Xiaomi Mi Max

lanzhu60

when using pc mi suite, it prompt " need to update ur device " before connecting... my rom ver is 7.3.11 from the seller . anyone encounter ?

i1magic

hihi,

very sad day for me..i dropped my mi max and the entire screen cracked..anyone knows any where got mi max screen replacement service? thanks in advance le~

I replaced mine mi4i screen at xiaomi service center before for about $150. They are at Central mall. I know I could have top up a bit more to.get a new phone but problem was I couldn't retrieved the data at all as the touch screen was jammed after the glass cracked.

Sent from Xiaomi MI 4I using GAGT

Yah. This is the main reason why the phone I used, MUST have microSD card slot. Anything wrong with the phone, just take out the microSD card can liao.

Will lose Whatsapp pictures and video lah.

ccn666

Damn good review!

Wow, thanks a bunch for such an awesome video review. The reviewer was brutally honest, objective & very knowledgeable. He didn't just review the Mi Max but he also touched on the corporate direction of Xiaomi & the right size for a phone to hold in one hand comfortably. Glad that I didn't waste 23 minutes watching some cheerleader posing as a reviewer. But then again, this review is not for everyone because not everyone can understand Chinese... er, also not every Chinese can understand Mandarin. :)

China man indepth video review

ccn666

Can't live without microSD!

Yup, a microSD card is a MUST for me too, ABSOLUTELY!!! It is absolutely a deal breaker for me if a smartphone or tablet comes without a microSD card slot... I really don't care how bloody cheap or how bloody awesome the device is.
Because the first thing I will do when I get a new device is to install TWRP & do a full nandroid backup into the microSD card. So when sh*t happens (hardware or software failures), I will just buy the exact same device (new or used, which will always be cheaper as time goes by) & stick in the microSD card & restore the nandroid backup so that I can get all my important stuff back in no time!
Yes, it's kind of technical & you need to know what you are doing but trust me when I say that nandroid has saved my butt so many times that I have lost count! The hardware is getting cheaper by the day but no amount of money in the world can buy back your lost data.

Yah. This is the main reason why the phone I used, MUST have microSD card slot. Anything wrong with the phone, just take out the microSD card can liao.

Will lose Whatsapp pictures and video lah.

geckoSG

I was really looking forward to get this for reading mails, surfing forums. But once i read the review, was kinda disappointed in the product itself. But he was damn right about the directions. I would expect the price of this to be much lower since its performance sits on the redmi range zone. Not expecting to pay above 259 for this.

pilico

I was really looking forward to get this for reading mails, surfing forums. But once i read the review, was kinda disappointed in the product itself. But he was damn right about the directions. I would expect the price of this to be much lower since its performance sits on the redmi range zone. Not expecting to pay above 259 for this.

I agree that this is a ~259-299 phone but the extra you are paying are for the battery and large screen.
Local redmi note 3 are selling at 299, imho paying 330 for mi max is too much. (some export online stores are selling the 3gb 32 gb version for 299)

bbcccc

k la
like tt, mi note 3 shd b selling at 199 n redmi 3 at 99 liao
any cheaper can try bo brand ah tiong fones le
beta than xperia A
sd 650 n selling at 720...

bbcccc

The problem is if install from play store it only has the function to send out data and not receive.

Unless there is an apk that does receiving and sending?

is it?
both fones mus hv mi mover installed but only mi fones can rcv...
nt meh...

bbcccc

I agree that this is a ~259-299 phone but the extra you are paying are for the battery and large screen.
Local redmi note 3 are selling at 299, imho paying 330 for mi max is too much. (some export online stores are selling the 3gb 32 gb version for 299)

dun b surprised wen the local mi max retailing at 399 when launch

geckoSG

dun b surprised wen the local mi max retailing at 399 when launch

Anyone who reads Chinese or understand Chinese once they see the review will know that mi max belongs to Redmi range. Who will want to pay that crazy price?

To me Redmi Note 3 is also over-priced. But strangely I saw Challenger model doesn't seems to be the 3GB RAM model. Correct me if I am wrong, price is $279 for members

Oinkize

is it?
both fones mus hv mi mover installed but only mi fones can rcv...
nt meh...

My mi note does not have mi mover preloaded. When i installed it from playstore, it only allows sending and not receiving...

Oinkize

At this point in time, only xiaomi phones support 4g+3g. If you think that the price is too expensive then dun buy lor. No one forcing anyone to buy against their will...

wawalau

So funny. This redmi range has the cheapest SD 650/652 with a big battery now. Show me another phone that is as cheap with similar features. Sony is 2x as expensive. Go try other brands and see what you can get at $300. Just because of 1 video review that blast the phone (well he is impartial though) but compare to other phones at $300??? What's the point of comparing build quality of MI5 against mi max? Might as well compare it against S7 edge to show how shitty mi max or even MI5 can be.

amazingone

So funny. This redmi range has the cheapest SD 650/652 with a big battery now. Show me another phone that is as cheap with similar features. Sony is 2x as expensive. Go try other brands and see what you can get at $300. Just because of 1 video review that blast the phone (well he is impartial though) but compare to other phones at $300??? What's the point of comparing build quality of MI5 against mi max? Might as well compare it against S7 edge to show how shitty mi max or even MI5 can be.
I was expecting a comparison between Mi Max, Redmi Note 3 and Galaxy A9, but comes a wild Mi 5 and Huawei P9.. :o

Sent from my Rice phone using GAGT

Nakedtoes

$200++ $300++ for brand new phone with such good battery and specs what u want to expect?? mi max is better then note 3 in term of OS, battery, screen and NFC right?.. and 4g +3g build quality lost to it... but all this for $300++ what u expect? samsung and apple is selling 1k plus when launch leh.. their phone dun tell me drop screen guaranteed no crack? :o

wawalau

I will really be surprised if the reviewer has positive things to say, comparing a $300 phone against a $500+ phone and a $800+ phone. Lol.

Nakedtoes

xiaomi still earn lesser % per phone then other manufacturers althought now they started to do stupid things like selling mi5 at $600++.. must remember one thing.. during nokia and sony ericsson era .. samsung is consider lousy brand also... same thing to xiaomi and those china manufacturers... one day one of them will become the top.;)

Nakedtoes

I will really be surprised if the reviewer has positive things to say, comparing a $300 phone against a $500+ phone and a $800+ phone. Lol.

the reviewer is truthful... is really not easy to handle such big phone.. i owned z ultra so i know... i still want to go back to 6.44inch but note 3 is serving me well. very good phone indeed.

Just Me

xiaomi still earn lesser % per phone then other manufacturers althought now they started to do stupid things like selling mi5 at $600++.. must remember one thing.. during nokia and sony ericsson era .. samsung is consider lousy brand also... same thing to xiaomi and those china manufacturers... one day one of them will become the top.;)
Actually, selling the mi5 at 600 is just the fault of xiaomi SG with their carrot chopping market strategy.

Sent from Jiak Liow Bi phone using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.