Xiaomi MiTV2 help

i1magic

Hi guys,

I have a 55" Xiaomi TV2 which somehow just went dead.
I can't power it on, it does not respond to any touch or from remote.
I have changed power sockets and tested the sockets with other electrical device. The power socket is fine.
Anyone experienced this before? The TV was working fine the night before.
Thanks.

Wah lau, jialat.

When you touch the bottom part, does the white light in the centre appears? When did you buy this TV? Have you tried contacting the seller for some help?

Do you remember the night before that it was working, did you turn off to standby or power off totally?

Hope you have found a solution to your problem and share here.

i1magic

It may be difficult to understand for you, but it is also difficult to explain in such a forum the details.

This site, has a good explanation on what you are looking for. Concentrate on the part "Why is Mi TV 3 different?"

http://en.miui.com/thread-173353-1-1.html

Disclaimer: I am not advertising for Mi.

Not sure whether does the Mi TV 3 comes with 1 x HDMI input on the TV which allow it to be used like a monitor. Or a HDMI to Mi Port cable, which allow the TV to be used like a monitor.

If it can be, then it'll be really good news.

Also, perhaps Xiaomi can sell this as "monitor" to Spore easier now. Without the TV tuner built-in, it is no long consider as a TV anymore under IDA. Any expert can confirm on this?

And they can just sell the soundbar (with all the stuffs) as soundbar.

Uno_Hu

Not sure whether does the Mi TV 3 comes with 1 x HDMI input on the TV which allow it to be used like a monitor. Or a HDMI to Mi Port cable, which allow the TV to be used like a monitor.

Also, perhaps Xiaomi can sell this as "monitor" to Spore easier now. Without the TV tuner built-in, it is no long consider as a TV anymore under IDA. Any expert can confirm on this?

There are only 2 ports on the TV (Monitor LED Panel)
1 power socket
1 Mi Port

Every input is from the sound bar unfortunately.

i1magic

1 power socket
1 Mi Port

So if they have a HDMI to Mi Port cable for people to use the screen as a monitor, I believe it can be passed on as a monitor and doesn't need IDA approval liao.

mrsun18

1 power socket
1 Mi Port

As usual, pics are clearer and more convincing.

The first pic below, as boosted by Xiaomi, shows only one cable between the "monitor" and "Mi TV Bar" (main board/sound bar) cable supplies both video signal and power.

2nd & 3rd pics show the Mi Port cable and connection.

So the Mi monitor can only be paired with a device that has a Mi port, like the main board/soundbar.

145822jwu4ff1k1uazk0k1.png.thumb.jpg

172034at5ztfbbvc0rmgt5.png.thumb_.png

145825p33ygdy9v3z2lc19.png

The pic below shows the available ports on the main board/soundbar. All are input ports except the VGA, Subwoofer and Mi Port for connection to the monitor.

145406gvouaaaim2s9m5um.png

mrsun18

So if they have a HDMI to Mi Port cable for people to use the screen as a monitor, I believe it can be passed on as a monitor and doesn't need IDA approval liao.
The monitor only has the Mi port. HDMI out from other devices will not have the power supply to power the monitor.

lockks

Just bought tv2, seriously not impressed with the pq when watch soccer on star hub.
Any settings to recommend?
How to install Shafa market?

edwin56

SPDIF/Optical Audio Out

Hi guys, bought the Xiaomi TV2 Soundbar ONLY during the 11/11 sales. However the cable that they provided, 3.5mm to SPDIF does not work when i plug it into the headphone jack of my LG TV.

Do I need another cable such as Digital Audio Out (TOSlink) to SPDIF? is there such cable? where can I find it?

There's also the other AUX input in the soundbar, how do I use that?:s22:

i1magic

Just bought tv2, seriously not impressed with the pq when watch soccer on star hub.
Any settings to recommend?
How to install Shafa market?

The soccer content is what resolution.

Ok, I am not super particular about TV quality lah. But when I play 4K content on the Mi TV 2 55", it looks similar to those Samsung LED TVs too.

But of course, to ultimately make a good comparison, have to put it side by side and play the same content.

lockks

The soccer content is what resolution.

Ok, I am not super particular about TV quality lah. But when I play 4K content on the Mi TV 2 55", it looks similar to those Samsung LED TVs too.

But of course, to ultimately make a good comparison, have to put it side by side and play the same content.

1080i starhub. Haha it has gotten better after a while.
How to get 4K content?
Any apps recommended?
I just realized 55 inch no microsd slot. Looks like 49 inch is a better buy....haha
So k the tv download the files right onto an external hard disk ?

mrsun18

Hi guys, bought the Xiaomi TV2 Soundbar ONLY during the 11/11 sales. However the cable that they provided, 3.5mm to SPDIF does not work when i plug it into the headphone jack of my LG TV.
Hi, I suppose you want to output tv audio to the soundbar.

This XiaoMi SPDIF cable is specially designed for XiaoMi TV and sound bar. It has the normal SPDIF Digital Coaxial Audio at one end and a special 4 terminals (instead of 3) for the 3.5mm.

See post#519 for more detailed explanations.

Do I need another cable such as Digital Audio Out (TOSlink) to SPDIF? is there such cable? where can I find it?
Done my search earlier. Don't think there is such a cable for what you have in mind.

There's also the other AUX input in the soundbar, how do I use that?:s22:
You can use the headphone out from you tv to the aux in of your soundbar with the usual 3.5mm to RCA cable. But this will only give you L + R.

edwin56

Hi, I suppose you want to output tv audio to the soundbar.

This XiaoMi SPDIF cable is specially designed for XiaoMi TV and sound bar. It has the normal SPDIF Digital Coaxial Audio at one end and a special 4 terminals (instead of 3) for the 3.5mm.

See post#519 for more detailed explanations.

Done my search earlier. Don't think there is such a cable for what you have in mind.

You can use the headphone out from you tv to the aux in of your soundbar with the usual 3.5mm to RCA cable. But this will only give you L + R.

So... how to solve my problem ah? oh nose!:(

produde1999

1080i starhub. Haha it has gotten better after a while.
How to get 4K content?
Any apps recommended?
I just realized 55 inch no microsd slot. Looks like 49 inch is a better buy....haha
So k the tv download the files right onto an external hard disk ?
1080i will look bad, no doubt.
4k content is not available except those demos one.
Soccer ah... I highly doubt soccer got any high quality videos, which is why many of my friends just watch soccer on projector.

Micro SD is not value for money. Buy hdd for TV is better.

Sent from Samsung GT-I9305 using GAGT

mrsun18

So... how to solve my problem ah? oh nose!:(
Good news for you. More search and found indeed there is such a convertor - Toslink to Coaxial RCA convertor.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-..._82_80_62,searchweb201644_0,searchweb201560_4

http://www.amazon.com/10TR-08300-Wholesales-Digital-Optical-Converter/dp/B000I98ZQY

That will solve your problem. But bear in mind that you still need a Toslink cable and a coaxial cable which will add to your cost.

If you decide to go ahead, buy one that shows Toslink as the input.

Edit: I presume that your LG has an optical out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.