Xiaomi Mi Max

SkimMilk

Serious? That's good news if you are right.

Let me check with some IT managers friend of mine on this. Or are there any expert in NAS that can confirm?

Last check, drives from Synology NAS, unplugged and plug to any Windows PC cannot be read.

Batniss, I suppose you have took drives out of Synology NAS and plug to be access on a Windows PC before?

Windows cannot just read the data from most NAS.

Most of these NAS are Linux based.
During setup for the raid, users have the choice to format the RAID in ext3/4/jfs etc file system.

You need to be rather tech savvy to know how to read the data off a computer if you intend to pull out the hdds.

In short: reading is possible, provided you have the time and technical know how.

batniss

Serious? That's good news if you are right.

Let me check with some IT managers friend of mine on this. Or are there any expert in NAS that can confirm?

Last check, drives from Synology NAS, unplugged and plug to any Windows PC cannot be read.

Batniss, I suppose you have took drives out of Synology NAS and plug to be access on a Windows PC before?

I did that since many years ago. Thats why I'm so confident. Your last check - you probably did not check it properly.

and yes, i do own a few Synology NAS. I think if you are not convinced, go to Synology NAS thread we can discuss more there. I am quite active in there.

batniss

Windows cannot just read the data from most NAS.

Most of these NAS are Linux based.
During setup for the raid, users have the choice to format the RAID in ext3/4/jfs etc file system.

You need to be rather tech savvy to know how to read the data off a computer if you intend to pull out the hdds.

In short: reading is possible, provided you have the time and technical know how.

no need tech savvy, just follow here;

Previously on RAID1 - i use the following steps
http://www.howtogeek.com/112888/3-ways-to-access-your-linux-partitions-from-windows/

RAID5 and above i created a Ubuntu OS and load my drives with it.
https://www.synology.com/en-global/...I_recover_data_from_my_DiskStation_using_a_PC

batniss

Qoo10 wth the latest $60 voucher?

Why not! Freaking good deal, bro!

Somemore, Simderella provides a whopping 6 months warranty sia! :s22:

Even without the $60 voucher, Simder's 128 is the cheapest at $401 in town now!

Most sellers are selling between $400 to $480!

Quick quick grab one before out of your color choice and out of the allocated stock! :s22:

if is $400+ I will probably go get the OnePlus 3T...

but will probably miss the screen size of this giant...

i1magic

Difference, I believe there should be. The real question is "how much" are you willing to pay for that difference.

Personally, I am not willing to pay so much more for that difference. But to some, they feel that the amount they pay is ok.

That difference also includes the additional storage.

I bought a Note 3 with 3GB ram which at that time was the highest of any phone. The norm then was 1GB and 2GB was the high end. My Note 3 can still run any app easily without any lag.

Apple is the sneakiest of all. They have the highest specs BUT below average ram. The Apple faithful defended that Apple is efficient so more ram is wasteful. A few years later, their old iPhones are still powerful but the bottleneck is insufficient ram. Go read about it in their forums. LOL.

You really got to "admire" some of those die-hard Apple apologists who still defend Apple low ram strategy....they know it is Apple's strategy to force upgrading in the future and they agree to it because they too want Apple fans to buy the newest and "bestest" later and throw away old iPhones to upkeep the high class image of Apple.

Now that some of the faithfuls also start complaining, Apple lan lan had to increase the ram by the minimum.

Notice that the high end phones are now starting to have 6GB ram. Next year it will probably increase to 8GB.

In IT, there's never enough ram. Software has to trim features to target the most users for the largest market share. As the ram for most users start to creep up, the software also gladly follow.

Notice how Facebook is always updating almost weekly and the size is now more than 50MB? Notice the phone browser is always not as powerful as the desktop version? That's being limited by ram.

Unlike PC, ram on the phone is not user upgradeable. Buy the max you can get now and be ahead of the majority; for them to catch up to you later while you're comfortable even in the future. I hate to waste time grumbling about low ram.

It cost a bit more now but worth it.

Yah lah. That's why I say ... it is up to what people's priority is.

So those that feel that they need the extra RAM and phone storage, paying more is no longer the issue. Sometimes, even if we want to pay more for it, there is no option to.

For me, I don't store anything important on the phone's internal storage, so even if it is 64GB or 128GB, it'll not make any difference for my usage. But also because Mi Max support external microSD card lah.

batniss

Same here, more ram over storage please!

Then again, ram more exp than storage

i1magic

no need tech savvy, just follow here;

Previously on RAID1 - i use the following steps
http://www.howtogeek.com/112888/3-ways-to-access-your-linux-partitions-from-windows/

RAID5 and above i created a Ubuntu OS and load my drives with it.
https://www.synology.com/en-global/...I_recover_data_from_my_DiskStation_using_a_PC

Wah ... thanks for the link. Good to know.

Just wondering, if we use the methods indicated to read and write onto those drives in / from the NAS, will it affect the operation of the NAS?

Also, can we see the temperature of the hard drives running in the NAS? Can we run diagnostic to either monitor or check the "health" of the hard disk?

Could you just point me to the thread, so that we can bring this over?

Let's get back to Mi Max. LOL!!

dxboy

anyone kana random auto reboot on their mi max before?~

i just kana one today :(

Nakedtoes

Mi max their latest firmware yes got reboot before. Their older firmwares much better..

Compact7

So far nvr kena auto reboot on latest firmware. But issue of need to reboot to connect to data after airplane mode is still there.

One thingy i dislike most is the pull down toggle go home right after you pressed on it, say turn off wifi.. Need to pull it down again to on data, then again to on hotspot... Lol

Ps: just discovered the toggle can stay still there after touch by turn off "collapse after touch" :p lol

aqf

Qoo10 wth the latest $60 voucher?

Why not! Freaking good deal, bro!

Somemore, Simderella provides a whopping 6 months warranty sia! :s22:

Even without the $60 voucher, Simder's 128 is the cheapest at $401 in town now!

Most sellers are selling between $400 to $480!

Quick quick grab one before out of your color choice and out of the allocated stock! :s22:

You have the link? Under daily deal can't apply the coupon

batniss

Wah ... thanks for the link. Good to know.

Just wondering, if we use the methods indicated to read and write onto those drives in / from the NAS, will it affect the operation of the NAS?

Also, can we see the temperature of the hard drives running in the NAS? Can we run diagnostic to either monitor or check the "health" of the hard disk?

Could you just point me to the thread, so that we can bring this over?

Let's get back to Mi Max. LOL!!

Dont understand your first question

Yes, most decent NAS comes with dashboard for you to monitor your HDD health, status, diagnostics, performance, temp and etc in the NAS.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/hardware-clinic-2/[nas]-synology-nas-owner-club-4133906.html

Starbutt

Sorry I was the one whom side track the thread on NAS. Paiseh paiseh. But learnt something nevertheless. :)

bladez87

for me ultimately, to tweak the CPU as I don't need performance since I don't game too.
and to disable the components of Google play services and others, in order to minimize wakelocks.

these two only.
ads wise, don't really care so much.

that's how I managed to get 17hrs SOT those 3.5 days, 84hrs.
so to root really need to unlock the phone ah?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7ECbDQovgY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VvP1s5bWtzo

some youtube videos said no need. some said need. so headache.

will start to do it this weekend.

kokitty

OOS le...it is also pity i didnt see it ytd...

You didn't miss anything lah.... it comes with the official rom but flashed very oddly until you can't do a factory reset on it. Now must read up on how to flash it properly myself... quite sian...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.