Xiaomi Mi Max

touchme

Can fingerprint unlock while on Miui 7 and 8, can bypass lockscreen too.

Compact7

Can fingerprint unlock while on Miui 7 and 8, can bypass lockscreen too.

I had not setup the fingerprint function yet.

On my miui 8 phone i can touching the fp pad to awake phone show the locked screen (no bypassing lockscreen). My miui 8 can, miui 7 cant. Wondering is firmware or i got a lemon...

keemmeng

cscs3

True lah. 128GB already enough. But if the phone suddenly "died", basically we cannot retrieve the data from the internal storage liao right?

You have 2 consideration for internal storage:
1. Need regular backup and speed of backup.
2. If phone sudden dead, then you have 2 more worry
a. unable to recover the data
b. data is accessable by who ever servicing you phone before it is hand over back to you.

x3imPerFecTi0n

Check with you guy, can you guy awake your phone to show lock screen by touching the finger print pad but without turn on the function?

I am asking is because I can do that on my MIUI 8 phone, but another phone still with miui 7 can't. Normal? Due to the firmware? Both is global stable rom.

Can teach me how you do it?

Oinkize

I had not setup the fingerprint function yet.

On my miui 8 phone i can touching the fp pad to awake phone show the locked screen (no bypassing lockscreen). My miui 8 can, miui 7 cant. Wondering is firmware or i got a lemon...

My miui 8 also can. Cannot remember when on miui 7.

Why dun just update to miui 8?

Compact7

My miui 8 also can. Cannot remember when on miui 7.

Why dun just update to miui 8?

After my first Max updated to Miui 8, my wife disappointed by some very sweet and cute of miui 7 themes no longer compatible. That's why another will be stay put on miui 7.

Was wondering if I got a defective sensor. So I just tried my first ever fingerprint setup, lucky fingerprint scan and unlock function still work very fast and smoothly. Sensor should be good. What I think now is it could be the factory 7.5.3.0 rom do not enable that touch-to-fingerpad-awake-phone function.

I also forgot if I discovered this before or after miui 8 update. :p

Oinkize

After my first Max updated to Miui 8, my wife disappointed by some very sweet and cute of miui 7 themes no longer compatible. That's why another will be stay put on miui 7.

Was wondering if I got a defective sensor. So I just tried my first ever fingerprint setup, lucky fingerprint scan and unlock function still work very fast and smoothly. Sensor should be good. What I think now is it could be the factory 7.5.3.0 rom do not enable that touch-to-fingerpad-awake-phone function.

I also forgot if I discovered this before or after miui 8 update. :p

Ic. No wonder. Want pretty themes have to 'sacrifice' on this feature then since fingerprint scanner tested ok...

i1magic

You have 2 consideration for internal storage:
1. Need regular backup and speed of backup.
2. If phone sudden dead, then you have 2 more worry
a. unable to recover the data
b. data is accessable by who ever servicing you phone before it is hand over back to you.

Precisely! Currently, on Mi Max, the only "data" that resides on the internal storage is the Whatsapp chat data. The rest are on microSD card liao.

KinMun1989

I have set pin code and fingerprint lock on xiaomi mi max.

if I lost my phone, and somebody remove the sd card plug into pc can read?

if so how to secure lock sd card from phone if any? can't find any options in phone to secure card to only read from my phone only.

thanks for tips bros.

meet_nanda

Under Security menu in Settings, there is an option to encrypt phone and encrypt SD card. Once you encrypt SD card, the data cannot be read using other phones or computers.

KinMun1989

Under Security menu in Settings, there is an option to encrypt phone and encrypt SD card. Once you encrypt SD card, the data cannot be read using other phones or computers.

can't find that bro. I'm running miui 8 global 8.0.2.0. under setting I can only find additional setting, privacy, encrypt phone using lock screen password.

can't find encrypt sd card. I encrypt phone, remove sd card my computer still can read.

meet_nanda

Encryption of SD card is available in most of the new phones running Android 5.0 and above. I'm not sure why it is not available in Mi Max.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.