~ Winter @ Hokkaido ~

bryando

Just found out I am supposed to have 1 full free day at Sapporo. Any kind souls can advise where/what to go or do? hopefully can still explore the Snow Fes as my free day is on the 12th while I understand the Fes is till 11th Feb......

swalk21

Got a fren went during april, flowers seasons, not bad, but dun know wat flowers.

Depend on where u plan to go loh, Hakodate & Sapporo is 3-4hrs away from train.

Hello bear, thanks. Am having post-holiday trip blues now.
Both gd and bad experience

When u going japan again?

Thank you. I booked the domestic air tickets instead from narita to Sapporo. Just going to base my trip there

chaotah

question again.

if walking in city only, is waterproof shoes a must?

Wood41

Just found out I am supposed to have 1 full free day at Sapporo. Any kind souls can advise where/what to go or do? hopefully can still explore the Snow Fes as my free day is on the 12th while I understand the Fes is till 11th Feb......

Not too sure but read online :
Those monster snow displays will be demolished once festival over as they are risky of collapse.

vaxvms

Apologies to hijack this thread.

Is Hokkaido worth visiting in April ? If yes, will Hakodate or Sapporo be a better place to based in?

Also , the Hokkaido railpass worth getting or get the jr 7 days pass? Or just fly in from narita after touch down at narita airport?

if hakodate or sapporo u can onlu visit 1 , than no doubt sapporo

we take train up hokkaido is for experience train ride all the way up
if time not on ur side, than fly to chitose or kushiro, depending whr u planning to go

bryando

Not too sure but read online :
Those monster snow displays will be demolished once festival over as they are risky of collapse.

hmmmm...thanks for the tip.....checked my tour group schedule.....the snow fes I will get to experience on 11Feb evening, so thats lucky to be covered.....just that I will have 1 full day free n easy on 12th, so not really sure what to do.

anyone can advise which of the below I should really attempt to cover?
Saporro park
moiwa hill
tv tower
hitsujigaoka
takino park
okurayama

many thanks for any kind souls' advice.....

Wood41

A few other ice fes e.g Soundkyo & Oturo will still be going on.
I will be there this weekend till next Sat , going for
ice / snow fes at Sapporo/ Soundkyo/ Abashiri/ 旭川 etc.

cheefarn

better to have not only water proof shoe, but also water proof pants in winter

Well jeans will do. A thermal underwear pants inside will make sure your bum is nice and warm. But of cos, it will always be a bitch whenever u want to go to the toilet with such setup. And trust me, you will pee a lot during winter... :s13:

water proof pants may not block wind chill well...

xiaojing11

any pic to share xiaojing?

including pics of handsome Hokkaido guys she met along the way?:s13:
Photos still in my hp and ipad, not yet upload.
Here hv few winter trip reports, u all can go search.

Buey tahan u 2. I only saw 2 gd looking guys, and no pics of them.
I will only take phtos of elvin ng, faithful to him only. :) Not jus for his looks, also his characters and mindset. Mr Nice Guy. :p

fuzzybear

Got a fren went during april, flowers seasons, not bad, but dun know wat flowers.

Depend on where u plan to go loh, Hakodate & Sapporo is 3-4hrs away from train.

Hello bear, thanks. Am having post-holiday trip blues now.
Both gd and bad experiences wor.

I am not coming.

When u going japan again?

ahahsure enjoy your trip i bet u love go back even its biting u hard the cold

xiaojing11

ahahsure enjoy your trip i bet u love go back even its biting u hard the cold
Hmm, i dun wan to rem the unpleasant and unhappy experiences.
But i do miss my happy and peaceful days in hokkaido. Although can be lonely at times, but a lot of freedom!

Dun think i am going back during the winter season, it is too harmful for my body. :(

PS: I do miss the hokkaido trains, so quiet. Unlike sg one, so noisy, pple talking non-stop, canot tahan.

fuzzybear

Hmm, i dun wan to rem the unpleasant and unhappy experiences.
But i do miss my happy and peaceful days in hokkaido. Although can be lonely at times, but a lot of freedom!

Dun think i am going back during the winter season, it is too harmful for my body. :(

PS: I do miss the hokkaido trains, so quiet. Unlike sg one, so noisy, pple talking non-stop, canot tahan.
Yalor actually Jp train is a rule of don't talk loud or ok phone even no ring ring too

chaotah

thinking of visiting shiroi koibito park + otaru tmrw.
any feedback on this? anyone know how to go otaru from shiroi koibito park?
will it be too rush?
maybe 2 hrs at the shiroi koibito park, then a few hours at otaru for the lights at night.

xiaojing11

A bit lazy to share my trip review and upload the photos, but here's what i have bought, hehe.
If any kind soul wans to help me buy things from japan, can let me know? Arigato gozaimasu~

The pooh and piano are music box. :p

Travel date: 21st - 28th January 2015
Air ticket: Only $670 + $50 changed travel dates (promotion rate)
Airline: Thai Airways, transit at BKK (comfortable seat, with inflight meals and entertainment)
Places i went: Sapporo, Otaru, Asahiyama Zoo and Rusutsu Snow Resort
Hotel i stayed: Gracery Hotel Sapporo

This was my 2nd solo trip (1st solo trip also to Japan), and 3rd trip to Japan.

:)

jimmy_sg

When I was coming back from CTS, I met a snowstorm. My flight was grounded. But, JAL was quick to reschedule me for the next day flight, have to call their hotline thou. Was so afraid that I can't return before CNY...

Xiaojing: You went to so many places! I only covered Otaru and Sapporo. But next time I will want to go Niseko, Asahiyama Zoo and Rusutsu. Btw, I also went to Jozankei (定山渓) for Onsen and BBQ in Snow Dome!

xiaojing11

When I was coming back from CTS, I met a snowstorm. My flight was grounded. But, JAL was quick to reschedule me for the next day flight, have to call their hotline thou. Was so afraid that I can't return before CNY...

Xiaojing: You went to so many places! I only covered Otaru and Sapporo. But next time I will want to go Niseko, Asahiyama Zoo and Rusutsu. Btw, I also went to Jozankei (定山渓) for Onsen and BBQ in Snow Dome!

Not many places. Actually jozankei onsen was in my planned itinerary too, but last min changes, so i nv go.

Asahiyama zoo is a must go for the penguins!! I watched the 2 timing of penguins parade. 1st one only watched 1/2 way becos i jus reached. 2nd one i watched from the start till the end. Only 1 small penguin joined the adult penguins for the parade. The small penguin super cute, quite mischievous in a way... simply enjoyed the parade despite the freezing coldness. I spent most of the time in the zoo was at penguins, becos they were my main objective, enjoyed it. :p

Rusutsu, i only tried horse ridding, so scared lah, but the horse very guai. Can't try dog sledding due to poor weather conditions. I no ski.

BBQ at snow dome! Wahh~

sherry02

Is transport system in hokkaido? I dun travel n will be going solo?

Not many places. Actually jozankei onsen was in my planned itinerary too, but last min changes, so i nv go.

Asahiyama zoo is a must go for the penguins!! I watched the 2 timing of penguins parade. 1st one only watched 1/2 way becos i jus reached. 2nd one i watched from the start till the end. Only 1 small penguin joined the adult penguins for the parade. The small penguin super cute, quite mischievous in a way... simply enjoyed the parade despite the freezing coldness. I spent most of the time in the zoo was at penguins, becos they were my main objective, enjoyed it. :p

Rusutsu, i only tried horse ridding, so scared lah, but the horse very guai. Can't try dog sledding due to poor weather conditions. I no ski.

BBQ at snow dome! Wahh~

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.