Xiaomi Mi Max - Part 2

Alwaysb

Meaning battery above 60% it will cit off and not support 3.0 fast charge?

I was charging my phone yesterday at 13% left. I ised my fast charge 2.0 from samsung. It says 2hr 30mins left.

What is the average time you need to charge using your 3.0 fast charge huh?

It's officially supported by Qualcomm, but cuts off above 60% battery (from users testing). I'm using a Aukey 6port charger with 2 QC3.0 ports.

Alwaysb

Need new account meh... you try picodicny. Got $8. I tried that day

Shopee MiMax @ 208.88 limited to 1 set only.Is it possible to register another account to buy another set but delivery address is the same with New acc discount of $5 again ?

Audiology93

Hi guys, got another new xiaomi max just arrived. Check the version 8.0.3.0 global miui 8. 64gb version. I check for system updates there are no updates. Why. Thanks
Opps!:s8:

Sounds familiar.....:o

You have gotten it from Simder, didn't you?

If so, this is the 2nd case I have heard of from simder...
Hmmm.... For the simder set.

Even if it is preloaded with a Global 8.0.3.0 rom in which it was an official global rom version. That rom still can be a 3rd party / custom rom, right?

Coz if it was an official global rom 8.0.3.0 from official Xiaomi site, it should be able to get updated, and not because the update server does not recognize old version of official rom thus "rejects" the update?
Yup, I got from Simder also no auto update. Had to go manually flash it myself. :s12:
Why huh? Sell used set issit?
This is why. But if you know how to flash then its not an issue.

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

kandinsky

Just to share, helped a relative order a 64gb from lazada/newstar last week.

Arrived with:

MIUI Global 8.0
Stable
8.0.3.0 (MBDMIDG)

Now updating to MIUI V8.1.9.0 (MBDMIDI) Stable 1.3G

----------------

Does this look okay to you guys?

zibellino

Just to share, helped a relative order a 64gb from lazada/newstar last week.

Arrived with:

MIUI Global 8.0
Stable
8.0.3.0 (MBDMIDG)

Now updating to MIUI V8.1.9.0 (MBDMIDI) Stable 1.3G

----------------

Does this look okay to you guys?

yes it is the latest rom for prime but you can flash using miflash to be safe if you want

limcc

Meaning battery above 60% it will cit off and not support 3.0 fast charge?

I was charging my phone yesterday at 13% left. I ised my fast charge 2.0 from samsung. It says 2hr 30mins left.

What is the average time you need to charge using your 3.0 fast charge huh?

I did share my finding of MiMax charging behavior in part 1.

MiMax Officially supported QC3.0, as stated clearly in Qualcomm QC3.0 support list. The main different between QC2.0 and QC3.0 is the variation of charging voltage. QC2.0 is fixed at 5V, 9V, 12V and 20V; QC3.0 can vary between 3.6V to 20V to optimise between temperature and charging efficiency.

To claim Mi Max doesn't support QC3.0 just because it doesn't use up 18W is totally false. fyi, QC2.0 can also go up to 18W.

20V is too much for mobile phone, even 12v is rarely used, the most common voltage used by QC2.0 is 9V. for QC3.0, most phone start from 9V, gradually step down to ~6V when the battery filling up to 80%, after that the charging speed is the same as ordinary charger.

From my experience with ~40% left, using QC3.0 charger, Phone will start at 9V in the first few minutes then drop to ~6.5V till full, current is about 1.5A; with QC2.0 charger, voltage is 9V--since the next lowest voltage is 5V--till full, only current vary.

hk7310

I have similar problem. GPS on Google Map is slow to show up my current location, once you turn on the app. It take longer than usual, comparatively longer than my old Redmi 2 prime.

mojojoel

Browsing Aliexpress and found this case...:s8:

It looks quite nice! :s22: So, I ordered a Gold (non-sandy) to try at US$3.99.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/For...32787741049.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.0.HWt7r8 :s22:

AhHtTFQ.jpg

sxfRxMO.jpg

I've got a few of similar casings, usually around US$2 leh

erickyoko

wanna buy 2nd set Mi Max for my father...haha...anyone bought from UMI Tech before?seem like their shop is the cheapest after $80 discount

kelvinti

wanna buy 2nd set Mi Max for my father...haha...anyone bought from UMI Tech before?seem like their shop is the cheapest after $80 discount

From the reviews of 2 buyers in these 2 days, it looks good. :)

I would suggest a Self collection.

Also, call them to check what rom is their set and would they install the official global rom for you just to make sure it is not preloaded with a "fake" global rom that cannot be updated and that you need to flash it yourself at home after collection.

Alwaysb

Wah... abit "chim" explaination for me. But reading your comments 3 times... i suppose no diff to use wither 2.0 or 3.0 since both supports 9v and drop to 6 or 5v

Is my conclusion correct?

I did share my finding of MiMax charging behavior in part 1.

MiMax Officially supported QC3.0, as stated clearly in Qualcomm QC3.0 support list. The main different between QC2.0 and QC3.0 is the variation of charging voltage. QC2.0 is fixed at 5V, 9V, 12V and 20V; QC3.0 can vary between 3.6V to 20V to optimise between temperature and charging efficiency.

To claim Mi Max doesn't support QC3.0 just because it doesn't use up 18W is totally false. fyi, QC2.0 can also go up to 18W.

20V is too much for mobile phone, even 12v is rarely used, the most common voltage used by QC2.0 is 9V. for QC3.0, most phone start from 9V, gradually step down to ~6V when the battery filling up to 80%, after that the charging speed is the same as ordinary charger.

From my experience with ~40% left, using QC3.0 charger, Phone will start at 9V in the first few minutes then drop to ~6.5V till full, current is about 1.5A; with QC2.0 charger, voltage is 9V--since the next lowest voltage is 5V--till full, only current vary.

kandinsky

MiMax Officially supported QC3.0, as stated clearly in Qualcomm QC3.0 support list.

Thanks for the clarification. I admit I don't understand the qc3.0 implementation on a technical level. :o

My main reasons for saying it's not officially supported (to me), are these two points:

1. This note on the Qualcomm support list "These devices contain the hardware necessary to achieve Quick Charge 3.0. It is at the device manufacturer’s discretion to fully enable this feature."

To me, this is pretty clear. Qualcomm is saying that just because a device is on the list does not equate to official support. As they explained quite clearly, they are just listing that these devices contain the hardware that can achieve QC 3.0, provided the manufacturer has fully enabled it. If they meant that every device on the list = officially supports QC3.0, then there is no need to include this note.

2. Xiaomi does not list the feature on the Mi Max spec list.

If it's an official feature, you can be pretty sure they will list it, like they do for Mi 5.

So to me, these two points are sufficient to call it "unofficial qc 3.0". But at the end of the day, we're just splitting hairs. You can think it's official, and I can think it's unofficial, doesn't really matter to others. Doesn't change how it charges. Thanks for sharing :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.