Xiaomi MiTV2 help

mrsun18

So what do you all think? If is worth to pay extra for warranty cover?
It's like buying 4D. If you think you will strike then buy. Otherwise don't waste money...All depends on luck...maybe you should ask the fortune teller, haha.

Car_siao

So what do you all think? If is worth to pay extra for warranty cover?

The thing is can you trust the seller will still be around for the next 2 years when some thing wrong happen to your tv. If not is just a free $200 for them.

i1magic

It's like buying 4D. If you think you will strike then buy. Otherwise don't waste money...All depends on luck...maybe you should ask the fortune teller, haha.

The thing is can you trust the seller will still be around for the next 2 years when some thing wrong happen to your tv. If not is just a free $200 for them.

We will never know. My LG 42" LED TV, which suppose to be the higher end model, spoilt 40 days after end of 3yrs warranty. So yes ... it is about "heng suay".

Nobody wants to be "suay" right?

The cost to ship the TV back to China for RMA and back will cost about SGD$200-$300. If the panel is spoilt then of course nothing to say liao. But if it's other board in the TV, then it'll be a smaller issue.

If they selling the TV has more contacts, know who to look for, where to get the spare parts, got people in China to help get the parts, it'll be much easier to get the TV repaired.

But of course like "car_siao" said whether will the shop be around to "honour" that warranty would be the key question.

i1magic

I heard that there is a Xiaomi shop at SLS level 1 selling Mi TV 2 with 1yr local warranty.

Can anybody confirm that?

cscs3

I heard that there is a Xiaomi shop at SLS level 1 selling Mi TV 2 with 1yr local warranty.

Can anybody confirm that?

Yes correct. Near the 3 lift area. Was told they give 1 year warranty.
however, for 40in version is close to 1K. Most major brand in market has 4K tv around 1.1k range during promotion. I would buy those and add on a Xiaomi TV box. Advantage is I get 3 years manufacturer warrenty and DVBT2 tunner for Singapore use.

In any case, purchasing direct from China does not seem a good choice.

xenocide

just got mine delivered. checked physically only.
yet to power up.

Update: Powered on and tried some apps. Connects to my home wifi easily. Getting ard 2mbps on my fibre 1gbps plan via the connection speed test app in the tv. Streaming of most apps are smooth but strangely MediaCorp channels all cannot watch.
Menu is in english except some apps in chinese. No issue for me though. TV startup time is fast and navigation is smooth.
Tv is not very heavy. i can manage on my own. Definitely needs spaces for my "arm" type wall mount.

Will test 4K videos once i got my HDMI sources hooked up.

Stevensan

yet to power up.

Update: Powered on and tried some apps. Connects to my home wifi easily. Getting ard 2mbps on my fibre 1gbps plan via the connection speed test app in the tv. Streaming of most apps are smooth but strangely MediaCorp channels all cannot watch.
Menu is in english except some apps in chinese. No issue for me though. TV startup time is fast and navigation is smooth.
Tv is not very heavy. i can manage on my own. Definitely needs spaces for my "arm" type wall mount.

Nice! Does the TV comes with the screws for wall mount. I read it's 300 x 300. Is that right?

ahber79

yet to power up.

Did they assemble the tv for you and did the initial setup? Or they just deliver the tv in the boxes and you got to do it yourself?

xenocide

Nice! Does the TV comes with the screws for wall mount. I read it's 300 x 300. Is that right?

no screw for wall mount. only screws for the stand. screw driver provided though. not too sure if its 300 x 300.

Did they assemble the tv for you and did the initial setup? Or they just deliver the tv in the boxes and you got to do it yourself?

they didn't assemble. the open the package up. let u inspect the physical condition esp the screen for scratches. then they put it back to the box and left.

i only power on to check after they left. its not really heavy though. 1 person can manage. the soundbar loooks pretty small though. like the Philips 3140 size but shorter.

i1magic

no screw for wall mount. only screws for the stand. screw driver provided though. not too sure if its 300 x 300.

they didn't assemble. the open the package up. let u inspect the physical condition esp the screen for scratches. then they put it back to the box and left.

i only power on to check after they left. its not really heavy though. 1 person can manage. the soundbar loooks pretty small though. like the Philips 3140 size but shorter.

Wah, can you get some 4K video from YouTube, play it and take picture and show here?

i1magic

Ya thats what I plan to do after I get it mounted. Need to find spacers for the top screws as the bottom where the component boards are protrudes out about 1.5cm

Sent from MiNotePro using GAGT

Instead of mounting on the wall, my plan was to do a small rack and just put the TV on it.

Think I'll go check out the TV at SLS this weekend. Skali before you post review, I also buy liao. LOL!!

xenocide

Instead of mounting on the wall, my plan was to do a small rack and just put the TV on it.

Think I'll go check out the TV at SLS this weekend. Skali before you post review, I also buy liao. LOL!!

i wanted to put it just on my tv console though but its kinda low to watch while seated on my sofa. my head is looking down rather then straight/up.
the thing also is my kid likes to knock on the tv panel with his toys. so wall mounting should prevent him from doing so since he needs to "climb" the tv console.

BBBMTL! hahaha

aqf

Can't seem to find the user manual for xiaomi tv 2. Possible to change input source from the remote?

i1magic

i wanted to put it just on my tv console though but its kinda low to watch while seated on my sofa. my head is looking down rather then straight/up.
the thing also is my kid likes to knock on the tv panel with his toys. so wall mounting should prevent him from doing so since he needs to "climb" the tv console.

BBBMTL! hahaha

Yah, I know what you mean. My baby gal also like to knock on the panel with her toys. Think they like the "kock kock" sound.

i1magic

Just went to SLS to check out the Mi TV 2 at the "chiong" Xiaomi Shop.

Actually just want to go there see awhile then leave liao. But "lo and behold" got a kawaii xmm there. She was so enthusiastic in showing me the features of the Mi TV 2, so bo bian ... I obliged lor.

After chit chatting with her for awhile then found out that she is not PRC but M'sian. When I say I wanna leave liao ... she told me that she'll give me the namecard. Wah lau, plxmm wanna give namecard to uncle .... I thought ho say liao.

When she came back, the namecard don't have her hp number one .... sian half liao.

Anyway, back to the 重点 :

For the 55" Mi TV 2 ...

1. $1,599 with 1yr warranty by the shop to us, carry in.
2. If you lazy to carry in, then pay $50 for transportation and they'll come to your house to check. All repairs will be free, parts and service.
3. Upon receiving 7 days 1 to 1 exchange
4. For sound bar and the sub woofer add $100

For those who are not particular about sound, I personally feel that the sound from the Mi TV 2 is quite good and loud enough already. Even the plxmm also say so.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.