Xiaomi Mi Pad 5

kelvinti

Go local please since it's available now even if it's a few dollars more than China set. :)

Full official Google ecosystem and supports without the tricky side loading of fishes and prawns as well as preventing system and apps comparability problems not to mention full local Xiaomi SG warranty for a complete peace of mind and soul! :whistle:

iygnaug

Just received mine. Seriously impressed by the quality for the price. Lol. Way better deal that the $499 iPad
Definitely a great buy based on the paper specs.

What the ipad promises is many years of support. That is still the achilles heel of Andriods tablet in general.

Nakedtoes

What the ipad promises is many years of support. That is still the achilles heel of Andriods tablet in general.
I owned iPad before.. Even give u update.. But hardware so lousy and old and sluggish u will vomit blood.. And not to mention apple will throttle yr device to protect battery..

Parka

Just because there's no OS updates doesn't mean your old apps are not going to run. Those old apps will still have updates from their individual developers.

iOS updates the last few years are all about adding little features here and there. They now have resizable widgets you can manually place on the home screen? Hhahahahahahahaaaaaa.

I use both iPad and Android by the way.

Parka

I owned iPad before.. Even give u update.. But hardware so lousy and old and sluggish u will vomit blood.. And not to mention apple will throttle yr device to protect battery..
I also have iPad and it's not bad leh. Apple likes to give miserable specs but like to squeeze as much performance as they can get, from their 2,3,4GB RAM tablets. lol.

jhleo1

I also have iPad and it's not bad leh. Apple likes to give miserable specs but like to squeeze as much performance as they can get, from their 2,3,4GB RAM tablets. lol.
I owned iPad air 4 which is my first apple products. Battery really suck. Apple shall focus more on their battery capability. Can't last for a day usage at all. iPadOS no doubt good but not flexible enough as android. Too restrict and not flexible enough. Anyway good to be used by my kids. Lol.

kelvinti

Anyway, global version. Nothing much to debloat for my set.

I just turned off Mi Account sync for all items since we are using Google account. The matter of facts, I even turned off all Google sync as the Pad 5 is not a communication and social device to me.

I use the Pad 5 purely for gaming, YouTube and Netflix, and watching video on other online steaming platforms.

Basically, not many 3rd party apps installed on my Pad 5. I don't even install Facebook on it.

My primary communication and social device is still the S21 Plus.

Nakedtoes

How is it vs the Xiaoxin Pad Pro?
Xiaoxin pad pro 2021 is better.. With oled, with expendable storage and sd870.. However the best warranty I see is from shop for 3 mths.. If u dun care about warranty paying ectra 170 to 200 for xiaoxin pad is more worth it.

Parka

How is it vs the Xiaoxin Pad Pro?
Xiaoxin Pad Pro aka Lenovo P12 Pro?

I've tried the Lenovo P11 Pro (Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2020) before and it has several downsides to the display.

1. They use Pentile matrix so text is not as sharp compared to other displays
2. OLED has ghosting
3. Noticeable jelly scrolling in portrait orientation
4. PWM from OLED can affect some people (not me though)

So yeah, 2021 models specs are good but not what the user experience will be like actually in real life.

Gametaku

Xiaoxin Pad Pro aka Lenovo P12 Pro?

I've tried the Lenovo P11 Pro (Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2020) before and it has several downsides to the display.

1. They use Pentile matrix so text is not as sharp compared to other displays
2. OLED has ghosting
3. Noticeable jelly scrolling in portrait orientation
4. PWM from OLED can affect some people (not me though)

So yeah, 2021 models specs are good but not what the user experience will be like actually in real life.

Oh tot u have both the Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2021 and Mi Pad 5 to do a direct comparison. I only have the Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2021 model but cant do any comparison. Did not notice any ghosting or jelly scrolling issue (probably due to the higher refresh rate than the 2020 model).

The only direct comparison i can find online is the Mi Pad 5 PRO vs the Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2021. Seems like this guy rated the Xiaomi Pad Pro 2021 better.

Parka

Oh tot u have both the Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2021 and Mi Pad 5 to do a direct comparison. I only have the Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2021 model but cant do any comparison. Did not notice any ghosting or jelly scrolling issue (probably due to the higher refresh rate than the 2020 model).

The only direct comparison i can find online is the Mi Pad 5 PRO vs the Xiaoxin Pad Pro 2021. Seems like this guy rated the Xiaomi Pad Pro 2021 better.

I had the 2020 model. Didn't really like it because of all the screen issues. Maybe the 2021 has improved. If so that's great.

Your's the 12.6-inch?

kelvinti

Finally, I had time just now and it was my very 1st time playing my aviation simulation game non-stop for almost 4 hours! :)

Fully charged at 100% when I started playing the game.

At the end of the 4 hours gameplay. My battery was at 61%. :whistle:

That means if I were to continue playing non-stop for another 4 hours. My battery would still be at 22%, so to speak! LOL! :D The huge battery is shiok to the max! :D

Last but not least! During the 4 hours gameplay (MIUI Games Turbo was engaged)! No lag, no heats up, no nothing! This Xiaomi Pad 5 is a pretty impressive piece of tablet for gaming as far as Android is concerned! (y) :)

All good fathers should buy it for the wives and kids! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.