Wireless bluetooth EAR BUDS recommendations

lousydrinker

meh. need to really speak up to hear voices. It's kinda similar to most budget TWS with just 1 mic. Because of the design, that mic is not even near mouth, so by default it just tries to compensate with boosting voices. in a very quiet room, probably fine. But with ppl talking around it, it will just boost those voices too which makes it a bit harder to hear the person who you actually want to hear. I tested with my sister talking on it while tv in the background with playing a talkshow.

Think my friend bought T5, call quality not too bad. Now T5S got pink color, buying 1 for my gf

lousydrinker

yeah. i requested refund after 60 days, and AE accepted and refunded since it was over 60day. The tracking only updated to say reach SG after i got the refund back in my account. a bit wtf.

tested a bit, it's not bad sounding actually. quite balance sounding, though a bit lacking is bass impact for my taste. Mids are forward in the mix which i definitely like, though has that upper mids boost like the T5 which can make higher vocals a tad shouty. detail retrieval is meh as expected, soundstage and separation is meh too. Think I remember T5 being a bit better in those regard. but considering the price, it's good.

But volume is loud too. i'm using 50% on these at home only. But the weird thing is that when i'm below 50%, right side becomes softer than the left. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ At first i still thought channel imbalance.

App is a bit f-ed up since it require location permission to even connect, and need to create account using phone number.

10 band EQ customisable and same for controls, and they stick to the earbuds. So after tweaking the settings you want, if you pair to another phone, even without app the same tweaks will be there. the EQ options are trash as far as i can tell. Manual EQ will drastically lower the overall volume for some reason and push the mids back. like just boosting the bass by a few dB the volume drops, but even if i increase the volume to a same output level the mids still sounds pushed back.

My guess is that even though default shows a flat line, it's not. but when you manually tweak any 1 of the 10 bands, it legit goes back to a flat EQ and lets you tune from there. Which is confusing AF. easier to just use a third party music player to tweak.

Got app for this?

Alexz_Hong

Think my friend bought T5, call quality not too bad. Now T5S got pink color, buying 1 for my gf

Yeah. T5 is actually pretty okay, probably because of the stem design, so mic closer to mouth. There is an app to tweak some settings.

lousydrinker

Yeah. T5 is actually pretty okay, probably because of the stem design, so mic closer to mouth. There is an app to tweak some settings.

Oh, just found out his is T5S, i assume is improved version of T5. But is touch buttons, i dun quite like touch button since it can be easily turned off or skip track. Read some reviews, some girls hair touched the sensor, also skipped tracks

So the app to tweak is QCY?

Alexz_Hong

Oh, just found out his is T5S, i assume is improved version of T5. But is touch buttons, i dun quite like touch button since it can be easily turned off or skip track. Read some reviews, some girls hair touched the sensor, also skipped tracks

yeah. T5S supports the app as well. Well.. i don't have long hair, so i don't really know if that will actually skip tracks :s13:

kokfann

It’s not that sensitive and you could tweak the double/triple tap to no action if that’s your worry.

xxSaDanxx

Hi all. Just sent back my Fiil T1x to check. The right side not able to charge after 1.5mths. It’s good but the QC like not there.

Which of the following will you recommend?
- Creative Outlier Air (promo price @ $79)
- Creative Outlier Gold ($129)
- Samsung Galaxy Buds+ (Carousell ~$160?)
- Soundpeats Truedots (~$50)

I’m using it to pair my iPhone 11 if it matters. Mainly using it for driving, jogging and watching movie.

Main requirements:
- min IPX5 due to jogging
- each side able work independently
- min lag when watching movie.
- can made decent calls
- local warranty
- without ‘stem’ type
- budget prefer not more than $150

Thank you!

wwh5210

Hi all. Just sent back my Fiil T1x to check. The right side not able to charge after 1.5mths. It’s good but the QC like not there.

Which of the following will you recommend?
- Creative Outlier Air (promo price @ $79)
- Creative Outlier Gold ($129)
- Samsung Galaxy Buds+ (Carousell ~$160?)
- Soundpeats Truedots (~$50)

I’m using it to pair my iPhone 11 if it matters. Mainly using it for driving, jogging and watching movie.

Main requirements:
- min IPX5 due to jogging
- each side able work independently
- min lag when watching movie.
- can made decent calls
- local warranty
- without ‘stem’ type
- budget prefer not more than $150

Thank you!

Maybe u can consider Anker Soundcore series? I am using Liberty Air 2. Decent audio quality with excellent voice call quality. With 12 months LOCAL warranty as well.

kazuki666

yeah. i requested refund after 60 days, and AE accepted and refunded since it was over 60day. The tracking only updated to say reach SG after i got the refund back in my account. a bit wtf.

tested a bit, it's not bad sounding actually. quite balance sounding, though a bit lacking is bass impact for my taste. Mids are forward in the mix which i definitely like, though has that upper mids boost like the T5 which can make higher vocals a tad shouty. detail retrieval is meh as expected, soundstage and separation is meh too. Think I remember T5 being a bit better in those regard. but considering the price, it's good.

But volume is loud too. i'm using 50% on these at home only. But the weird thing is that when i'm below 50%, right side becomes softer than the left. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ At first i still thought channel imbalance.

App is a bit f-ed up since it require location permission to even connect, and need to create account using phone number.

10 band EQ customisable and same for controls, and they stick to the earbuds. So after tweaking the settings you want, if you pair to another phone, even without app the same tweaks will be there. the EQ options are trash as far as i can tell. Manual EQ will drastically lower the overall volume for some reason and push the mids back. like just boosting the bass by a few dB the volume drops, but even if i increase the volume to a same output level the mids still sounds pushed back.

My guess is that even though default shows a flat line, it's not. but when you manually tweak any 1 of the 10 bands, it legit goes back to a flat EQ and lets you tune from there. Which is confusing AF. easier to just use a third party music player to tweak.

You have or getting T5S or T5 Pro? I wonder how the comparison. I noticed about the EQ customisable too. Default sound loud but can be a little flat if one wants more punch. But once customise EQ le, volume significantly drop.

I see those korean youtube reviews, most of them are quite wary of the app because its not on Play and iOS.

Alexz_Hong

You have or getting T5S or T5 Pro? I wonder how the comparison. I noticed about the EQ customisable too. Default sound loud but can be a little flat if one wants more punch. But once customise EQ le, volume significantly drop.

I see those korean youtube reviews, most of them are quite wary of the app because its not on Play and iOS.

Probably not ba. I'm not really a fan of those with stem. T5 Pro is intriguing, but i'm wary of the BA driver. I feel like cheap DD are easier to "get right" compared to cheap BA driver, at least that has been my (somewhat limited) experience with IEMs. :s13:

Same for me when it comes to the app. and it's not just volume drop, the whole sound signature changes and the mids gets drowned out too for some reason. I went to see if scarbir has reviewed the T4 but he hasn't, but he reviewed the T6 and he commented about the exact same issue.

Also if you remove location permission afterward, parts of the app becomes sluggish for some reason, the map provider to show location where the earbuds were last connected doesn't have mapping data outside of china, and if you want to use that quick connect feature and let that app run in background I feel like it uses way too much power. So the app is really quite useless to me. the only consolation is that the settings stick to the earbuds, so tweak the controls once, then just remove the app. lol.

i installed the app from playstore though.

Edit: oh yeah, does your t4 have the issue where one side is softer in volume than the other when the volume is below 50%?

9j50qso.jpg

kazuki666

Probably not ba. I'm not really a fan of those with stem. T5 Pro is intriguing, but i'm wary of the BA driver. I feel like cheap DD are easier to "get right" compared to cheap BA driver, at least that has been my (somewhat limited) experience with IEMs. :s13:

Same for me when it comes to the app. and it's not just volume drop, the whole sound signature changes and the mids gets drowned out too for some reason. I went to see if scarbir has reviewed the T4 but he hasn't, but he reviewed the T6 and he commented about the exact same issue.

Also if you remove location permission afterward, parts of the app becomes sluggish for some reason, the map provider to show location where the earbuds were last connected doesn't have mapping data outside of china, and if you want to use that quick connect feature and let that app run in background I feel like it uses way too much power. So the app is really quite useless to me. the only consolation is that the settings stick to the earbuds, so tweak the controls once, then just remove the app. lol.

i installed the app from playstore though.

Edit: oh yeah, does your t4 have the issue where one side is softer in volume than the other when the volume is below 50%?
9j50qso.jpg

Because the impression of BD is better, but usually need manufacturers to optimise tune and more drivers to really sound better. While DD is on the affordable budget for general public.

Strange, I was sure I didnt see the QCY app on Play last week... As for the app location tracking function, I even tried to download the China apk map indicated, but it doesnt work too. U tried the find earphone button? Is it same as mine, only can hear beepings on the earphones and provided bluetooth is turned on? I find this "find function" quite a joke. I think I will try another month, if still no triple tap function update, i will give up.

I am quite a deaf person, so I thought is my ears' problem. Yes, my left earbud is slightly louder. Actually I just tried, up to around 80% volume on phone, can still feel left side is a little louder. How about yours?

Alexz_Hong

Because the impression of BD is better, but usually need manufacturers to optimise tune and more drivers to really sound better. While DD is on the affordable budget for general public.

Strange, I was sure I didnt see the QCY app on Play last week... As for the app location tracking function, I even tried to download the China apk map indicated, but it doesnt work too. U tried the find earphone button? Is it same as mine, only can hear beepings on the earphones and provided bluetooth is turned on? I find this "find function" quite a joke. I think I will try another month, if still no triple tap function update, i will give up.

I am quite a deaf person, so I thought is my ears' problem. Yes, my left earbud is slightly louder. Actually I just tried, up to around 80% volume on phone, can still feel left side is a little louder. How about yours?

haha. yeah. i think that feature is used for like maybe when you drop the earbuds and lose track of it, so play a beeping sound to help you find it. kinda pointless since if it's connected already, can just play some loud music too. The map provider don't even have mapping data outside of china, so unless they change to using google maps api, it wouldn't show anything anyway. but then if use Google maps, then it wouldn't work well in china. Great firewall of china. hahah. I don't think it will get the option to customise triple tap actually. my guess is that for models with touch controls, customise double and triple tap, since it's easier to accidentally touch once. for models with buttons, will be customise single and double click, since it's really hard to triple click with the slightly stiff buttons anyway. :s13:

hmmm... strange. you're using default EQ? for me on default EQ (which is actually quite tastefully done), anything below 50%, the right side will be softer in volume by around 5-7%. 50% and above, will be balanced.

kazuki666

Out of curiosity, I uninstalled the QR code installed apk, and install from play store. Pulling my hair why can't log in, then I realized the app not that smart, so I have register a new account, strange...

Then tested the map function, it "found" me in Beijing now. Wth lol

EsmO2Kzl.jpg

I was quite certain I saw triple tap on qcy tmall webpage for T4 de :( . Btw, your apk version is 0.0.36 ??? I think I saw on YouTube those using T5s get newer version, so I wonder does firmware version actually recognise by earphones...

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

Alexz_Hong

Out of curiosity, I uninstalled the QR code installed apk, and install from play store. Pulling my hair why can't log in, then I realized the app not that smart, so I have register a new account, strange...

Then tested the map function, it "found" me in Beijing now. Wth lol

I was quite certain I saw triple tap on qcy tmall webpage for T4 de :( . Btw, your apk version is 0.0.36 ??? I think I saw on YouTube those using T5s get newer version, so I wonder does firmware version actually recognise by earphones...

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

lol. yeah. their listing on aliexpress the app show is customise double and triple click. not sure if it's an error or what. can only wait and see lor. you mean the T4 firmware? it's 0.0.36 also. then the app itself is V1.1.15_67

xxSaDanxx

I would highly suggest not buying any Anker earbud products unless you can get pass the white noise static that appears before and after any sound.

Oh! Thanks for sharing. Any other models that you recommend which does not have the white static noise?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.