into the sea and choke up poor sea animals! sho we must save them! 😭

couch.potato

Did any one talk to her about it?
I doubt it cus tbh nowadays new bto very fragile eco balance… all just nod head nia. Idk leh, I think its ofc v cowardly of us la but everyone don’t want trouble with neighbours, after all gg to stay here for a while.

they are a family, couple live w mom too and two kids, and quite friendly like to say hi, but even cny time very inconsiderate, friends like to come and drink until corridor dirty, hire dong dong chiang then scatter all the food on the floor (pomelo and confetti) they don’t clean de.

and tbh her immediate neighbours suffer more than my side (we have 3 units each side of the lift) cus the family piles a lot of stuff outside the corridor area as our shared area is actually quite generous. Ah wells. Low SES problem since if landed no such problem.

trevlim

the issue is after incinerating, the plastic bags will go into the sea and choke up poor sea animals! sho we must save them! 😭
hmm, incinerated means become some kind of ash material which can be used on landfills.
those rubbish you see on our coastlines and sea, some may not originate from sg also.

Ethan_

My mother's rental flat, can hear people throw glass, presumably beer bottles straight down the chute.

Also have people blatantly throwing rubbish out the window, usually sweet potato skin, dirtying laundry that is hung out to dry.
Think quite some not so civilise one. Some is don't know why at night alot of things to throw, be it bottle or can, ping ping piang piang one. And they tend throw it lose, so the repertoire of sound at night can be quite irritating. :s22:

Mystyque

hmm, incinerated means become some kind of ash material which can be used on landfills.
those rubbish you see on our coastlines and sea, some may not originate from sg also.
precisely why all these eco-efforts with straws and plastic bags sound like bullsh1t :s13:

qwerty_hippo

Miw will install cctv. Anyone caught throwing unbag thrash will be fine $10k.

meanwhile increase plastic bag to 0,50 to raise awareness and impose new waste removal fee $10 per pax per month.

if use above a certain plastic bag, will impose additional carbon tax.

BlackWing1977

I'm still thinking if I should throw unbagged rubbish, or buy a lot of cheap plastic bags from shopee and taobao and spam them.

Maybe can mass sell plastic bags cheap so many sinkies will use them and pollute the environment with non biodegradable stuff.
Biodegradable one sibei jialat.. break down sibei fast one.. like hospital plastic bag.. literally break down on you while I hang the bag with the items still inside...

Hiling care

Biodegradable one sibei jialat.. break down sibei fast one.. like hospital plastic bag.. literally break down on you while I hang the bag with the items still inside...
I dun care one.

Since PAP want to charge for plastic bag, I will just spam usage of non-biodegradeable bags. I will buy them in bulk cheap and recycle less of everything. Maybe even do a mass order for everyone.

Let PAP's greed pollute the environment.

btw Leezy jin chio.

ZETMAN

You guys know what they will do right.. They will appoint a trash inspection ambassador. 1 per RC Zone.
All trash needs to be brought down and checked by the ambassador before disposal.
So you need to bag your trash and bring it down to the RC for inspection and disposal.
Can only throw trash from Mondays to Fridays, 0800 to 1700. Weekends and PH you gotta store the trash at home.
create jobs for the win

yobyella

Yes, i would! I am struggling to earn a decent living. Every cents counts. :unsure:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.