Xiaomi Mi Note

Oinkize

Hi people. I dont root my phones. Just like to buy and use. Is this mi note the right phone for me?

Most importantly is the battery life. My note 3 lasted me easily 2 days

Mi note battery life quite good...

unintended

I need a replacement phone. Should I spend on the Mi Note (price quite hefty for Xiao Mi) or pay double the price for a Samsung Note 5? The Mi Note seems abit dated now... having released for awhile. Abit concerned about a few things too, can owners assist me with these questions.

1. Is the vibration very weak? I have a RedMi (spare phone) and I find the vibration really weak. I can't feel the alarm.

2. 386 PPI resolution - okay to view high-res videos?

3. The 64GB internal storage can handle download many apps right? My RedMi can only download like 5-8 apps and no memory already.

I came from microSD too, so hard for me to give it up - but I guess that's where smartphones are moving into.

Redmi Note 2 storage only 16GB, should be not enough for my usage.

4. How is the battery life, do I need to have powerbank with me at all times?

I know I am comparing apple to orange but just want to hear it from the mouths of Mi Note owners.. I came from a Samsung Note 2.

caterham7

I need a replacement phone. Should I spend on the Mi Note (price quite hefty for Xiao Mi) or pay double the price for a Samsung Note 5? The Mi Note seems abit dated now... having released for awhile. Abit concerned about a few things too, can owners assist me with these questions.

1. Is the vibration very weak? I have a RedMi (spare phone) and I find the vibration really weak. I can't feel the alarm.

2. 386 PPI resolution - okay to view high-res videos?

3. The 64GB internal storage can handle download many apps right? My RedMi can only download like 5-8 apps and no memory already.

I came from microSD too, so hard for me to give it up - but I guess that's where smartphones are moving into.

Redmi Note 2 storage only 16GB, should be not enough for my usage.

4. How is the battery life, do I need to have powerbank with me at all times?

I know I am comparing apple to orange but just want to hear it from the mouths of Mi Note owners.. I came from a Samsung Note 2.
fyi, redmi note 2 has micro-sd slot and removable battery

redmi note 2, mi note, note 5 quite different; different price and specs

what is your usual user scenario? e.g. use phone for what, requirements, etc.

unintended

fyi, redmi note 2 has micro-sd slot and removable battery

redmi note 2, mi note, note 5 quite different; different price and specs

what is your usual user scenario? e.g. use phone for what, requirements, etc.

Ya that's why I know I am not making a fair comparison..

Didn't know the RedMi Note 2 has microSD! I must be living under a rock. No wonder it's flying off shelves. I was still thinking why people order 16GB also happy... but the internal memory prob still not enough for me to download apps? I was also thinking of 'upgrading' from 2GB RAM to 3GB RAM..

I use my phone mainly for the following: (not ranked in terms of usage)

1. Youtube. Sometimes I watch movies using phone
2. I will be taking alot of pictures/some videos, lots of photo editing, social media apps (work related). So I prefer good camera and convenient to transfer photos to comp.
3. Whatsapp, I share pictures alot
4. Alarm clock. I need strong vibration/audible ring
5. Battery life cannot be bad... but should be okay since can charge in office
6. I also have space management issues :s22: My Samsung Note 2 was 16GB + 64GB sd card. Sometimes not enough memory to download new apps :s22:
7. No heating up plzzz
8. Oh, it will be my music player too.

Thanks for your help

caterham7

Didn't know the RedMi Note 2 has microSD! I must be living under a rock. No wonder it's flying off shelves. I was still thinking why people order 16GB also happy... but the internal memory prob still not enough for me to download apps? I was also thinking of 'upgrading' from 2GB RAM to 3GB RAM..

2. I will be taking alot of pictures/some videos, lots of photo editing, social media apps (work related). So I prefer good camera and convenient to transfer photos to comp.
6. I also have space management issues :s22: My Samsung Note 2 was 16GB + 64GB sd card. Sometimes not enough memory to download new apps :s22:
7. No heating up plzzz

Thanks for your help
lg g4 or samsung s6, better camera sensors

cscs3

7. No heating up plzzz

Thanks for your help

6, because Miui do not support program install on SD card.

caterham7

6, because Miui do not support program install on SD card.

Most android phones do not support app install on sd card. This is not just for miui. As with other android phones, this is possible after rooting
http://en.miui.com/thread-113864-1-1.html

garychengjw

7. No heating up plzzz

Thanks for your help
You seems like a storage hogger.
Have you think of buying a large memory card?
Now got 200GB sd card and amazon black Friday sales started. ;)

Sent from OnePlus X using GAGT

ApPle5

Hi all, am currently using Mi Note Pro, on Miui 7. But I keep having delayed Whatsapp notification. As in when phone is locked, I don't receive any notification when I receive a Whatsapp message. :(

I've already added it to auto start and unticked it from the 'Manage apps battery usage' but still having delays.

Anyone managed to solve this issue?

miltonwkw

Are you rooted with supersu?

Hi all, am currently using Mi Note Pro, on Miui 7. But I keep having delayed Whatsapp notification. As in when phone is locked, I don't receive any notification when I receive a Whatsapp message. :(

I've already added it to auto start and unticked it from the 'Manage apps battery usage' but still having delays.

popime

click on the left most button.swipe whatsapp down to lock it.so it will be always in the background.

Sent from Xiaomi MI NOTE PRO using GAGT

ApPle5

weird i assume u using the same phone and same rom as me.i dont have this problem leh

maybe clear cache reinstall whatsapp again lor.

Sent from Xiaomi MI NOTE PRO using GAGT

Hmmm, I just noticed another weird thing. None of my downloaded apps have anything in cache. Data have but the 'clear cache' button is greyed out, cannot press, 0.00B in Cache. Is that normal? :s11:

popime

Hmmm, I just noticed another weird thing. None of my downloaded apps have anything in cache. Data have but the 'clear cache' button is greyed out, cannot press, 0.00B in Cache. Is that normal? :s11:

It seems to be the same for me. So i presume it's normal.

I used to have the same problem as u when i was using mi4i previously. I solve the issue by locking it and allowing it to run in the background all the time.

So I am unsure why u have the same problem when u've already did that.

Do u only have this problem after updating the rom recently.

Perhaps u can wait for an expert to help.

If it's me I'll probably reinstall whatsapp and if it's still happen,flash the rom again.

ApPle5

It seems to be the same for me. So i presume it's normal.

I used to have the same problem as u when i was using mi4i previously. I solve the issue by locking it and allowing it to run in the background all the time.

So I am unsure why u have the same problem when u've already did that.

Do u only have this problem after updating the rom recently.

Perhaps u can wait for an expert to help.

If it's me I'll probably reinstall whatsapp and if it's still happen,flash the rom again.

Icic, no idea if it's only Miui 7 or what cause I updated the moment I opened the box. :)

Will try to reinstall Whatsapp try. Thanks for your help!!

starbucksrox

mi note now only $98 with singtel combo 2 - huat ah!

Singtel now selling Mi Note for $98 upfront with Combo 2 ($42/month)... cheap cheap. i just buy mine yesterday:s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.