Xiaomi Mi Max - Part 2

kelvinti

thinking of getting 32gb local set or 64gb export.. lol

Ah beng should go for export set 64 for faster cpu. Warranty or not is secondary at such price coz this is not a > $400 price tag toy.

You should know that a 64 sexport set is even cheaper than a 32 local sex.... Kekeke.

If you have the budget to spend for 32 local set, you can even go all the way for 128 export set instead bah for more ram and more storage and more cpu power! Right? :)

No need to ding dong ding dong...likes a Mazda 3 driver... Kekeke.

anirudhks

Ah beng should go for export set 64 for faster cpu. Warranty or not is secondary at such price coz this is not a > $400 price tag toy.

You should know that a 64 sexport set is even cheaper than a 32 local sex.... Kekeke.

If you have the budget to spend for 32 local set, you can even go all the way for 128 export set instead bah for more ram and more storage and more cpu power! Right? :)

bro anyother lobang? this newstar is no stock . now I want to get the 128 at good price not 400+ :( ...

anirudhks

You mean the shopee - Newstar for 128 no more stock? :eek:

yes he say out of stock since yestarday . all orders closed. and will need to wait 2 weeks . I am trying to see if Simder have stock so that i can order via Lazada for 360 and see if he allows pickup .

kelvinti

yes he say out of stock since yestarday . all orders closed. and will need to wait 2 weeks . I am trying to see if Simder have stock so that i can order via Lazada for 360 and see if he allows pickup .

OIC! :eek:

Yeah! Next in line will be Simder on Lazada!

Call Simder now!

falcom2002

App to translate Chinese into English using camera

Hi Max brothers,

Anyone knows an app that can translate Chinese words
into English using the phone camera?

Example, saw some Chinese words on a packet label of
a product and want to use the phone camera to translate
into English. Thanks in advance.

Ah_Ben

bro.. i ish no ah beng.. lol

anyway simder selling at $299 for 3GB / 64GB.. good price?

anirudhks

Hi Max brothers,

google translate should do real time using the camera.

kelvinti

bro.. i ish no ah beng.. lol

anyway simder selling at $299 for 3GB / 64GB.. good price?

Opps! =:p It's Ben not Beng! Blamed the SwifyKey auto-correction! :s13:

$299 is a bit expensive for 3/64...

At that price, I rather add more about $50+ to get the 4/128!

Again, you must look at it this way...

Let's said that you use it for 1 year (At least). It's just a mere $4..20 extra per month......about a McChicken's price nia! So.......:s8:

mojojoel

Hi Max brothers,

Google Translate!

Ah_Ben

bro whr to get $50+ additional for 128gb? simder selling at 400 man

Opps! =:p It's Ben not Beng! Blamed the SwifyKey auto-correction! :s13:

$299 is a bit expensive for 3/64...

At that price, I rather add more about $50+ to get the 4/128!

Again, you must look at it this way...

Let's said that you use it for 1 year (At least). It's just a mere $4..20 extra per month......about a McChicken's price nia! So.......:s8:

limcc

Wah... abit "chim" explaination for me. But reading your comments 3 times... i suppose no diff to use wither 2.0 or 3.0 since both supports 9v and drop to 6 or 5v

Is my conclusion correct?

Actually QC2.0 will give higher output cause the voltage will stay at 9V thru out, where as the QC3.0 will drop tp ~6.6V, since the current mostly remain equal--about 1.4A till 80%--9vx 1.4A = ~12.5W on QC2.0 vs 6.6vx 1.4A ~9.5W on QC3.0 charger.

Thanks for the clarification. I admit I don't understand the qc3.0 implementation on a technical level. :o

My main reasons for saying it's not officially supported (to me), are these two points:

1. This note on the Qualcomm support list "These devices contain the hardware necessary to achieve Quick Charge 3.0. It is at the device manufacturer’s discretion to fully enable this feature."

To me, this is pretty clear. Qualcomm is saying that just because a device is on the list does not equate to official support. As they explained quite clearly, they are just listing that these devices contain the hardware that can achieve QC 3.0, provided the manufacturer has fully enabled it. If they meant that every device on the list = officially supports QC3.0, then there is no need to include this note.

2. Xiaomi does not list the feature on the Mi Max spec list.

If it's an official feature, you can be pretty sure they will list it, like they do for Mi 5.

So to me, these two points are sufficient to call it "unofficial qc 3.0". But at the end of the day, we're just splitting hairs. You can think it's official, and I can think it's unofficial, doesn't really matter to others. Doesn't change how it charges. Thanks for sharing :)

My apology if the words I chosen had offended you, it wasn't my intention. :o

My understanding of the Qualcomm note is to shield them from any liability cause every its ultimately the phone manufacturer we are dealing with, not Qualcomm. The phone maker can choose how to implement the charging spec as long as its within Qualcomm spec. Qualcomm had been under fire by USB-IF cause anything above 5V on vBus is forbidden on standard USB cable, neither Type A or Type C. unless both device and cable are speced to USB-PD.

I will use Samsung S7 as example, the Qualcomm version use SD820 and all electronic inside are capable of QC3.0 but they chose to spec to QC2.0 only because their Exynos 8890 isn’t compatible with QC3.0. They probably did that to make both specs more consistent.

And my take on why Xiaomi never state QC on MiMax, I think the most main reason is the phone do not ship with QC charger. understandable cause it will bump up the price. Xiaomi strategy is to keep cost as low as possible and sell as cheap as they can afford.

I don't have the Mi Max with me anymore--given to my friend as his first smartphone :) --below is the charging ampere I got previously

161123_zps8svefkep.jpg

The app measure current input minus phone power consumption, as you can see, some figure is very low or even 0.

Again, no offense to anyone, just sharing my finding. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.