i1magic

A lot of you got this correct?

Item : Ultra thin slim silicone rubber TPU back case
Price : About SGD$5.20

NDg3MTgx.jpg

Source :
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/For-Xiao...hash=item2cb3eec20f:m:mAymBLkOzjiWXH_5gkZ8n_Q

Any bro here has this spare case for sale? Must be Gold as shown. :s8:

Do PM me! Thanks! :)

A4K39Pp.jpg

There you go.

This case is good?

kelvinti

By the way bro, how much is the postal?

$0.00 by China Post Regular mail. Takes about 10 days to 2 weeks to arrive usually.

So, no harm trying and waiting. :)

I'm not saying that wasting a U$2.81 is nothing but as compared to a case that costs about S$20+, and buy to try not knowing if you like it or not at the end of the day... Well... You know what I mean.. :)

i1magic

Actually mi mover kind of sucks. I just checked and it seems apart from sms, the other data were not moved properly. For example, the all the video files were stamped with wrong date.

Contacts also weren't moved as well. Notes also didn't get moved.

Looks like need to find a good mover app or a better way to transfer data.

Anyone have suggestions on best way to migrate data from old phone to new?

Sent from Xiaomi MI 4I using GAGT

Personally, I don't use Mi Mover. But IIRC, some people says that Mi Mover is si bei ho.

If you are switching from another Android phone :

1. Contacts - Don't need to backup, once you sign in with the same Gmail, all the contacts will be restored.

2. Call logs & SMS - Use this :

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.softrelay.calllogsmsbackup&hl=en

Can backup call logs & SMS to your Gmail Google Drive

3. For pictures and videos - If they are stored on microSD card, then just switched over can liao.

4. Whatsapp
a) Copy the entire "Whatsapp" folder from your phone to microSD card.
b) Put the microSD card to the new phone.
c) Copy the "Whatsapp" folder from the microSD card to your new phone's root.
d) Go to "Whatsapp" folder (on your new phone), then to "Databases" and delete all the files there and leave ONLY a file name "msgstore.db.crypt12".
* MUST DO this step, if not you will lose some chat in your history.
d) Install Whatsapp and you'll be prompted that backup is found, just restore and all everything will be exactly like in your old phone.

Hope this helps.

touchme

Is there a way to neutralise the metallic back, such that ezlink card in case can be scanned?.
plastic replacement back cover? (None)

kelvinti

then why can't ezlink card be scanned by bus/train readers when held within phone case?

I think there is a limit, in this case, the thickness and material used of the case...

Sometimes, my ezlink card which is slot in the pocket of the most outer layer of my wallet also failed to read by the bus/train reader but probably 5 of 100 touches...

Starbutt

Thank you. Will try and feedback if I hit any roadblock.

Mi mover seems like a good tool to do migration if only the bugs are fixed. I guess for those users that reported working for them probably have good clean data to begin with.

Thanks again.

Personally, I don't use Mi Mover. But IIRC, some people says that Mi Mover is si bei ho.

If you are switching from another Android phone :

1. Contacts - Don't need to backup, once you sign in with the same Gmail, all the contacts will be restored.

2. Call logs & SMS - Use this :

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.softrelay.calllogsmsbackup&hl=en

Can backup call logs & SMS to your Gmail Google Drive

3. For pictures and videos - If they are stored on microSD card, then just switched over can liao.

4. Whatsapp
a) Copy the entire "Whatsapp" folder from your phone to microSD card.
b) Put the microSD card to the new phone.
c) Copy the "Whatsapp" folder from the microSD card to your new phone's root.
d) Go to "Whatsapp" folder (on your new phone), then to "Databases" and delete all the files there and leave ONLY a file name "msgstore.db.crypt12".
* MUST DO this step, if not you will lose some chat in your history.
d) Install Whatsapp and you'll be prompted that backup is found, just restore and all everything will be exactly like in your old phone.

Hope this helps.

Nakedtoes

I been using mi mover for every phones change think total got 6 times.. All super smooth.. I didn't move all like movie and music and pics all Hugh files I copy manually.. Settings and apps and email contacts all port over new phone swee swee.. Dun need do any settings like ring tones etc.

Starbutt

Finally can steady happy poon pee pee. Just unplug my SIM card from my old mi4i and plug into my mi max.

This is what I did to transfer my data...

1. Media files (mainly photos, screenshot and videos)
Copy Camera folder under DCIM from old to new using a USB to go adapter as the mi4i does not support SD card ( so lousy right:( )

2. SMS and call history
I used mi mover and just select this 2 items to move from old to new. Process was quite easy and fast.

3. WhatsApp
I followed i1magic's instructions to copy the WhatsApp folder and delete all files under Database folder except msgstore.db.crypt12. Then I installed WhatsApp and restore the backup. However I am not sure if the restore was from the files that I copied over or from Google drive so this part is still a bit fuzzy. But anyway it is working.

4. Contacts
I didn't realise my contacts were actually stored with my mi account so that got ported when I login to mi account on the mi max.

5. Apps
I reinstalled most apps . Not many actually just couple of games and some news app. Some of the apps which I seldom used on old phone were not reinstalled. Some games data were restored from google play and tied to my Google account (eg clash of clans) so the transfer was fairly seamless.

I think I got almost 95% of stuffs that I needed migrated already. Anything that I missed are probably not important. My next step would be to figure out how to do a proper backup of the phone as my quota on mi cloud is already busted. I think all my stuffs are stored on too many different places so I will need to figure out what is the best way to consolidate them to one place, preferably on Google. Mi cloud should probably be a secondary backup for the kiasu part of me.:D

Would be great if anyone can share their backup strategy. Kind of worrying now with 128gb of storage, if anything goes wrong, a lot of data will be lost.

Anyway, thanks once again to all on this thread for your kind help:love:

kelvinti

Camera photos taken, I upload to Google Drive as and when after taking numerous photos. After that which I copy the photos from Google Drive into my pc hardisk and than I have a weekly pc hardisk backup to a 1TB external hardisk.

A 100GB of google cloud storage is there for me to utilize it for anything I deem that an immediate safe is required from my phone, be it media files or documents.

Practice a weekly backup is a must for all stuffs.

AcquiT

i am on 8.14 stable

google play always prompt me whenever i open app to ask permissions..
like gmail,i always need to get prompt.

how to off or disable it?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.