Xiaomi Mi Max

garychengjw

Haha! :s13:

After a week or 2 or 3 or 4 of continuous usage as a daily driver ...There will be 2 side effects kicking in...:s8:

1st, you will find it that the Mi Max overall size is not that big actually provided you don't use a thick/bulky case. Without any case, the Mi Max is actually damn freaking thin likes a piece of A4 size paper! :s22:

2ndly, what 6'44 huge screen!!?? Very big meh? The 6.44" screen will become likes a normal size screen to you after your eyes have customed to it days in, days out! :s13:

3rd side effect (*Optional).....Looking back at a 5.5" and even a 5.7" screen phone..You will be saying to yourself "WTF! So tiny the screen! How to read and type and watch pron clips! Not-human-use-one" as in Chinese saying! :s13:
Sua, max now secondary device. I nearly drop it, guess it too big for me as daily drive. Haha

Sent from LG V20 | Life's Good When You #PlayMore using GAGT

SkimMilk

hmmm...

I have the low audio problem too. On official global 8.1.6.0.

Music, FM, Video all very low volume both on wired or bluetooth headsets.
In the train, I'm 1 press short of full volume to be able to hear music and FM. For videos, full volume still not enough, barely able to hear the speech.

Have not tested on Youtube though.

Headsets used:
Xiaomi Hybrid Piston (IV)
Kinivo BTH240
Harmon Kardon CL
Audio Technica ATH-M50X

Note: On my Lumia 640 and iPhone 6s+, I'm listening at less than 50% volume on the same headsets, so I'm not a loud head...

You guys don't have this issue?

yusoffb01

1) download the recovery for xiaomi.(rename the filename to recovery)
2) if your PC does not have the adb folder, download the adb driver.

put these files under same adb folder.

3) download the supersu zip and transfer it to a SDcard instead of into your phone storage.
4) download the xiaomi unlock tool and install it.

5) under your phone settings, switch on USB debugging and OEM unlock.
6) hit volume down and power button at the same time. then connect the USB cable to the PC.
7) open the xiaomi unlock window ,log in with your xiaomi account and then unlock. maybe you have to wait a few days for the unlock code from xiaomi.

if no problem,
8) over at the adb folder,open the windows command line by hitting the shift key and right click your mouse,type
1)fastboot devices
2)fastboot flash recovery recovery.IMG

by now, you should have flash the twrp recovery into the phone.
hold volume up with power button till the phone vibrates.
if the display shows a normal phone logo with black background, means your bootloader is not unlocked yet.

if not, congrats.
go ahead and swipe the button to allow modification. go to install, choose the SD card storage and locate the supersu.zip

after that, reboot system.
go playstore and download root checker to check is your phone rooted.

Going to try this tonight! my unlock was approved

kelvinti

hmmm...

I have the low audio problem too. On official global 8.1.6.0.

Music, FM, Video all very low volume both on wired or bluetooth headsets.
In the train, I'm 1 press short of full volume to be able to hear music and FM. For videos, full volume still not enough, barely able to hear the speech.

Have not tested on Youtube though.

Headsets used:
Xiaomi Hybrid Piston (IV)
Kinivo BTH240
Harmon Kardon CL
Audio Technica ATH-M50X

Note: On my Lumia 640 and iPhone 6s+, I'm listening at less than 50% volume on the same headsets, so I'm not a loud head...

You guys don't have this issue?

So far on 8.1.6.0, low volume occurred on YouTube and the stock FM Radio via wired earpiece only for me.

Bluetooth earpiece may be worse as the Bluetooth volume itself is already low (bug too).

My video and mp3 volume are okay via wired earpiece.

For the record, all my mp3 are set at 94db region.

BTW, did you enable the Mi Sound Profile which makes it worse?

SkimMilk

So far on 8.1.6.0, low volume occurred on YouTube and the stock FM Radio via wired earpiece only for me.

Bluetooth earpiece may be worse as the Bluetooth volume itself is already low (bug too).

My video and mp3 volume are okay via wired earpiece.

For the record, all my mp3 are set at 94db region.

BTW, did you enable the Mi Sound Profile which makes it worse?

Hahaha.. yes, I did enable the sound profile.
I was wondering why it sounded worse when compared to disabled mode.
Duh.... Now I'll disable it.

Darn, not so good experience to use it as a media device for now. :s22:

kelvinti

one bad thing about setting download limit to unlimited, google play services will get updated automatically too.which affects battery.

Got such setting in the stock Download app meh coz I can't find it? Strange indeed! :s11:

kelvinti

Hahaha.. yes, I did enable the sound profile.
I was wondering why it sounded worse when compared to disabled mode.
Duh.... Now I'll disable it.

Darn, not so good experience to use it as a media device for now. :s22:

No wonder lah! No wonder the sound is worse than "expected" LOL! :s13:

I supposed that it sounds better and louder for you now after disbaled the Mi Sound Profile, isn't it? :s22:

3 media function bugs at the moment waiting to be fixed by MIUI Team:

1. Low volume via earpiece on YouTube.

2. Mi Sound Profile drops the media volume to "new low" be it via earpiece or speaker. So, don't use it for the time being!

3. Bluetooth connected volume output is lower than it should be.

Let's hope these bugs will be fixed soon! They will fix it. Remember in early versions of MIUI8, the mp3 Album arts didn't show at all, but they fixed it after that! :)

Mi Max is still a good media device lah! Those few bugs can be easily fixed one. The only question is that what Priority MIUI Team has to fix it!

kelvinti

downloads > 3 dots> settings> download size limit.
got boh?

Boh leh! :s11:

The only thing I see now in the Settings page is "About 6.09.18.00001"! :o That's all lor! Strange indeed!

Anyway, it doesn't matter lah since I don't have any big file download issue!

kelvinti

eh anyone managed to downgrade back to miui 7 from 8?

I did it in the the early version of MIUI 8 with previous version of MiFlash. Can be done! :s22:

However, don't quote me coz I'm not sure the current version of MiFlash still allowed the downgrade! :s8:

kelvinti

knn drop my mi max out of my pocket when sitting down due to big size lol
2 days old only

Not all pants are mi-max compatible :s13:. Need to check pocket depth first :s22:

Deep pocket is needed for Mi Max! :s13:

Go to Alteration auntie/uncles to deepen your all your pants pockets! Just 1" deeper at least! Simple and cheap solution! :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.